United States: Copyright And Trademark Case Review: Wine, Vodka And A Little Karaoke

Copyright Opinions

Eleventh Circuit Seeks Florida High Court's Guidance on Pre-1972 Sound Recordings: Flo & Eddie, Inc. v. Sirius XM Radio, Inc., No. 15-13100 (11th Cir. June 29, 2016)
Anderson, J. In a suit asserting common-law copyright protection over pre-1972 sound recordings by The Turtles, the Eleventh Circuit certified four questions to the Supreme Court of Florida before reviewing the district court's summary judgment decision: (1) whether Florida recognizes a common-law copyright in sound recordings including the exclusive right of reproduction and/or the exclusive right of public performance; (2) if so, whether public sale, distribution, or performance of phonorecords constitutes a "publication" sufficient to terminate those exclusive rights under Florida law; (3) whether back-up or buffer copies made on Sirius's servers and satellites infringe any common-law exclusive right of reproduction held by plaintiff; and (4) whether plaintiff has a cause of action under its other Florida state-law claims for unfair competition/misappropriation, conversion, or civil theft.

Seventh Circuit Rejects Bases for Hypothetical License Fee for Copyrighted Work: Bell v. Taylor, Nos. 15-2343, 15-3735, 15-3731 (7th Cir. July 1, 2016)
Flaum, J. In a dispute involving alleged infringement of copyright in plaintiff's photographs, the Seventh Circuit held that the advertised price of a download license on plaintiff's website and an affidavit asserting plaintiff's belief that the price represented fair market value were insufficient to establish a hypothetical license fee and prove damages.

Second Circuit Affirms Third Parties Have Standing to Challenge Ownership of Copyright: Urbont v. Sony Music Entertainment, No. 15-1778-cv (2d Cir. July 29, 2016)
Hall, J. Plaintiff Jack Urbont alleged copyright infringement of the Iron Man theme song by defendants Sony Music Entertainment and Razor Sharp Records. Defendants challenged plaintiff's copyright ownership, contending that the song was created at the behest of third-party Marvel Comics. The Second Circuit held that third parties to an alleged employer-employee relationship have standing to raise a "work for hire" defense, but vacated the district court's summary judgment ruling, finding plaintiff had raised a genuine issue of material fact as to work for hire in this case. Separately, the Court affirmed the district court's finding that the state law claims were preempted by the Copyright Act because the Iron Man theme song recording was an accompaniment to an "audiovisual" work and not a separate sound recording protected from preemption by the Copyright Act of 1976.

Trademark Opinions

MAYARI Not Confusingly Similar to MAYA for Use on Wines: Oakville Hills Cellar, Inc. v. Georgallis Holdings, LLC, No. 2016-1103 (Fed. Cir. June 24, 2016)
Lourie, J. In a trademark dispute involving marks for use on wine, the Federal Circuit affirmed the TTAB's dismissal of Oakville's opposition to Georgallis's application to register the mark MAYARI. The Federal Circuit concluded that the TTAB properly found MAYA (Oakville's mark) and MAYARI to be "dissimilar as to appearance, sound, meaning, and commercial impression." Substantial evidence supported the finding that "MAYA is a familiar word, whereas MAYARI has no recognized meaning to U.S. consumers" and that, by contrast, there was insufficient evidence to suggest that consumers would dissect MAYA into "MAYA- and -RI." Further, the Federal Circuit concluded that the TTAB had not erred in determining that dissimilarity of the marks alone was sufficient to preclude likelihood of confusion, noting that "'a single DuPont factor may be dispositive . . . especially when that single factor is the dissimilarity of the marks'" (quoting Odom's Tenn. Pride Sausage, Inc. v. FF Acquisition, L.L.C., 600 F.3d 1343, 1346–47 (Fed. Cir. 2010)).

Second Circuit Affirms Cancellation of Registration Due to Fraudulent Procurement: MPC Franchise, LLC v. Tarntino, No. 15-717-cv (2d Cir. June 27, 2016)
Livingston, J. In a dispute over the mark for a chain of pizzerias named Pudgie's, the Second Circuit affirmed the district court's grant of summary judgment cancelling defendant's registration. In his application, defendant stated that (1) he believed himself to be the owner of the mark and (2) he believed no other person, firm, corporation, or association had rights to use the mark in a manner likely to cause confusion, to cause mistake, or to deceive. However, during the litigation, the defendant admitted that he had never individually or personally used the mark at issue, and the evidence showed defendant was "aware of multiple other Pudgie's locations that were using the mark in the precise same capacity in which he applied for the mark." Applying the In re Bose Corp scienter standard (i.e., a trademark applicant must actually have known the falsity of material statements in his application), the Second Circuit concluded that there was no issue of material fact as to whether defendant knowingly made false statements in his registration application.

Ninth Circuit Reverses Summary Judgment Finding on Likelihood of Confusion: JL Beverage Co., LLC v. Jim Beam Brands Co., No. 13-17382 (9th Cir. July 14, 2016)
Wallace, J. In a dispute between two producers of vodka branded with images of lips, the Ninth Circuit reversed the district court's summary judgment for defendant. Reviewing the factors of the Ninth Circuit's Sleekcraft test, the court concluded that there was a genuine dispute of material fact as to the likelihood of consumer confusion and thus that summary judgement had been improper. The Ninth Circuit noted that, due to the "non-exhaustive, multi-factor, fact-intensive inquiry" involved, it had cautioned against granting summary judgment in cases turning on likelihood of consumer confusion.

Seventh Circuit Affirms Dismissal of Trademark Claim Asserted Against Unauthorized Karaoke Files: Phoenix Entertainment Partners, LLC v. Rumsey, No. 15-2844 (7th Cir. July 21, 2016)
Rovner, J. Producer of karaoke accompaniment tracks brought suit against a pub and its owner based on the alleged practice of playing unauthorized digital copies of karaoke files instead of authorized copies from legitimately acquired media. Plaintiffs framed their claim under the Lanham Act, arguing that the unauthorized copy of their track was a distinct good which the defendants were improperly "passing off" as a genuine track. Applying the Supreme Court's Dastar decision, the Court held that the appropriate claim should have been for copyright infringement, and affirmed the district court's dismissal because the routine display of an embedded trademark during the performance of the tracks did not support a Lanham Act claim.

Third Circuit Affirms Summary Judgment that Blossom Pastry Design was Functional and Not Protectable Trade Dress: Sweet Street Desserts, Inc. v. Chudleigh's Ltd., Nos. 15-1445 and 15-1548 (3d Cir. July 21, 2016)
Shwartz, J. Chudleigh's asserted trade dress infringement of its incontestable Blossom Design registration against a bakery selling a similar folded pastry to Applebee's. The Third Circuit held that the Blossom Design was functional because the shape of the dough is essential to the purpose of an effective single-serving fruit pie, and affects its cost and quality, and thus cancelled Chudleigh's trademark registration and affirmed the district court's summary judgment ruling.

Ninth Circuit Affirms Rights Based on Assigned Coexistence Agreement: Russell Road Food and Beverage v. Spencer, No. 14-16096 (9th Cir. July 22, 2016)
Wardlaw, J. This dispute arose as a declaratory judgment action from the assignee of a trademark coexistence agreement asserting he had the right to use the mark CRAZY HORSE in conjunction with adult entertainment. The Ninth Circuit affirmed the district court's summary judgment order finding that because plaintiff Russell Road obtained a valid assignment of an enforceable trademark co-existence agreement, its use of CRAZY HORSE did not infringe Spencer's federally registered trademark.

Eleventh Circuit Finds No Likelihood of Confusion with Similar University Names: Florida International University Board of Trustees v. Florida National University, No. 15-11509 (11th Cir. July 26, 2016
Marcus, J. This case concerns whether a for profit school infringed the trademark rights of Florida International University when it changed its name from Florida National College to Florida National University. The Eleventh Circuit affirmed the district court's ruling that there was no likelihood of confusion, noting that the mark FLORIDA INTERNATIONAL UNIVERSITY was a relatively weak mark due to significant co-existing third party use of FLORIDA and UNIVERSITY, that there were sufficient differences between the middle word INTERNATIONAL and NATIONAL and the two schools' acronyms FIU and FNU, that potential college students are sophisticated consumers, and that there was no evidence of actual confusion.

First Circuit Reverses District Court – Finding Likelihood of Confusion with ORIENTAL Marks: Oriental Financial Group, Inc. v. Cooperative De Ahorro Y Credito Oriental, No. 15-1009 (1st Cir. August 3, 2016)
Lipez, J. This dispute involves whether the use of four word marks used by Cooperative De Ahorro Y Credito, COOP ORIENTAL, COOPERATIVA ORIENTAL, ORIENTAL POP, and CLUB DE ORIENTALITO, create a likelihood of confusion with the Oriental Financial Group's ORIENTAL trademark. The district court found no likelihood of confusion and denied Oriental Financial Group's request for an injunction. The First Circuit reversed the district court's findings as to COOP ORIENTAL, COOPERATIVA ORIENTAL and ORIENTAL POP, finding that they infringe Oriental Financial Group's trademark rights in ORIENTAL, and remanded for reconsideration of whether an injunction should be entered. The Court, however, affirmed the district court's finding that CLUB DE ORIENTALITO was not likely to cause confusion.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.