United States: WEB EXCLUSIVE: Supreme Court Review: Mixed Bag For Employers

The 2016-17 Supreme Court term was truly a mixed bag for employers. The Court limited presidential power, reined in the appellate courts' authority to review and overturn trial court decisions regarding EEOC subpoenas, increased procedural burdens for the certification of class actions, and provided a favorable ruling for plaintiffs bringing claims under the WARN Act.

Fortunately, the decisions with the greatest impact on employers can be considered victories: the limitations to the EEOC's subpoena power and increased procedural burdens for class action certification. Because of several niche decisions, however, the 2016-17 term resulted in uncertainty for schools and Native American tribes and could lead to increased litigation.

Court Limits Executive Power

In April 2017, the Supreme Court (SCOTUS) ruled in favor of employers in McLane v. EEOC, deciding 7-2 that courts of appeal should largely defer to the lower court's decision when policing subpoenas issued by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). The Supreme Court's decision keeps a more sensible, reasonable limit on the EEOC's investigatory powers because lower court rulings will be reviewed for abuse of discretion rather than under a de novo review standard.

The SCOTUS held that trial judges are better positioned than appellate judges to consider the variety of issues in play when the EEOC issues a subpoena seeking information for an investigation. The Court noted that these types of decisions are fact-intensive and will turn on whether the evidence sought is relevant to the specific charge, or whether the subpoena is unduly burdensome.

A month prior, in a 6-2 decision, the Supreme Court held in NLRB v. SW General that the text of the Federal Vacancies Reform Act of 1998 (FVRA) clearly prohibits individuals nominated to fill a vacant position in the executive branch from performing that position's duties in an acting capacity. The ruling resulted in the dismissal of an unfair labor practice charge against an employer because Lafe Solomon, President Obama's nominee for General Counsel of the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), continued to serve in an acting capacity as General Counsel prior to being confirmed by the Senate. The SCOTUS decision restricts the president's ability to fill high-level administrative positions without the Senate's advice and consent

Church-Affiliated Organizations Earn Major Victory

The Court provided much needed clarity in June 2017 when it ruled by an 8-0 margin that employee benefit plans sponsored by church-affiliated organizations qualify for the "church plan" exemption under the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), regardless of whether the plan was originally adopted or established by a church ( Advocate Health Care Network v. Stapleton). This decision is a win for those church-affiliated employers such as hospitals and schools that have historically relied on the exemption from ERISA in the design and administration of their benefit programs. While the decision brings clarity and support to the very broad scope of the church plan exemption, church-affiliated employers should continue to monitor further developments in the event Congress attempts to set limitations.

Class Action Hopefuls Dealt Procedural Setback

In June 2017's Microsoft Corp v. Baker, the Supreme Court handed employers and others facing costly class action litigation a unanimous 8-0 victory. The ruling confirmed that plaintiffs cannot immediately appeal when the named plaintiffs voluntarily dismiss their claims following denial of class certification by a federal court. This decision maintains the status quo, and continues to deny the plaintiffs' bar the ability to do an end-run around the general prohibition barring provisional "interlocutory" appeals brought while the underlying litigation is still being maintained.

Court Issues Warning To Companies Declaring Bankruptcy

In a 6-2 decision issued in March 2017, the Court rejected a structured Chapter 11 bankruptcy dismissal that left a group of WARN Act plaintiffs without any compensation. The court's ruling in Czyzewski v. Jevic Holding Corporation means that a company in Chapter 11 bankruptcy must ensure that all its creditors and potential creditors given priority under the Bankruptcy Code – which could include current or former employees – agree to the terms in order for a structured settlement to be approved.

By expanding the requirements for reorganization or liquidation plans to apply to structured settlements, this holding will significantly change how most companies in Chapter 11 approach them, and will provide affected workers with more leverage at the settlement table.

2 Decisions Result In Increase For Student Rights

In Fry v. Napoleon Community Schools, the SCOTUS ruled that the parents of a disabled child were not legally required to exhaust administrative remedies under the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Rehabilitation Act prior to suing a school for damages in a dispute over a service dog. The Court's February 2017 decision reasoned that "exhaustion is not necessary" because the substance of the lawsuit was not based on an alleged denial of free appropriate education under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), but rather compensatory damages for emotional distress.

The unanimous 8-0 opinion instructs lower courts to "look to the substance, or gravamen" of a disability discrimination lawsuit when determining whether exhaustion of administrative remedies is required. The impact of this decision for schools and school districts could be significant because of the potential increase in lawsuits filed by plaintiffs prior to exhausting their administrative remedies offered under IDEA.

In another unanimous 8-0 decision likely to lead to increased litigation for public schools, the Endrew F. v. Douglas County School District ruling issued in March 2017, held that IDEA requires public schools to craft individualized education programs (IEPs) to provide a heightened level of educational benefits for children with disabilities. IDEA "requires an educational program reasonably calculated to enable a child to make progress appropriate in light of the child's circumstances."

Schools will be required to provide enhanced services, not just designed to provide "some benefit," but that are reasonably calculated to keep track with grade progress. For those who cannot be fully integrated into the classroom, services must be designed such that the educational program is "appropriately ambitious."

Tribal Sovereign Immunity Dealt Setback

The Supreme Court unanimously ruled in Lewis v. Clarke that tribal sovereign immunity does not apply to employees who are sued in an individual capacity, even if the alleged wrongdoing occurs while the employee is acting within the course and scope of employment by the tribe, and even when the tribe has agreed to indemnify the employee. Stated differently, the Court ruled that the doctrine of tribal sovereign immunity does not extend to tribal employees who are not being sued in their official capacity as agents of the tribe.

The April 2017 decision is a wake-up call for tribes across the country and somewhat reduces their power to immunize tribal employees from suit using tribal sovereign immunity. However, left intact is the shield protecting employees who are sued in an official capacity as agents of the tribe.

Supreme Court Sidesteps Gender Ruling

In March 2017, the Court remanded G.G. v. Gloucester County School Board back to the 4th Circuit Court of Appeals for further consideration, thereby avoiding a ruling on the matter. The Court took this step in light of the Trump administration's decision to withdraw federal guidance that had instructed public schools to allow students to use the bathroom that corresponds to their gender identity.

By remanding the matter, the Supreme Court managed to dodge the issue of transgender rights for another term. However, other legal challenges are vying for the Court's attention on whether the term "sex" includes transgender status. This issue could make an appearance on the Supreme Court docket before long. Employers of all sizes would be wise to stay ahead of the curve by proactively addressing issues related to a transgender workforce.

2017-18 Promises More Fireworks

In a few short months the Supreme Court will begin a new term, and several labor and employment cases are on the docket that we will monitor closely. Now that Justice Gorsuch has been confirmed by the Senate and the Court's typical nine-justice complement has been restored, we anticipate the Court will be more willing to issue final decisions on cases that are sure to impact employers. The following cases have been accepted for review for the 2017-18 SCOTUS term:

  • Lewis v. Epic Systems Corp. The Supreme Court will decide whether mandatory class and collective action waivers are permissible, allowing employers to avoid costly litigation in favor of individual arbitration proceedings.
  • Trump v. International Refugee Assistance Project – The Court will examine the merits of President Trump's Executive Order No. 13780, "Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry Into the United States," and could issue a definitive ruling upholding the executive order, striking it down, or finding a compromise.
  • Masterpiece Cakeshop, Ltd. v. Colorado Civil Rights Commission – The Court will determine whether Colorado's public accommodations law requires the owner of Masterpiece Cakeshop, Ltd. to "create expression" – make a cake for a same-sex wedding – causing what the bakers believe would a violation of their free speech and free exercise rights under the First Amendment.
  • Hamer v. Neighborhood Housing Services of Chicago – At issue is whether federal appellate rules permit a lower court to extend appeals court deadlines in an employment discrimination setting.
  • Artis v. District of Columbia – The SCOTUS will decide whether a tolling provision suspends the statute of limitations clock on a state whistleblower claim while the claim is pending and for 30 days after the claim is dismissed, or whether the tolling provision merely provides 30 days beyond the dismissal for the plaintiff to refile.   
  • Digital Realty Trust v. Somers – The decision in this case will resolve whether the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act of 2010 protects whistleblowers who have not reported alleged misconduct to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).

Conclusion

Following each of last term's decisions, Fisher Phillips issued same-day summaries of each case, explaining the decision in plain English, putting the case in context, and exploring the possible impact on employers. Decisions on next term's cases will be issued before you know it, and we will once again be there to issue same-day summaries and analyses.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.