U.S. Customs and Border Protection (CBP) recently announced that it is expanding a pilot program to eliminate admission stamps in passports. The record being eliminated is the ink stamp and not the "visa stamp" that a U.S. embassy or consulate affixes to passports. Travelers are still required, unless exempt, to obtain a visa that indicates their eligibility to seek entry for a specific purpose. While the visa itself does not guarantee admission, when a CBP inspector grants admission, the record of admission will be documented online on the CBP I-94 website. Travelers arriving at these ports should notice the change:

  • Atlanta (Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL))
  • Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS)
  • Calgary International Airport (YYC)
  • Chicago O'Hare International Airport (ORD)
  • Dallas/Ft. Worth International Airport (DFW)
  • Dublin Airport (DUB)
  • Houston (George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH))
  • Los Angeles International Airport (LAX)
  • Montréal Pierre Elliott Trudeau International Airport (YUL)
  • New York (John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK))
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR)
  • San Francisco International Airport (SFO)
  • Seattle-Tacoma International Airport-SeaTac (SEA)
  • Toronto Pearson International Airport (YYZ)
  • Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD)

The land ports of entry are Buffalo, Detroit, El Paso, Laredo, San Diego, Seattle, and Tucson.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.