As expected, the European Council announced on 6 October 2020 that the Cayman Islands has been removed from the EU's list of non-cooperative jurisdictions in tax matters (Annex I).

Cayman's original inclusion on Annex I in February 2020 was at odds with the jurisdiction's long-held commitment to enhancing tax good governance, as evidenced by more than 15 legislative changes since 2018 in line with the EU's criteria.

Removal from Annex I is therefore a welcome development that corrects this anomaly and ensures that Cayman entities will not be subject to any adverse measures proposed by the EU for Annex I jurisdictions.

The Cayman Islands Government's statement can be read here

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.