United States: A Review Of Recent Whistleblower Developments - July 2017

Whistleblower Developments is a periodic report covering significant cases, decisions, proposals, and legislation related to whistleblower statutes and how they may impact your business. Recent developments include:

  • Supreme Court Will Resolve Circuit Split Over Dodd-Frank Whistleblowers
  • SEC to Continue Whistleblower Program Despite Financial CHOICE Act
  • SEC Awards Over $4 Million to Two Whistleblowers in One Week
  • SEC Denies Whistleblower Award, Defends Eligibility Cut-Off
  • With Circuit Split Pending, Illinois District Court Dismisses Dodd-Frank Act Whistleblower Claim for Failure to Meet Act's "Whistleblower" Definition
  • Jury Upholds $7.96 Million Verdict
  • Court Affirms Dismissal of SOX Retaliation Claim
  • Amendments of the CFTC's Whistleblower Rules

Supreme Court Will Resolve Circuit Split Over Dodd-Frank Whistleblowers

On June 26, 2017, the United States Supreme Court agreed to review whether the Dodd-Frank Act prohibits retaliation against internal whistleblowers who have not reported concerns over securities law violations to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), and thus, to resolve a circuit court split.

By way of background, Paul Somers, the former Digital Realty Vice President of Portfolio Management, brought a lawsuit claiming the company discriminated against him based on his sexual orientation, and then fired him in retaliation for reporting his supervisor's violations of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act. The trial court denied Digital Realty's motion to dismiss Somers's claims, and the Ninth Circuit affirmed that decision. The trial court also certified the question of whether Somers qualified as a Dodd-Frank whistleblower to the Ninth Circuit.

In its opinion, the Ninth Circuit joined the Second Circuit in holding that the Dodd-Frank Act's anti-retaliation provision "unambiguously and expressly protects" those who report to the SEC directly and those who report internally within an organization. The decision widened a split with the Fifth Circuit, and Digital Realty asked the Supreme Court to review this conflict and resolve it.

SEC to Continue Whistleblower Program Despite Financial CHOICE Act

As the Financial CHOICE Act works its way through Congress, former SEC Chair, Mary Jo White, made it clear the agency wants to continue its whistleblower award program despite the pushback the proposed legislation could create.

Though the Financial CHOICE Act stands to limit those eligible for awards under the current whistleblower program, the changes would be minimal. One of the legislation's proposed changes would affect co-conspirators. The current program allows the SEC to make whistleblower awards to co-conspirators even if they were involved in the wrongdoing, so long as the co-conspirators were not criminally charged. The Financial CHOICE Act is poised to prohibit awards to co-conspirators regardless of whether they are criminally convicted.

The legislation's proposed prohibition on whistleblower awards to co-conspirators could also create an uptick in the number of Sarbanes-Oxley Act whistleblower claims. As of 2011, the number of whistleblower claims asserted under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act had fallen by 25 percent, while the total number of whistleblower claims under all other statutes (including Dodd-Frank) increased by more than 40 percent. The huge drop in the number of cases filed under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act could be attributed to the enactment of the Dodd-Frank Act. If the Financial CHOICE Act is ultimately enacted, including its prohibition on whistleblower awards to co-conspirators, the pendulum may swing back toward the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.

We will continue to provide updates on the status of this legislation, and other proposed legislation that may impact the SEC's Whistleblower Program.

SEC Awards Over $4 Million to Two Whistleblowers in One Week

On April 25, 2017, the SEC awarded a whistleblower 4 million dollars, its tenth-highest whistleblower award to date. The tipster gave detailed information about securities misconduct, and assisted the SEC throughout its investigation by providing industry-specific knowledge and expertise.

About a week later, the SEC awarded $500,000 to a corporate insider whose tips prompted and assisted with an enforcement action. The tipster informed the SEC about hard-to-detect violations of securities laws. The information led the SEC to conduct a formal investigation and take subsequent enforcement action.

Since the program's commencement in 2011, the SEC has received over 10,500 tips and awarded hundreds of millions of dollars to whistleblowers. To date, enforcement actions attributed to whistleblowers' tips have resulted in the SEC's collection of over $953 million dollars.

SEC Denies Whistleblower Award, Defends Eligibility Cut-Off

The SEC has stood firm in its position that the Dodd-Frank Act cannot be applied retroactively to information provided before the law's enactment. On June 8, 2017, the SEC denied a whistleblower award where the individual's tips were given in 2007, four years before the Dodd-Frank Act's enactment.

The SEC pointed to Section 924(b) of the Dodd-Frank Act and read it to limit an individual's eligibility for a whistleblower award to information submitted in writing after the Act's enactment, but before the implementation of any associated rules.

The SEC also declined the individual's request to delay the final resolution of this award application, and to allow for the filing of a rulemaking petition. In doing so, the SEC reasoned that the claimant could have filed a rulemaking petition when the rules were first adopted in 2011.

With Circuit Split Pending, Illinois District Court Dismisses Dodd-Frank Act Whistleblower Claim for Failure to Meet Act's "Whistleblower" Definition

On June 7, 2017, the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois dismissed a would-be whistleblower's case for failure to plead facts indicating that he qualified as a whistleblower under the Dodd-Frank Act.

In this case, the district judge ruled "(1) that the congressionally enacted definition of 'whistleblower' in the Dodd-Frank Act's retaliatory provision is unambiguous and (2) that no administrative regulation can turn the jurisprudential world upside down to override that unambiguous provision." Thus, because the plaintiff in this case reported internally, and not to the SEC, the district court decided that he did not qualify as a "whistleblower" under the express definition in the Dodd-Frank Act. This issue has been discussed in great depth by three other Courts of Appeals (discussed above and here), resulting in a circuit split on the issue, which the U.S. Supreme Court will resolve this term (as also discussed above).

The case is Jeffrey Martensen v. Chicago Stock Exchange, case number 17-C-1494, 2017 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 87621 (N.D. Ill. June 7, 2017).

Jury Upholds $7.96 Million Verdict

On February 7, 2017, a jury awarded Sanford Wadler $2.96 million in past economic loss damages and $5 million in punitive damages against Wadler's former employer, Bio-Rad Laboratories, Inc. (Bio-Rad). On May 10, 2017, Bio-Rad's motion for new trial was denied, and the jury's verdict was upheld.

In support of its motion, Bio-Rad argued that Wadler's claim under the Dodd-Frank Act failed because Wadler did not report the alleged violations to the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA) directly to the SEC. However, the court looked to Somers v. Digital Realty Trust Inc., in which the Ninth Circuit held the Dodd-Frank Act extends protections to those who report internally. Based on the Ninth Circuit's precedent, the court ruled Wadler was not required to report to the SEC, and Bio-Rad was not entitled to a new trial.

Further, Bio-Rad asserted that Wadler's disclosure of alleged FCPA violations was not protected activity under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act. However, the court ruled that the FCPA is an amendment to the Securities and Exchange Act of 1934, and is codified within it. Thus, Wadler's disclosures are protected under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, and Bio-Rad was prohibited from retaliating against him for such disclosures.

Court Affirms Dismissal of SOX Retaliation Claim

On June 1, 2017, the Second Circuit affirmed the dismissal of a Sarbanes-Oxley Act claim because the plaintiff, Ronald Kantin, lacked a reasonable belief that his former employer, Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., engaged in any fraudulent conduct. In his complaint, Kantin claimed that the company fired him because he informed them of alleged pricing irregularities related to the company's joint life insurance policies, which Kantin claimed raised questions of illegal activity. Kantin also claimed he complained about commission payments that he considered unethical, but not illegal.

When seeking relief under § 1514A of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, a plaintiff must have a reasonable belief that the conduct in question violated one of the enumerated provisions. The reasonable belief must contain both subjective and objective components. The plaintiff must not only believe the conduct constitutes a violation, but that a reasonable person in similar circumstances would believe the conduct violates one of the provisions as well.

The Second Circuit held that Kantin failed to demonstrate both an objectively and subjectively reasonable belief that any of the conduct complained of constituted a violation. He admitted that he himself did not believe the commission payments he complained of were illegal. Further, he failed to show that a reasonable person would believe the pricing anomalies for joint life insurance policies in question violated any provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act. As such, Kantin failed to establish that he engaged in protected whistleblower activity under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.

The case is Ronald Kantin v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, case number 16-1091-cv, 2017 U.S. App. LEXIS 9635 (2d Cir. June 1, 2017).

Amendments to the CFTC's Whistleblower Rules

Among other amendments to the rules, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) unanimously amended its Whistleblower Rules. The CFTC's amendments are intended to strengthen anti-retaliation protections for whistleblowers, and to enhance the CFTC's process for reviewing whistleblower claims regarding possible violations of the Commodity Exchange Act (CEA).

Under the amended rules, a whistleblower retains the right to bring an action against an employer for retaliation. However, the CFTC now has the authority to bring an action against an employer who retaliates against a whistleblower, regardless of whether the whistleblower qualifies for an award. Additionally, the new amendments prohibit employers from preventing a whistleblower from communicating directly with CFTC staff about possible misconduct in violation of the CEA by using a confidential, pre-dispute arbitration agreement. Under the amended CFTC Whistleblower Rules, whistleblowers may not receive an award if they have already been granted an award by the SEC for the same action under the SEC's whistleblower program.

The CFTC amendments also establish a new process for determining whether an award claim should be granted or denied. The CFTC's new claims review process replaces the Whistleblower Award Determination Panel with a Claims Review Staff. Additionally, whistleblowers will now have an opportunity to review the record and contest the decision before the CFTC issues a Final Determination of his or her eligibility for a whistleblower award.

The CFTC's amendments will go into effect 60 days after publication in the Federal Register. For more information on these rule changes, please see the CFTC's Fact Sheet.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.