Canada imposed sanctions against Chinese officials and a Chinese entity in response to human rights violations in Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region. The sanctions were administered under the Special Economic Measures Act and are effective March 22, 2021.

The Special Economic Measures (People's Republic of China) Regulations  (the "Regulations") prohibit any person in Canada and any Canadian outside Canada from:

  • dealing in property, wherever situated, that is owned, held or controlled by a listed person or a person acting on behalf of a listed person ("dealing");
  • entering into or facilitating any transaction related to a dealing;
  • providing any financial or related services in respect of a dealing;
  • making available any goods, wherever situated, to a listed person or a person acting on behalf of a listed person; and
  • providing any financial or other related services to, or for the benefit of, a listed person.

The individuals listed in the schedule to the Regulations are rendered inadmissible to Canada under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act.

The Schedule to the Regulations provide the names of the listed persons (individuals and entity):

  • Zhu Hailun
  • Wang Junzheng
  • Wang Mingshan
  • Chen Mingguo
  • Xinjiang Production and Construction Corps Public Security Bureau

Permits & Certificates

Under the Special Economic Measures (People's Republic of China) Permit Authorization Order, the Minister of Foreign Affairs can issue a permit to authorize any person in Canada or any Canadian outside Canada to carry out a specified activity or transaction that has been restricted or prohibited pursuant to the Regulations.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.