Ukraine: New Merger Control Regime In Force: One Year Review

Last Updated: 22 August 2016
Article by Vladimir Sayenko and Maksym Nazarenko

Most Read Contributor in Ukraine, May 2017

It has been a little over a year now since the appointment of the new leadership to the Antimonopoly Committee of Ukraine (the "AMC") and it turned out to be a very eventful year for the development of merger control laws and practice. The recent increase of the filing thresholds and other legislative changes that entered into force in May 2016 clearly show the intention of Ukraine to align the merger control regime with the best practices of other European countries. To support the new legislation, the AMC revised its procedural merger control regulation and these amendments will enter into force on August 19, 2016.

1. September 2015: Amnesty for Merger Control Violations and New Fining Guidelines

Following several rounds of public debates, on September 15, 2015 the AMC approved and published the Recommendations on Calculation of Fines for Violation of Ukrainian Competition Law, which outline the methodology used by the AMC to calculate fines and introduce a one year amnesty period for past merger control violations. The application of this methodology has already resulted in the general increase of the level of fines, but their amount became more predictable and consistent. Those companies that do not want to face higher fines for the past merger control violations have a grace period of one year to report these violations in return for a fixed fine (this option is commonly referred to as the "amnesty procedure").

Under the amnesty procedure, in case an undertaking discovers that it failed to seek a merger clearance approval from the AMC for one of its past M&A transactions completed prior to September 15, 2015, such undertaking may apply to the AMC to obtain the approval post factum. In this case, the AMC undertakes to impose a relatively small fine of UAH 102,000 (approx. EUR 3,650). This amnesty procedure with a fixed fine is available for all applicants who voluntarily report their past violations to the AMC prior to September 15, 2016.

The amnesty procedure proved to be popular both among local businesses and multinational corporations. The AMC has clearly demonstrated its willingness to encourage amnesty filings by waiving some of the burden some formalistic requirements that were not material for its substantive review. All these factors clearly create an unique opportunity for companies to clean up historical risks arising out of the far-reaching requirements of Ukrainian merger control laws and this opportunity is available until September 15, 2016.

2. March 2016: Publication of Decisions

According to the new law on transparency of the AMC's activity, the regulator is obliged to publish full decisions on its website, while preserving proper treatment of confidential information of the respective undertakings. This law has confirmed the AMC's practice on publishing extracts from its decisions started from July 2015.

3. May 2016: New Merger Filing Thresholds, Fast-Track Review and Filing Fee Increase

Financial Thresholds

Merger clearance, in the form of approval of the AMC for concentration, is now required if at least one of the two alternative tests is met:

Test 1: At least two parties are active in Ukraine

  • combined worldwide turnover or value of assets of all parties exceeds EUR 30 million, and
  • turnover or value of assets in Ukraine of each of at least two parties exceeds EUR 4 million.

Test 2: Target or founder has significant operations in Ukraine

  • target in an acquisition, seller of assets or one of the joint venture founders have turnover or value of assets in Ukraine exceeding EUR 8 million, and
  • turnover of at least one other party exceeds EUR 150 million worldwide.

All thresholds are calculated for the previous financial year on a group-wide basis, which means that the turnover and value of assets for all undertakings connected by a control relationship must be added together, including for the seller that controls the target.

Fast-Track Review Option

The AMC introduced the expedited review procedure, according to which the AMC will review a merger filing and grant the approval for concentration within 25 calendar days (reduced from the usual 45 days) in any of the following cases

  • only one party is active in Ukraine, or
  • combined market share of the parties does not exceed 15 per cent on an overlapping Ukrainian market or 20 per cent on a vertically related Ukrainian market.

Filing Fee Increase

Filing fee to be paid for the review of a merger filing application by the AMC was increased by four times to UAH 20,400 (approximately EUR 730).

4. August 2016: Procedural Changes

As a logical continuation of the reform of merger control regulations, the AMC adopted changes to its main procedural merger control document entitled the Regulation on Concentration, which will come into effect on 19 August 2016. The main achievement of these amendments is the abolishment of some formalistic requirements and significant reduction of the list of documents and information to be submitted by applicants, especially for transactions that have no impact on competition in Ukraine. Instead, the main focus is shifted to more thorough economic analysis of market information and the expected consequences of the concentration.

  • Economic justification/Market analysis. The AMC fundamentally changed its approach to the market analysis and will require profound and substantial market study of the relevant markets. In particular, parties are required to provide competitors' market shares on relevant markets, description of barriers for entrance on relevant markets, benefits for consumers, detailed description of supply and demand structure of relevant markets, etc. The parties are no longer obliged to provide detailed information on non-relevant markets, even if they are active on these markets.
  • Corporate information. The AMC abolished the requirement to submit corporate information, which has no impact on the market analysis, including the full list of controlled entities, information on officers, etc., and will pay more attention to the disclosure of the beneficiary owners.
  • Documents. The AMC abolished the requirement to submit a number of documents for certain types of transactions, for example articles of association, and will no longer require provision of specially produced files for the electronic database.

Implementing the requirements of the law, the revised Regulation on Concentration specifies the procedure for expedited review by the AMC within 25 calendar daysof thosefilings that raise no significant competition concerns. For such fast-track review, a short form of the filing is introduced, without detailed market report.

Fast-track review will greatly benefit the amnesty program described above, as many filings that had to be made under the previously existing financial thresholds do not have any impact on competition in Ukraine.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.