Canada's two largest provinces, Ontario and Quebec, today announced that all non-essential businesses in their jurisdictions will be ordered to close as of the end of day (midnight) on Tuesday, March 24, 2020. As in other jurisdictions, including several other Canadian provinces, this is part of an effort to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Detailed lists of "essential businesses" are to be released on Tuesday by the governments of the two provinces, which collectively include more than half of Canada's population. This order will initially be for two weeks in Ontario and through the Easter Monday holiday (April 13) in Quebec.

We will provide more information as it is released.