On April 22, 2022, the Irish government announced an expansion of the eligibility criteria for the country's multiple entry short stay visas. The changes mean that foreign nationals from all visa-required countries will now be eligible to apply for a five-year, multiple entry short stay visa. The government's announcement is intended to ease administrative burdens and facilitate multiple short-stay trips by visa-required nationals as the country emerges from the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Five-Year Multiple Entry Short Stay Visa

Ireland's five-year multiple entry short stay visa enables individuals to visit the country regularly for business or family reasons, based on a single visa application. Until the government's announcement, the five-year visa was only available to Chinese nationals. Individuals from other visa-required countries were only eligible for one-, two-, and three-year multiple entry visas.

Changes to Compliant Travel History Requirement

In addition to the expansion of the five-year visa to all visa-required nationals, the government also announced a loosening of the Irish travel history requirement associated with the visas. Traditionally, the Irish government has only issued multiple entry visas—whether in one-, two-, three-, or five-year increments—to foreign nationals who can demonstrate a history of frequent trips to Ireland and compliance with Irish immigration laws. Under the government's announcement, individuals who can demonstrate frequent, compliant travel to the United Kingdom, Schengen Area, United States, Canada, Australia, or New Zealand will also be considered eligible to apply for multiple entry visas.

Multiple entry visas may also now be issued to certain business travelers, even if they have no previous travel history to Ireland.

Visit us at mayerbrown.com

Mayer Brown is a global legal services provider comprising legal practices that are separate entities (the "Mayer Brown Practices"). The Mayer Brown Practices are: Mayer Brown LLP and Mayer Brown Europe - Brussels LLP, both limited liability partnerships established in Illinois USA; Mayer Brown International LLP, a limited liability partnership incorporated in England and Wales (authorized and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority and registered in England and Wales number OC 303359); Mayer Brown, a SELAS established in France; Mayer Brown JSM, a Hong Kong partnership and its associated entities in Asia; and Tauil & Chequer Advogados, a Brazilian law partnership with which Mayer Brown is associated. "Mayer Brown" and the Mayer Brown logo are the trademarks of the Mayer Brown Practices in their respective jurisdictions.

© Copyright 2020. The Mayer Brown Practices. All rights reserved.

This Mayer Brown article provides information and comments on legal issues and developments of interest. The foregoing is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject matter covered and is not intended to provide legal advice. Readers should seek specific legal advice before taking any action with respect to the matters discussed herein.