United States: Executive Order Creating Steps For Regulatory Review And Reform Could Target Burdensome Employment Rules

On Friday, President Trump issued an executive order, Enforcing the Regulatory Reform Agenda ("the Order"), which calls for each federal agency to develop a regulatory reform task force to identify burdensome regulations for possible repeal, replacement, or modification. Within 90 days of the February 24, 2017 Order, these tasks forces, headed by a regulatory reform officer, are to evaluate existing regulations and issue recommendations about their fate. Due to its broad language, the Order potentially encompasses all federal agencies, including independent agencies such as the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) and the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC), and covers sub-regulatory actions that were not subject to notice-and-comment rulemaking before adoption.

The Order's Language

The regulatory reform task forces' job, according to the Order, is to "attempt to identify regulations that:

  1. eliminate jobs, or inhibit job creation;
  2. are outdated, unnecessary, or ineffective;
  3. impose costs that exceed benefits;
  4. create a serious inconsistency or otherwise interfere with regulatory reform initiatives and policies;
  5. are inconsistent with the requirements of section 515 of the Treasury and General Government Appropriations Act, 2001 (44 U.S.C. 3516 note), or the guidance issued pursuant to that provision, in particular those regulations that rely in whole or in part on data, information, or methods that are not publicly available or that are insufficiently transparent to meet the standard for reproducibility; or
  6. derive from or implement Executive Orders or other Presidential directives that have been subsequently rescinded or substantially modified."

The tasks forces are to seek input from a variety of sources, including businesses, in making their recommendations.

As seen from the above list, a number of existing regulations could meet these criteria. Many in the employer community have criticized regulations finalized during the Obama administration as ineffective, over-expansive, and unduly burdensome. A number of these rules have been or are currently the subject of litigation. Rules the business community would likely be happy to have the new administration review include the NLRB rule governing representation case procedures (the so-called "expedited election" rule); the Department of Labor (DOL) rule defining and delimiting the exemptions for executive, administrative, professional, outside sales and computer employees (a/k/a, the "white-collar overtime" rule); the DOL rule relating to conflicts of interest rule over retirement investment advice (the "fiduciary" rule); the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) rule governing occupational exposure to respirable crystalline silica, and the OSHA rule designed to improve tracking of workplace injuries and illnesses.

If certain orders and directives issued by former President Obama are rescinded, the implementing regulations would be subject to this review as well. These would include the rules establishing a minimum wage for contractors (implementing Executive Order 13,658); the fair pay and safe workplaces Federal Acquisition Regulation (implementing Executive Order 13,673 – the "blacklisting" order); and establishing paid sick leave for federal contractors (implementing Executive Order 13,706).

One potential roadblock regarding implementation, however, is the fact that there is only an acting secretary of labor (Edward Hugler) in place at the DOL. Although President Trump has nominated Alex Acosta to be the new labor secretary, the timing of his hearing and confirmation remains uncertain. This process can take some time, and the Order directs the head of each agency to appoint a regulatory reform officer within 60 days. So, while the Order creates a review timeline and process in theory, who will be in charge of this review process and how it will unfold, remains to be seen in practice.

Sub-Regulatory Guidance

Moreover, the Order uses the broad definition of "regulations" articulated in section 4 of Executive Order 13771, which President Trump signed on January 30, 2017 and requires agencies to eliminate two rules for every new one issued. Section 4 of that order reads:

For purposes of this order the term "regulation" or "rule" means an agency statement of general or particular applicability and future effect designed to implement, interpret, or prescribe law or policy or to describe the procedure or practice requirements of an agency, but does not include:

  1. regulations issued with respect to a military, national security, or foreign affairs function of the United States;
  2. regulations related to agency organization, management, or personnel; or
  3. any other category of regulations exempted by the Director.

(emphasis added)

The highlighted language is extremely broad and could, in some cases, therefore cover not just rules that were subject to notice-and-comment procedures and published in the Federal Register, but also enforcement guidance, Administrator's Interpretations (AI), and data reporting requirements that were implemented without formal rulemaking.

For example, two controversial AIs the DOL's Wage and Hour Division (WHD) issued in recent years could be subject to additional scrutiny. On January 20, 2016, the WHD issued an AI establishing new standards for determining joint employment under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and the Migrant and Seasonal Agricultural Worker Protection Act (MSPA).1 Among other changes, the AI differentiates between "horizontal" joint employment and "vertical" joint employment, and effectively expands the scope of entities that could be liable for wage and hour violations under the joint employer theory.

On July 15, 2015, the WHD issued a separate AI: The Application of the Fair Labor Standards Act's "Suffer or Permit" Standard in the Identification of Employees Who Are Misclassified as Independent Contractors. Dr. David Weil, the former Administrator of the WHD, was a strong proponent of the "fissured" workforce theory, and therefore focused a lot of the agency's attention on potential worker misclassification.

While neither AIs are binding law, they are often used by the agency to justify enforcement actions. Employers, however, have found fault with these interpretations, and might welcome their additional review.

Other agency initiatives could also be subject to this regulatory review process. It is unclear, for example, whether the EEOC's recent revisions to its EEO-1 report fall under the Order's scope. On September 29, 2016, the EEOC announced that starting in March 2018, it will collect summary employee pay data from certain employers on revised EEO-1 Reports. Employers have expressed concern over the cost of complying with the new data-reporting requirements, and many experts have indicated that the new data is unlikely to be of any value to employers or practical use to the federal agencies in their efforts to enforce the laws against pay discrimination. These concerns will likely be re-aired during the review process

One potential challenge in reviewing burdensome regulations implemented by the EEOC or NLRB, however, is that members of these independent federal agencies are appointed for a set number of years, and will remain in office for some time. Currently, there is one vacancy at the five-member EEOC. The Commission is led by Acting Chair Victoria Lipnic (R), whose term expires on July 1, 2020. Former Chair Jenny Yang's (D) term will expire on July 1, 2017. The two other remaining members of the Commission are Democrats as well, so it is unclear which rules and regulations, if any, the EEOC's regulatory reform task force would recommend be revised or eliminated, and whether and to what extent the current EEOC would act upon those recommendations.

The NLRB is also short members. The Board currently comprises Acting Chairman Philip Miscimarra (R) (term expires on December 16, 2017); Mark Gaston Pearce (D) (term expires on August 27, 2018); and Lauren McFerran (D) (term expires on December 16, 2019). It is expected that President Trump will nominate two Republicans to fill the vacant seats, but when is uncertain.

Under the Order, the head of each agency – for the NLRB, Miscimarra – is to designate an agency official as its regulatory reform officer, who in turn will lead the regulatory reform task force. Although Acting Chair Miscimarra has been a consistent critic of the Board's expedited election rule, it is unknown whether a task force would recommend amendments, and how the Board would respond.

What Does this Mean for Employer?

The Order's establishment of a process and procedure for identifying burdensome rules and regulations does not create clear mandates. It will be up to the agencies to evaluate the suggestions and implement any next steps, whether they be revoking existing guidance, rescinding rules through formal notice-and-comment, or proposing revised rules. The Order does require the task forces to seek input in reviewing existing rules and regulations, so employers might get a second chance to weigh in on rules with which they disagree.

Footnote

1 See Tammy D. McCutchen and Michael J. Lotito, DOL Issues Guidance on Joint Employment under FLSA, Littler Insight (Jan. 20, 2016).

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
Michael J. Lotito
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.