United States: Television Sets: Commission Clarifies When Past Domestic Industry Investments No Longer Count And When Post-Complaint Activities May Be Considered

Last Updated: January 4 2016
Article by Rose S. Lee and Lynn I. Levine

The Commission has once again addressed the economic prong of the domestic industry requirement in a final determination issued in Certain Television Sets, Television Receivers, Television Tuners, and Components Thereof (Inv. No. 337-TA-910) ("Television Sets") on October 30, 2015. Notably, the Commission clarified (1) when past investments are no longer relevant and (2) when post-complaint activities are relevant.

Background

On January 28, 2014, Cresta Technology Corporation ("Cresta") filed a Section 337 complaint, alleging infringement of three patents in the importation and sale of certain television sets, television receivers, television tuners, and components thereof. Presiding Administrative Law Judge Dee Lord conducted a hearing in December 2014, and issued the final initial determination ("final ID") on February 27, 2015, finding no violation of Section 337. Specifically, the final ID found that Cresta had failed to satisfy the economic prong of the domestic industry requirement in accordance with 19 U.S.C. § 1337(a)(3) with respect to both of the two remaining patents in the investigation. The final ID also found that some of the accused products infringed claims of both patents in the investigation, and that all asserted claims of one patent and some asserted claims of the other patent were invalid.

On April 30, 2015, the Commission determined to review the final ID in part. This review encompassed the economic prong of the domestic industry requirement as well as issues of patent validity and infringement. However, the Commission only requested additional briefing on questions relating to validity and infringement. The Commission issued the public version of its final opinion on October 30, 2015, terminating the investigation with a finding of no violation of Section 337. (Our prior blog post regarding the Commission's clarification in Television Sets of whether service of the complaint meets the knowledge requirement for contributory infringement can be found here.)

The Economic Prong of the Domestic Industry Requirement

The economic prong of the domestic industry requirement is satisfied when "there is in the United States, with respect to the articles protected by the patent . . . (A) significant investment in plant and equipment; (B) significant employment of labor or capital; or (C) substantial investment in its exploitation, including engineering, research and development." 19 U.S.C. § 1337(a)(3). Subparagraphs (A), (B), and (C) provide alternative bases for satisfaction of the economy prong requirement. With respect to subparagraphs (A) and (B), Cresta relied upon the development and support of its television tuners and, with respect to subparagraph (C), Cresta relied upon engineering and research and development. The final ID held that the evidence relied upon by Cresta to establish its investments in the domestic industry was unreliable and that Cresta's claimed domestic industry ceased to exist at least six months prior to the filing of the complaint.

The Commission affirmed the final ID's determination that the economic prong was not met, both because of the unreliability of Cresta's domestic industry evidence and, independently, because Cresta's alleged domestic industry did not exist at the time the complaint was filed. While Commissioner Rhonda Schmidtlein agreed with the Commission's determination regarding the unreliability of the domestic industry evidence, she took issue with the majority's additional determination that the alleged industry had ceased to exist before the filing of the complaint.

  1. Insufficient Evidence of Investments

The Commission found that Cresta's evidence of payments to domestic suppliers was insufficient to meet the requirements set out by the Federal Circuit in Lelo Inc. v. ITC, 786 F.3d 879 (Fed. Cir. 2015). (Our prior blog post regarding the Lelo decision can be found here.) In Lelo, the Federal Circuit found that it was necessary for the complainant to demonstrate the "share of labor or capital cost attributable solely to purchases made by" the complainant. Id. at 884-85. In Television Sets, no evidence was offered concerning the relevant investments of suppliers in Cresta's products. Television Sets, Comm'n Op. at 64 (Oct. 30, 2015). As to Cresta's own investments, the Commission affirmed the ALJ's findings that the evidence submitted by Cresta was unreliable, noting that "[i]nconsistencies, contradictions and unsupported assertions, such as those discussed by the ALJ, militate against reliance on Cresta's testimony in regard to the alleged investments and allocations." Id. at 65-66.

  1. Failure to Establish that a Domestic Industry Existed at the Time of the Complaint

Cresta alleged that its domestic industry was based on the fabless design, engineering, and support of tuners using the asserted patented technology. The Commission, however, found that the record did not support Cresta's contention that such a domestic industry existed at the time of the filing of the complaint. In particular, the Commission addressed (1) when past investments are no longer relevant and (2) when post-complaint activities are relevant.

  1. When Are Past Investments No Longer Relevant?

In concluding that the existence of a domestic industry had not been shown, the Commission explained that "[p]ast expenditures may be considered to support a domestic industry claim so long as those investments pertain to the complainant's industry with respect to the articles protected by the asserted IP rights and the complainant is continuing to make qualifying investments at the time the complaint is filed." Id. at 68. The Commission found that the evidence did not support Cresta's contention that its activities and investments directed to TV-tuner development and software/firmware support had continued until the filing of the complaint. Rather, as found in the final ID, by the time the complaint was filed, "Cresta's tuner business was in rapid decline . . . and Cresta undertook to end operations and investments in the protected articles." Id. at 68. By that time, "all that remained of the tuner-based business was at best a modicum of sales for products . . . ." Id.

The Commission distinguished the circumstances in the Television Sets investigation from those in past investigations where "the complainant continues to maintain ongoing qualifying activities under section 337(a)(3) at the time the complaint is filed." Id. at 69. Examples cited by the Commission in this regard included Certain Battery-Powered Ride-On Toy Vehicles and Components Thereof, Inv. No. 337-TA-314, Order No. 6 at 18-21 (Dec. 5, 1990) (unreviewed in relevant part), where the Commission held that when a complainant continues its operations and improves its products, past expenditures linked to those products are cognizable for purposes of domestic industry; and Certain Electronic Digital Media Devices and Components Thereof, Inv. No. 337-TA-796, Comm'n Op. at 99-102 (Sept. 6, 2013), where the Commission found a domestic industry existed where complainant had substantial past investments in engineering and research and development related to discontinued protected articles and continued to exploit the patent through further development of existing products at the time of the complaint.

  1. When Are Post-Complaint Activities Relevant?

Generally, a domestic industry must exist or be in the process of being established at the time a Section 337 complaint is filed. Thus, the Commission will only consider evidence regarding domestic industry activities that occur subsequent to the filing of the complaint in extraordinary circumstances, i.e., "when a significant and unusual development has occurred after the complaint has been filed." Television Sets, Comm'n Op. at 56 (Oct. 30, 2015). Extraordinary developments cited by the Commission prompting an analysis of post-complaint activities included bankruptcy and changes in patent ownership, manufacturing, or licensing activity. Id. at 56-57.

The Commission found no significant and on unusual development after the Television Sets complaint was filed that warranted consideration of post-filing activities. Indeed, the significant and unusual development occurred there prior to the filing of the complaint "when Cresta phased out its tuners, shifted its business focus to patent monetization, laid off its staff, and discontinued investments in developing and supporting protected articles." Id. at 73. The Commission deemed Cresta's post-complaint activities to be de minimis, and noted that marketing and sales activities alone cannot satisfy the domestic industry requirement.

  1. Separate Views of Commissioner Schmidtlein

Commissioner Schmidtlein agreed with the Commission's determination regarding the unreliability of the domestic industry evidence and, on that basis, concurred in the Commission's determination that Cresta had not satisfied the domestic industry requirement. However, Commissioner Schmidtlein disagreed with the majority's additional determination that Cresta's sales of domestic industry products at the time of the complaint were not "qualifying activities" that allowed for consideration of Cresta's pre-complaint domestic industry investments. In Commissioner Schmidtlein's view, Cresta's ongoing activities, which included the continued employment of engineers engaged in technical support of domestic industry products, as well as Cresta's sales of those products, were sufficient to allow the Commission to consider the domestic industry investments made prior to the filing of the complaint. In this regard, Commissioner Schmidtlein interpreted prior Commission precedent to permit a finding that a domestic industry existed based on a combination of past activities and some current activities related to the domestic industry. Moreover, Commissioner Schmidtlein maintained that Cresta's shift to a business model focused upon patent monetization, discussed in the majority's opinion, was irrelevant to the question of whether a combination of past and current activities satisfied the domestic industry requirement.

Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Morrison & Foerster LLP. All rights reserved

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
Rose S. Lee
Lynn I. Levine
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.