United States: Copyright And Trademark Case Review: Copyright Preemption, Software-As-A-Service And Popularity On The Internet

Last Updated: February 8 2017
Article by Vinita Ferrera, Andrea Weiss Jeffries and Natalie Hanlon Leh

Most Popular Article in United States, February 2017

Copyright Decisions

Claim for Copying of Useful Article Design Preempted by Copyright Act: Ultraflo Corp. v. Pelican Tank Parts, Inc., No. 15-20084 (5th Cir. Jan. 11, 2017)
Costa, J. The Fifth Circuit affirmed dismissal of the plaintiff's Texas state law claim for unfair competition by misappropriation on the basis of preemption by the Copyright Act. The plaintiff alleged that the defendants had improperly used technical drawings by its former employee to manufacture a valve "strikingly similar" to the plaintiff's valves. The Fifth Circuit held that the valve design—although not itself entitled to copyright protection—was within the subject matter of copyright for preemption purposes, as "Congress's exercise of its power under the Copyright Clause to not provide protection for the embodiment of ideas in useful articles is entitled to preemptive force." The Fifth Circuit further held that the Texas unfair competition statute provided a right "equivalent to those 'within the general scope of copyright,'" specifically noting the "right to make derivative use of copyrighted works." The plaintiff contended that because the Copyright Act explicitly declines to grant the owner of a copyrighted work portraying a useful article the exclusive right to make that article, its claim should survive preemption under the "extra elements" test. The court rejected this argument, reasoning that "[w]ithholding a particular right is part of the balance Congress struck between the need for copyright incentives and the value in public public access to ideas." 

Trademark Decisions

Services Performed by Software May Support Registration of Service Marks: In re JobDiva, Inc., No. 2015-1960 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 12, 2016)
Stoll, J. The Federal Circuit vacated the TTAB's cancellation of appellant JobDiva's service marks based on alleged failure to use the marks in connection with "personnel placement and recruitment" services. JobDiva offers a variety of job-staffing functions, including resume aggregation and analysis on a software-as-a-service (or cloud computing) basis. The court observed that "with modern technology, the line between services and products sometimes blurs," and "[e]ven though a service may be performed by a company's software, the company may well be rendering a service." Because "a mark used with a web-based offering may equally identify the provision of software, rather than a service," "careful analysis is required to determine whether web-based offerings . . . are products or services." In particular, the court noted that user perception is a "key consideration" in determining whether a mark is being used in connection with applied-for services. Based on these considerations, the Federal Circuit held that the TTAB erred in requiring JobDiva to prove that it performed personnel placement and recruitment services "in a way other than having its software perform those services," and it remanded to the TTAB to consider in the first instance the proper question of "whether JobDiva, through its software, performed personnel placement and recruitment services and whether consumers would associate JobDiva's registered marks with [such] services, regardless of whether the steps of the service were performed by software."
 
Public Recognition of DJ's Stage Name Insufficient to Support Trademark Claims: Kibler v. Hall, No. 15-2516 (6th Cir. Dec. 13, 2016)
Cole, C.J. In a suit brought by a DJ performing as "DJ Logic" against a rapper performing as "Logic," the Sixth Circuit affirmed the district court's grant of summary judgment for defendants on the plaintiff's trademark infringement and dilution claims, holding that no reasonable jury could find a likelihood of confusion under its eight-factor test. With regard to the strength of the mark, the court held that although the mark is "conceptually strong," the plaintiff had failed to establish its commercial strength. The Sixth Circuit found that the district court's analysis was "incomplete" in failing to accord sufficient weight to the plaintiff's promotional activities on Myspace, Twitter and Facebook and failing to recognize that "a plaintiff with low album sales or no representation could nevertheless show commercial success suggesting broad recognition of his mark using web-based indicators of popularity," such as YouTube views. Nonetheless, the Sixth Circuit agreed with the district court that the plaintiff had failed to provide sufficient information from which a jury could determine that wide segments of the public recognize the mark and associate it with the product it announces. Of the remaining factors, the only one that marginally favored the plaintiff was actual confusion; however, the court held that "no reasonable jury could find likelihood of confusion based solely on a few instances of actual confusion." The Sixth Circuit further held that no reasonable jury could find the plaintiff's mark famous as required for a dilution claim, noting that the plaintiff had failed even to establish commercial strength and that evidence describing "his experience in the music industry" and a guest contribution on a Grammy-winning album "clearly falls short of the high threshold for fame under the Lanham Act."

Trademark Agreement Held to Be Improper Assignment of Intent-to-Use Application: Emerald Cities Collaborative, Inc. v. Roese, No. 2016-1703 (Fed. Cir. Dec. 13, 2016) (non-precedential)
Lourie, J. In an unpublished opinion, the Federal Circuit affirmed the TTAB's decision, inter alia, cancelling Emerald Cities Collaborative's (ECC) registration of the mark "The Emerald City" because ECC's rights in the mark were based on an assignment of an intent-to-use application filed by a third party, which violated the Lanham Act's anti-trafficking rule, 15 U.S.C. § 1060(a)(1), which prohibits assignment of an intent-to-use application prior to the filing of a statement of use, unless certain statutory exceptions are met (such as if the application is transferred as part of the applicant's "'ongoing and existing' business to which the mark pertains"). The Federal Circuit held that the "trademark assignment and license" through which ECC acquired its rights was an immediate assignment of the intent-to-use application, rather than merely an agreement to assign the mark upon registration, as ECC had argued. In reaching this conclusion, the court focused on provisions ceding control of prosecution of the application and registration of the mark to ECC, granting ECC the right to control the prior owner's use of the mark on goods and services and giving ECC the sole right and authority to enforce the mark both before and after the registration date.
 
Dotblog Mark Is Suggestive, Not Descriptive, of Blog Search Service: In re Driven Innovations, Inc., No. 2016-1094 (Fed. Cir. Jan. 4, 2017) (non-precedential)

O'Malley, J. In a non-precedential opinion, the Federal Circuit reversed a TTAB decision refusing to register the mark "dotblog", applied for by a company using "proprietary search techniques" to find blog posts and return summary reports in response to user search queries. The TTAB had found the mark merely descriptive of the applicant's service based on the definition of "blog," the fact that "'dot' represents the pronunciation of the punctuation mark that separates different address levels in an internet address" and the TTAB's conclusion that "the mark in its entirety retains the same meaning as its component parts." The TTAB alternatively reasoned that "ICANN's activation of the .blog generic top-level domain" would make consumers likely to "perceive the mark as conveying the impression of 'providing specific information' from searches of the sites on the '.blog' domain." The Federal Circuit disagreed, concluding instead that these considerations "merely show, at most, that the mark 'dotblog' likely would have some relation to online blogs," and concluded that the mark was suggestive, rather than descriptive, of the applicant's service. The Federal Circuit further rejected the TTAB's reasoning "because it logically results in the refusal to register any mark that includes the word 'blog' whenever the mark's associated product or service relates in some way to blogs."
 
Use of "Welcome to the D" in Promoting Detroit Sporting Events Held to Be Non-Trademark Use: Kassa v. Detroit Metro Convention & Visitors Bureau, No. 16-1007 (6th Cir. Jan. 12, 2017) (non-precedential)
Batchelder, J. In an unpublished opinion, the Sixth Circuit affirmed the district court's dismissal of the plaintiff's complaint alleging infringement and dilution of his claimed trademark in the phrase "Welcome to the D" for use on clothing, in live music performances and in connection with entertainment programming. The court held that the defendants' use of the phrase "on banners and signs hung around Detroit 'to promote' the 2012 World Series and . . . the 2015 Volleyball Open National Championships" was a non-trademark use. "The words 'Welcome to the D' at the top of banners advertising major sporting events in Detroit are simply a greeting, welcoming visitors to the city using its common nickname. In other words, it is a geographic identifier, not an identifier of the source of goods or services. The phrase . . . does not identify [plaintiff] as the source of the World Series or the volleyball championship, and does not suggest any association between those events and [plaintiff]."

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.