On May 24, 2017, the Louisiana Senate Finance Committee voted 7-3 against Senate Bill No. 153, which aimed to increase the state minimum wage to $8.00 per hour in 2018 and to $8.50 per hour in 2019. The bill also would have required the state minimum wage to be raised to match any increase to the federal minimum wage, should it be raised above the state minimum. The Senate's most recent rejection means Louisiana remains one of the 5 states without a state minimum wage law on the books and one of the 21 states that have not adopted state minimum wage requirements above the federal minimum of $7.25 per hour, which was last raised in 2009.
*Special thanks to Kyle Hansen, Summer Associate, for his assistance in preparing this post.
The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.