United States: Recent N.Y. Ethics Opinions: November 2015

Last Updated: November 9 2015
Article by Tyler Maulsby

Here are summaries of ethics opinions issued June, July, and September 2015. The opinions were issued by the NYSBA Committee on Professional Ethics and the NYC Bar Association Committee on Professional Ethics. NYLER will continue to provide updates on new ethics opinions issued by these and other ethics committees in New York State.

For information about how to obtain an ethics opinion from the NYS Bar Association Committee on Professional Ethics, please visit http://www.nysba.org/Ethics/.

For information about how to obtain an ethics opinion from the NYC Bar Association Committee on Professional Ethics, please visit http://www.nycbar.org/ethics/informal-ethics-opinions/.


NEW YORK STATE BAR ASSOCIATION OPINIONS

NYSBA Ethics Op. 1063 (June 29, 2015):
Accepting Representation Adverse to a Third Party Payor

In Opinion 1063 a lawyer agreed to represent an 18-year-old client in a criminal matter and accept payment from the client's divorced parents. During the lawyer's representation in the criminal matter, the mother of the lawyer's client retained the lawyer in two cases against the father—one a custody dispute (involving a different child) and one a child support matter in which the son is among the subjects of child support at issue. The Opinion addresses whether the lawyer is ethically permitted to represent the mother in an action adverse to the father when he is receiving payment from the father in a separate matter. Under Rule 1.8(f) a lawyer may accept payment from a third party provided the client gives informed consent, there is no interference with the lawyer's independent professional judgment or with the attorney-client relationship, and that the lawyer protects the client's confidential information as required by Rule 1.6. Citing a previous New York State Bar ethics opinion, the Opinion notes that Rule 1.8(f) allows a lawyer to accept payment from a third party even if the third party's interests are potentially adverse to the client's interests. The Opinion concludes, therefore, that the lawyer would not violate Rule 1.8(f) if he were adverse to the father. The Opinion then analyzes whether the lawyer's representation of the mother would create a conflict of interest under Rule 1.7. Assuming the lawyer has not led the father to believe that he is a client, the Opinion reasons, the lawyer would not be representing two clients with differing interests in violation of Rule 1.7(a)(1). However, the lawyer may have a personal interest conflict in violation of Rule 1.7(a)(2) if a reasonable lawyer would conclude that the lawyer's "interest in continuing to receive fees from the Father for representing the Son would create a 'significant risk' of adversely affecting the [lawyer's] professional judgement on behalf of the Mother." Even if such a conflict exists, however, the lawyer could still represent the mother if he believed that he could provide competent and diligent representation notwithstanding the conflict and he obtained informed consent in writing from the Mother.

The full opinion is available at: https://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=57391.

NYSBA Ethics Op. 1064 (July 10, 2015):
Conflicts of Interest with Former Judges in Private Practice

Opinion 1064 addresses whether a former family court judge can represent clients in two matters in which the inquirer participated while a judge. In the first matter, the inquirer sought to represent a litigant in a neglect action when the inquirer, as a judge, signed a consent order stipulating that the subject child be placed in foster care. The inquirer had no involvement in that case beyond the one order. In the second matter, the inquirer sought to represent a client in a child support proceeding when the inquirer, as a judge, rendered multiple decisions concerning custody and visitation concerning the same subject children. The judge's prior orders would need to be revisited in the child support proceeding. The Opinion reasons that the inquirer's two scenarios are governed by Rule 1.12 which addresses conflicts of interest with former judges in private practice. Rule 1.12(a) prohibits a lawyer from representing a client "in a matter upon the merits of which the lawyer has acted in a judicial capacity." If such a conflict exists, it is non-waivable. The Opinion reasons that the inquiry therefore turns on whether the inquirer was acting in her "judicial capacity", whether the proposed representation is part of the same "matter", and whether the inquirer's involvement as a judge involved the "merits." The Opinion concludes that the inquirer was acting in her "judicial capacity" in both matters. Comment [1] to Rule 1.12, states that a judge "is not prohibited from acting as a lawyer in a matter where he or she exercised remote or incidental administrative responsibility that did not affect the merits." The Opinion reasons, however, that the judge's involvement in both of the described matters did affect the merits because it "affect[ed] the legal rights of the parties." The Opinion notes that such an interpretation of the term "merits" is broader than the generally accepted legal definition but that a broader interpretation is appropriate in the context of Rule 1.12. Similarly, the Opinion concludes that both cases are the same "matter" for the purposes of Rule 1.12(a). Citing to prior New York State Bar ethics opinions, the Opinion applied the "facts, parties and time" test, which comes from Comment [2] to Rule 1.9. The Comment states: "In determining whether two particular matters are the same, the lawyer should consider the extent to which (i) the matters involve the same basic facts, (ii) the matters involve the same or related parties, and (iii) time has elapsed between the matters." The Opinion reasons that both of the inquirer's proposed scenarios have sufficiently similar underlying facts and parties and are close enough in time to be considered the same "matter." Though the lawyer would be prohibited from taking on the proposed representations, the opinion notes, the conflict would not be imputed to the lawyer's firm provided the other lawyers in the firm were properly screened in accordance with Rule 1.12(d). The Opinion also takes care to note that it cannot address whether the proposed conduct would also violate the Code of Judicial Conduct or any applicable statues and regulations.

The opinion is available at: https://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=57801.

NYSBA Ethics Op. 1065 (July 10, 2015):
Conflicts of Interest for a Part-Time Government Attorney

Opinion 1065 addresses whether a law firm with a lawyer who serves as a part-time Deputy Town Attorney may bring an Article 78 proceeding against the Village based on allegedly improper actions taken by the Village's zoning or planning board. Though the Village and the Town share certain resources, the lawyer who is the Deputy Town Attorney does not prosecute building and zoning laws and is not supervised by the office in charge of enforcing those laws. The Opinion analyzes Rule 1.7, that governs conflicts of interest and Rule 1.10 that prohibits a law firm from representing any client when any one lawyer practicing alone would be prohibited from representing that client. The Opinion draws largely from past New York State Bar opinions that have addressed the private practice of law by part-time government prosecutors. Ultimately the Opinion reasons that while it would be impermissible for the inquirer (and therefor the inquirer's firm) to be adverse to law enforcement personnel with whom the inquirer had worked or is likely to work as Deputy Town Attorney, the proposed scenario would unlikely involve such adversity. Therefore, assuming there is no conflict under Rule 1.7(a), since there is no direct adversity, the representation would be permissible. The Opinion cautions, however, that the inquirer would still be prohibited by Rule 1.11(f) from using any influence as a public official in furtherance of the representation.

The opinion is available at: https://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=57802.

NYSBA Ethics Op. 1066 (July 13, 2015):
Lawyer as a Guarantor for a Client's Financing Obligation

In Opinion 1066 the inquiring lawyer asked the Committee whether the lawyer's firm could guarantee a client's obligation to repay a bank for financing that was incurred in order to pay the lawyer's retainer in a criminal matter. The Opinion analyzes Rule 1.8(e), which states that "[w]hile representing a client in connection with contemplated or pending litigation, a lawyer shall not advance or guarantee financial assistance to the client", subject to three exceptions. The only relevant exception, the Opinion reasons, is Rule 1.8(e)(1), which allows a lawyer to advance court costs and expenses of litigation, the repayment of which may be contingent on the outcome of the matter. The Opinion notes that even though Rule 1.5(d)(1) prohibits a lawyer from charging a contingent fee in a criminal matter, a lawyer may still advance court costs and litigation expenses in a criminal matter, the repayment of which may be contingent on the outcome. Rule 1.8(e)(1), however, does not authorize the lawyer to guarantee costs or expenses and is expressly prohibited by the introduction to the Rule. The lawyer, therefore, would be prohibited from entering into such an arrangement. The Opinion also notes that even if the lawyer only helps the client negotiate a loan, such advice could also give rise to a number of ethical issues depending on the lawyer's interest in the transaction.

The opinion is available at: https://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/Content.aspx?id=57803.


NEW YORK CITY BAR ASSOCIATION OPINIONS

N.Y. City Formal Eth. Op. 2015-6 (Sept. 2015):
Duty to Notify Clients When Their Files Are Accidentally Destroyed

Opinion 2015-6 addresses a lawyer's ethical obligations when client files are inadvertently destroyed in an accident or disaster. Specifically, the Opinion addresses when a lawyer must notify a client that files relating to the legal matter have been destroyed. The Opinion reasons that the New York Rules impose certain obligations on lawyers with respect to property and files belong to clients and third persons both during and after the representation. For instance, Rule 1.15(a) designates the lawyer as a "fiduciary" to the owner of any property or funds that the lawyer is holding incident to the lawyer's practice of law. Similarly, Rule 1.15(c)(4) requires the lawyer to "deliver to the client or third person as requested by the client or third person the...properties in the possession of the lawyer that the client or third person is entitled to receive." See also Rule 1.16(e) (lawyer must deliver to the client "all papers and property to which the client is entitled" at the end of the representation). Though the client's specific property interest in a lawyer's files is a legal question on which the Committee cannot opine, the Opinion notes that, under New York case law, clients generally have a property interest—or, at minimum, free access to—most documents or other materials relating to their matters. Therefore, the duty to preserve client files continues for at least some period of time after the representation ends. Because of the lawyer's duty to preserve client files for a period of time, the lawyer therefore also has a duty to notify the client or former client in certain circumstances if files are destroyed. This conclusion is based on Rule 1.4, which requires an attorney to "promptly inform the client of material developments in the matter," keep clients "reasonably informed about the status of a matter," and "promptly comply with a client's reasonable requests for information." Rule 1.4(a)(1)(iii), (a)(3), (a)(4). The Opinion notes that a lawyer's fiduciary duty under Rule 1.15(a) also supports this conclusion. Of course, the lawyer's duty to notify clients about destroyed files is not triggered in every circumstance since the lawyer is only required to notify the client about "material" developments in the matter. The Opinion sets forth a three-tier framework for categorizing client files. Category 1 consists of documents with "intrinsic value or those that directly affect property rights," such as "wills, deeds and negotiable instruments." Category 2 consists of documents that the lawyer "knows or should know may still be necessary or useful to the client." Category 3 consists of documents with relatively little importance that would "furnish no useful purpose in serving the client's present needs for legal advice." The Opinion concludes that a lawyer should notify a client or former client if Category 1 documents are destroyed in a disaster. Conversely, a lawyer need not notify the client or former client if Category 3 documents are destroyed. Category 2 documents must be analyzed on a case-by-case basis. If the documents relate to an open matter, the Opinion concludes that the lawyer must notify the client of their destruction. If the matter is closed, a more nuanced approach is required to determine whether the "client foreseeably may need" the documents. The Opinion also analyzes several other ethical duties that may be implicated when files are inadvertently destroyed including a lawyer's duty of competence and duty to safeguard confidential information.

The opinion is available at: http://www.nycbar.org/ethics/ethics-opinions-local/2015opinions/2208-formal-opinion-2015-6-duty-to-notify-clients-when-their-files-are-accidentally-destroyed.

Originally published by the New York Legal Ethics Reporter

www.fkks.com

This alert provides general coverage of its subject area. We provide it with the understanding that Frankfurt Kurnit Klein & Selz is not engaged herein in rendering legal advice, and shall not be liable for any damages resulting from any error, inaccuracy, or omission. Our attorneys practice law only in jurisdictions in which they are properly authorized to do so. We do not seek to represent clients in other jurisdictions.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
Tyler Maulsby
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.