Community Malta Agency updated the ineligible country list, resulting in an increase of nationalities able to apply for  Citizenship under the  Maltese Exceptional Investor Naturalization (MEIN) procedures.

What is the “Trump Travel Ban”?

The former president of the United States promised “a total and complete shutdown of Muslims entering the United States.”, soon after taking office. Therefore, he issued an executive order temporarily banning entry and freezing refugee applications from seven Muslim-majority countries, namely Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. This was dubbed as the “Muslim ban”; and heavily criticized and challenged in court, where it was found to be discriminatory.

Then, the Trump Administration added other countries. The “Muslim travel ban” so far restricted citizens from 12 countries - Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, Nigeria, Myanmar, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Sudan, Tanzania and North Korea -- and some Venezuelan officials and their relatives from obtaining a broad range of US visas.

What has changed now?

On the 20th of January, only hours after taking office, President Biden signed 17 executive orders memorandums and proclamations including ending the Muslim travel ban.

Why is the “Trump Travel Ban” and President Biden's Executive Order vital for you?

Malta is a country which is part of the US Visa Waiver Programme.

Therefore, countries listed on the US Travel Ban are excluded from applying for any Maltese investment migration regulations like the Maltese Exceptional Investor Naturalization (MEIN) procedures or the Malta Residence and Visa Programmes rules.

How this affects the Maltese Exceptional Investor Naturalization (MEIN) procedures?

Community Malta Agency is the government entity responsible for administering and processing all Maltese citizenship-related matters. After consulting with the Sanctions Monitoring Board, the Agency changed the list of countries that applicants who have a nationality from or close ties to, cannot apply under the Maltese Exceptional Investor Naturalization (MEIN) procedures.

Applicants from the following countries are now allowed to apply for Maltese Investment Migration regulations:

  • Libya
  • Nigeria
  • Chad
  • Eritrea
  • Tanzania
  • Myanmar
  • Kyrgyzstan

Therefore, the banned nationalities to apply for the Maltese Exceptional Investor Naturalization (MEIN) procedures are the following:

  • Afghanistan
  • North Korea
  • Iran
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Yemen
  • Venezuela

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.