The Visa Waiver Program (“VWP”) allows nationals of designated countries to travel to the US on either business or vacation for up 90 days.

Earlier this week, Croatia was  designated by the US Department of Homeland Security as a new participant in the VWP. By 1 December 2021, the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (“ESTA”) will be updated to allow Croatian nationals to apply to travel to the US under the VWP without a visa.  The addition of Croatia to the VWP brings the list of participating countries up to 40.

Visitors should insure they check whether they meet the current COVID-19 restrictions for the US before booking any travel.  Possession of an ESTA will not entitle someone to entry if they do not meet the COVID-19 entry requirements.

Visit us at

Mayer Brown is a global legal services provider comprising legal practices that are separate entities (the "Mayer Brown Practices"). The Mayer Brown Practices are: Mayer Brown LLP and Mayer Brown Europe – Brussels LLP, both limited liability partnerships established in Illinois USA; Mayer Brown International LLP, a limited liability partnership incorporated in England and Wales (authorized and regulated by the Solicitors Regulation Authority and registered in England and Wales number OC 303359); Mayer Brown, a SELAS established in France; Mayer Brown JSM, a Hong Kong partnership and its associated entities in Asia; and Tauil & Chequer Advogados, a Brazilian law partnership with which Mayer Brown is associated. "Mayer Brown" and the Mayer Brown logo are the trademarks of the Mayer Brown Practices in their respective jurisdictions.

© Copyright 2020. The Mayer Brown Practices. All rights reserved.

This Mayer Brown article provides information and comments on legal issues and developments of interest. The foregoing is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject matter covered and is not intended to provide legal advice. Readers should seek specific legal advice before taking any action with respect to the matters discussed herein.