As part of the Isle of Man Government's ongoing programme of signing Double Taxation Agreements (DTAs) and Tax Information Exchange Agreements (TIEAs), Treasury Minister Eddie Teare MHK signed DTAs with Jersey and Guernsey in London on 24 January 2013.

The DTA with Jersey was signed by Assistant Chief Minister, Senator Sir Philip Bailhache, and the DTA with Guernsey was signed by Deputy Chief Minister, Deputy Jonathan Le Tocq. With these two new agreements the Isle of Man now has 8 DTAs and 27 TIEAs that meet the OECD international standard on tax co-operation and transparency.

Minister Teare commented: "The Isle of Man Government welcomes the signing of Double Taxation Agreements with Jersey and Guernsey which will further strengthen the close political and business ties shared by the Crown Dependencies. These agreements reinforce the Island's longstanding commitment to meeting current international standards in tax transparency, effective exchange of information and the elimination of double taxation."

The text of the agreements can be viewed here.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.