United States: Crude-By-Rail Update: Siting A Crude Oil Transloading Terminal In California? Developers Should Seek Old Industrial Sites And Proactively Embrace The Environmental Impact Review Process

Proposed crude-by-rail (CBR) projects in California increasingly face opposition lawsuits designed to stall and derail the terminals. The suits often focus on alleged noncompliance with the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA)— a tactic that has produced success.1 Undoubtedly, CEQA review presents its own delays and costs to industrial development. But if approached in the correct way, the CEQA process offers a significant opportunity to build a favorable foundation for CBR terminals and potentially forestall opposition lawsuits.

HOW CAN CEQA REVIEW PRESENT AN OPPORTUNITY?

First. CEQA's requirement that the environmental effects of a proposed project must be weighed against a baseline presents an opportunity to convert readily available industrial sites to transloading use. Second, proactively engaging in CEQA review—although often dilatory and costly—allows the project proponent to sidestep a successful tactic in opponents' litigation strategy. But first, let us pause to discuss what CEQA requires and how opponents have successfully used CEQA against CBR projects.

WHAT DOES CEQA REQUIRE?

Much like the National Environmental Policy Act in the federal context, CEQA requires government agencies to analyze the environmental effects of projects they approve.2 CEQA applies to "discretionary projects proposed to be carried out or approved by public agencies."3 CEQA also does not require environmental review for purely ministerial functions and other categorically excluded decisions.4

If CEQA applies, the lead agency must determine whether the decision will have a significant environmental effect.5 Decisions that will not result in significant environmental effects require the agency to prepare a negative declaration.6 Decisions that will result in significant environmental effects require the agency to prepare an Environmental Impact Report (EIR).7

According the California statute, "The purpose of an [EIR] is to provide public agencies and the public in general with detailed information about the effect which a proposed project is likely to have on the environment; to list ways in which the significant effects of such a project might be minimized; and to indicate alternatives to such a project."8 To measure the effects of a project, "an EIR must delineate environmental conditions prevailing absent the project, defining a "baseline" against which predicted effects can be described and quantified."9

Despite the traditional stigma of unnecessary cost and delay, if CEQA applies, proactive engagement with the EIR process can be used as a central part of a holistic strategy that focuses on community relations and transparency to address and prepare for general political opposition, which, if left unaddressed, is likely to fuel legal challenges.

HOW DO OPPOSITION GROUPS USE CEQA AGAINST CBR PROJECTS?

The first wave of lawsuits against CBR projects attacked the approving agencies' failure to comply with CEQA at all—i.e., the agencies classified the approval of CBR transloading as a ministerial function falling outside the requirements of CEQA.1 In response to one lawsuit, the Sacramento Air Quality Management District admitted that it violated CEQA by issuing a permit without a full environmental review. In response to this first wave of lawsuits, CBR developers should engage their approving agency to ensure that noncompliance with CEQA does not delay or impose additional costs to CBR projects.

A second trend in anti-CBR lawsuits appears to be emerging: Opposition groups are alleging substantive failures in EIRs related to the baseline against which CBR projects should be measured. One pending suit requests the invalidation of the Kern County Board of Supervisor's EIR of the Alon Bakersfield Refinery Flexibility Project. The lawsuit alleges that the EIR's baseline for environmental analysis should be based on current shut-down conditions of the Bakersfield refinery—which has not operated since 2008—not the conditions that the refinery was properly permitted for and operating at in 2007. This lawsuit demonstrates that CBR developers must not only comply with the procedural aspects of CEQA but must take an active role in the substance of the CEQA review as well.

Once courts begin ruling on the merits of CBR terminal siting and operations cases, the precedents could further embolden CBR opponents and prompt additional challenges. CBR developers should use the EIR process to build a foundation that will both avoid litigation and help mitigate the risk of legal attacks on future projects. Below we outline two core legal strategies that CBR terminal developers can use to blunt attacks by oppostiion groups and help reduce litigation burdens and keep projects on track.

Approach One: Seek Sites With High Historical Volatile Organic Compound Emissions

Sites with high recent historical emissions of VOCs are strong candidates for CBR terminal siting because crude-by-rail operations emit far less per barrel of throughput. In concrete terms, such locations come with a "high baseline" for determining emissions thresholds. This concept succeeds in legal terms because the fundamental goal of the Environmental Impact Report process is to "inform decision makers and the public of any significant adverse effects a project is likely to have on the physical environment."10

To do this, the EIR must define a "baseline" against which the project's anticipated effects can be described and quantified.11 This requirement, and the California judicial decisions addressing it, potentially offer a unique solution for CBR operators seeking to site projects near dormant oil refineries and declining oilfields. Alon USA's dormant 70 kbd refinery near Bakersfield is a case in point. The company recognizes the potential opportunity and according to its investor disclosures, has received a permit to build a 140 kbd facility (two unit trains per day), capable of unloading light and heavy crudes.12

Terminal opponents claim that the EIR process for a CBR terminal proposed at the site should use the refinery's "currently non-operational conditions as the baseline for measuring impacts."13 If this approach were followed, the CBR facility would likely not be able to receive an operating permit due to tight emissions restrictions driven by existing ozone and particulate pollution problems in the San Joaquin Valley. Fortunately for prospective projects in the area, the opposition groups' legal position on what constitutes a proper EIR baseline is very likely incorrect.

A number of California courts clearly state that a property's recent historical use can provide a "realistic measure of existing conditions" for the purposes of an EIR impact assessment."14 Their position remains true even when the historical use occurred many years prior and/or has been intermittent. California courts make liberal time allowances for historical use analysis of mining and natural resource projects because they recognize that such endeavors are subject to macro-level fluctuations in supply, demand, and price that are unpredictable and beyond project operators' control.15

The Alon Bakersfield refinery mentioned above—mothballed due to wild global oil price swings and declining local crude oil supplies—presents exactly such a fact pattern. Two core factors make it well situated for adding additional CBR unloading capacity. First, the high VOC baseline set by the refinery's air permits. And second, the fact that declining San Joaquin Valley crude oil production has freed up at least 200 kbd of space in a pipeline network that can access coastal refineries in Northern and Southern California that crave price-advantaged crude feedstocks but have severe NIMBY issues (Exhibit 1).

Exhibit 1: Declining San Joaquin Valley Crude Oil Production

Source: California Department of Conservation, Authors' Analysis

Approach Two: Proactively Seize the CBR Narrative and Embrace the EIR Process

Currently, the strongest opposition to CBR development is in the major metro areas along the California coast. In this market space, Kinder Morgan has already picked the low-hanging fruit with its Richmond terminal (re-purposed from handling railborne ethanol shipments). Anti-CBR officials and private groups will fight tooth and nail against future CBR projects in these areas, as Valero has discovered to its chagrin with multiple delays to its proposed CBR terminal at the Benecia refinery.

Proposals for new CBR terminals and operational expansions at existing facilities will almost certainly spark lawsuits. The best legal strategy is to de-fang the plaintiffs. Three concrete actions can seriously weaken the majority of terminal-specific claims. First, terminal builders should immediately launch an EIR, as this pre-empts attacks based on improper issuance of air permits. As shown by the InterOil Sacramento case in November 2014, legal attacks based on air quality boards' ministerial issuance of a permit without an EIR are sufficient to cause agencies to withdraw their approvals.

It is better to pre-empt injunction suits by conducting an EIR upfront, since courts are increasingly likely to force review anyway. What's more, avoiding the EIR fight reduces the risk of future operational disruptions and also streamlines the litigation process by many months. This in turn helps accelerate the terminal permitting process and will likely ultimately help get CBR terminals online more quickly than if they tried to initially obtain an air permit without an EIR, then were forced to halt construction or operations and start the EIR process months down the road, with money invested and emotions high.

Engaging the EIR process head-on while planning CBR projects also allows industry to frame the conversation. Over time, greater information transparency by terminal operators will help improve the industry's public perception and the public's trust by giving terminal neighbors, voters, and policymakers an alternative—and more accurately framed—perspective. Consider the following example: it sounds ominous that a unit-train class CBR terminal such as Global Partners' Clatskanie, Oregon facility can emit approximately 70 tons per year of volatile organic compounds ("VOCs").16 Yet according to EPA data, 25 gasoline service stations emit roughly the same amount of VOCs annually as a large CBR facility.17

The comparison can be taken even deeper into the CBR opponents' lair. A simple search reveals that in the city of Portland, OR, one of the most environmentally-conscious large cities in the U.S. and located roughly 60 miles from the Clatskanie terminal, there are more than 100 retail service establishments selling gasoline. Collectively, these have the potential to emit roughly as many VOCs in a year as a crude by rail facility handling approximately 350 kbd—four times the daily volume Clatskanie typically receives.18

This is just one example of the potential objective facts that can be used to inform an EIR report. An EIR must include basic required elements, but the format allows substantial freedom in how they are addressed, allowing industry to highlight the true nature of the project and to place it in an accurate context. One such piece of context is that relative to other crude oil and refined product infrastructure, CBR terminals are high-throughput, low-VOC emissions ventures (Exhibit 2).

Exhibit 2: VOC Emissions vs. Facility Throughput

Logarithmic scale, Base 10

Source: EPA, Oregon DEQ

Conclusion

Crude by rail traffic has dropped because price differentials in many cases are presently insufficient to support arbitrage between coastal refineries and the shale fields. However, the current lull period offers an excellent opportunity for terminal developers and traders to upgrade the arsenal of legal and regulatory they will need as they move to capture future CBR opportunities when prices recover.

Footnotes

[1] Rory Carroll & Jennifer Chaussee, California Judge Throws Out Lawsuit Targeting Crude by Rail Facility, Reuters (Sept. 5, 2014, 8:59PM), http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/09/06/california-oil-lawsuit-idUSL1N0R62SH20140906 (discussing the dismissal of a lawsuit against a CBR transloading facility that alleged noncompliance with CEQA on timeliness grounds).

[1] See Cal. Public Resources Code §§ 21000 et seq. (containing CEQA); Verified Petition for Writ of Mandate, No. S1500CV284013 (Cal. Sup. Ct., Kern Cnty. Jan. 28, 2015), available at http://earthjustice.org/sites/default/files/files/BCT%20Petition%20-%20Final%20with%20Exhibits.pdf

[2] See 42 U.S.C. §§ 4321 et seq; See Cal. Public Resources Code §§ 21000, 21001

[3] Id. at § 21080(a).

[4] Id. at § 21080(b).

[5] Id. at § 21080(c), (d).

[6] Id. at § 21080(c).

[7] Id. at § 21080(d).

[8] Id. at § 21061.

[9] Neighbors for Smart Rail v. Exposition Metro Line Construction Authority, 304 P.3d 499, 505 (Cal. 2013).

[10] Rail v. Exposition Metro Line Constr. Auth., 304 P.3d 499, 505 (Cal. 2013).

[11] Id. at 505.

[12] Alon USA Investor Presentation, September 2015, http://content.stockpr.com/alonusa/media/d7ec29f5d732028418757251db1f5901.pdf

[13] Verified Petition for Writ of Mandate, 8 October 2014, http://earthjustice.org/sites/default/files/files/Final%20Complaint%20with%20Exhibits%20Kern%20County%20Alon.pdf, Pg.3

[14] Neighbors for Smart Rail v. Exposition Metro Line Construction Authority, 304 P.3d 499, 507 (Cal. 2013)

[15] Fairview Neighbors V. County of Ventura, 70 Cal.App.4th 238, 243 (Cal. Ct. App. 1999)

[16] http://www.oregon.gov/deq/docs/CPBR_PermitResponseToComments.pdf

[17] http://www.epa.gov/ttnchie1/le/benzene_pt2.pdf

[18] http://www.portlandgasprices.com/GasPriceSearch.aspx?typ=adv&fuel=A&srch=0&area=Portland+-+Central&area=Portland+-+NE&area=Portland+-+North&area=Portland+-+NW&area=Portland+-+SE&area=Portland+-+SW&site=Portland&station=All%20Stations&tme_limit=24

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.