United States: North Carolina General Assembly Week In Review - September 25, 2015

Adjournment

With the budget finalized and signed by the Governor last Friday, the General Assembly has turned its attention to adjournment. On Wednesday, the Senate Rules Chairman, Sen. Tom Apodaca (R-Henderson) introduced Senate Joint Resolution (SJR) 721, Adjournment Resolution.

The resolution sets the General Assembly's adjournment for next Tuesday, September 29 and for the General Assembly to reconvene Monday, April 25, 2016. The resolution passed out of the Senate on Thursday and was sent to the House.

The resolution, as passed by the Senate, would allow legislators to consider appropriations bills, constitutional amendment bills, bills that have crossed over from one chamber to the other, bills and resolutions that implement recommendations from study committees, authorities, and statutory commissions, local bills, election law bills, and for the purpose of overriding a gubernatorial veto, among a variety of other topics, when they reconvene.

The House has referred the resolution to the House Rules Committee. The committee is meeting Monday at 11 am, but the resolution currently does not appear on the committee's agenda. The House may make modifications to the adjournment date, date the General Assembly reconvenes, or to what bills may be considered during the short session.

Read SJR 721 here.

Medicaid reform bill receives approval from General Assembly

On Tuesday, September 22, the conference committee report for HB 372, Medicaid Transformation and Reorganization, was approved by both the House and Senate. The conference report moves away from the state's current fee-for-service system to a full-risk capitated system and to a hybrid system that will include both provider-led entities (PLEs) and managed care organizations (MCOs)

The Senate voted 33-15, mostly along party lines, with two Democrats, Sen. Ben Clark (D-Hoke) and Sen. Floyd McKissick, Jr. (D-Durham) joining with the Republicans. One Republican, Sen. Jeff Tarte (R-Mecklenburg), voted against the conference report.

The House voted 65-40, again mostly along party lines. Only one Democrat, Rep. George Graham (D-Lenoir), voted in favor of the conference report. Five Republicans voted against the conference report, one of which was a chair of the conference committee, Rep. Nelson Dollar (R-Wake). Four of Rep. Dollar's republican colleagues, Rep. Pat Hurley (R-Randolph), Rep. James Langdon, Jr. (R-Johnston), Rep. Michael Speciale (R-Craven), and Rep. Paul Stam (R-Wake), joined him in voting no to the conference report.

Governor McCrory signed the legislation into law at a bill signing ceremony on Wednesday, September 23.

Read HB 372 here.

Economic development bill heads to Governor McCrory

This week, the conference report to HB 117, NC Competes Act, was approved by both the House and Senate. The Senate voted unanimously in a bipartisan vote to approve the legislation. The Governor is expected to sign the legislation.

With the finance portion of the state's budget, HB 97, contingent on HB 117 becoming law, the passage by both House and Senate chambers was necessary before January 1, 2016. The conference report contains changes to the Job Development and Investment Grant (JDIG) and OneNC programs, several changes to the tax code, and a section dealing with tax compliance and fraud prevention. However, HB 117 does not address the sunset of several tax credits including renewables and research and development.

Read HB 117 here.

Historic Rehabilitation and Local Economic Development bill passed by General Assembly

The House passed SB 472, Local Incentives for Historic Rehabilitation, on Tuesday. The Senate passed SB 472 in April of this year, the House did not make any amendments to the Senate's bill.

Under this legislation, local governments are given more flexibility in determining what projects qualify for local appropriations for economic development purposes. The legislation also extends a local government's authority to make grants or loans for the rehabilitation of commercial or noncommercial historic structures, whether the structure is publically or privately owned.

SB 472 was presented to the Governor on Thursday.

Read HB 472 here.

County Studies

The House passed SB 391, County Omnibus Legislation, on Thursday. The bill will go to the Senate for a concurrence vote on Monday, September 28. The Senate's session will convene at 10:30 am on Monday, but will immediately recess without votes, to return for a voting session at 7:00 pm.

The bill reestablishes the State Payment in Lieu of Taxes Study Commission, directs several studies including studying ways to control aquatic noxious weeds in state waters and studying the impact of exempting previously taxable property when acquired by a nonprofit. The legislation also clarifies requirements on local governments for the deposit of public money.

Read HB 391 here.

Bill moves Primary date to March and permits establishment of Affiliated Party Committees

On Thursday the House and Senate approved a conference report moving North Carolina's Primary date to March 15, 2016. The House narrowly supported the conference report, voting 52-49. The Senate voted to approve the report mostly along party lines, 30-13.

Under the new legislation, candidate filing begins on December 1, 2015 and closes December 21, 2015. Political parties must submit presidential candidate lists by December 16, 2015. Early voting will begin on March 3, 2016 and end March 12, 2016.

The conference report also included a controversial provision that allows for the establishment of affiliated party committees. The legislation permits the leader of each political party of the North Carolina House and Senate to establish a separate affiliated party committee to support the election of candidates of that leader's political party. The legislation is permissive and does not require the establishment of the affiliated party committees.

The bill was presented to the Governor today.

Read HB 373 here.

Legislation to prohibit the sale of unborn children body parts

The Senate on Wednesday introduced a committee substitute to HB 297, End Marketing/Sale Unborn Children Body Parts, regarding the use and sale of any remains of any unborn child. The legislation requires informed consent for the donation of the remains of unborn children, prohibits the sale of any aborted or miscarried material or remains of an unborn child, and limits the use of state funding for teen pregnancy prevention programs by prohibiting DHHS to use state funds to renew or extend existing contracts or enter into new contracts for teen pregnancy prevention programs with providers that perform abortions.

The legislation passed the Senate, 41-3, with three Democrats voting against the bill. Nine Democrats voted in favor of the legislation, including Senate Minority Leader Dan Blue (D-Wake), Sen. Angela Bryant (D-Nash), Sen. Ben Clark (D-Hoke), Sen. Don Davis (D-Greene), Sen. Joel Ford (D-Mecklenburg), Sen. Jeff Jackson (D-Mecklenburg), Sen. Jane Smith (D-Robeson), Sen. Josh Stein (D-Wake), and Sen. Joyce Waddell (D-Mecklenburg).

The House will hear HB 297 during Monday's afternoon session.

Read HB 297 here.

Farm Act gets initial approval from House

The House voted 86-13 on Thursday, to give an initial approval to SB 513, North Carolina Farm Act of 2015. The House will have third reading on the bill in its Monday afternoon session. The legislation makes various changes to transportation, environment and other laws in an effort to provide regulatory relief to the agriculture community.

Just hours before taking a vote on second reading, the House removed a controversial deer farming provision that would have transferred the captive cervid program to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.

SB 513 is scheduled for a vote on third reading in the House on Monday.

Read SB 513 here.

Regulatory Reform Act conference report to be heard Monday in House

Thursday, Rep. Pat McElraft (R-Carteret) announced the conference report for HB 765, Regulatory Reform Act of 2015, will be heard in the House on Monday. Some highlights from the conference report include:

  • Shifting the burden of proof in certain contested cases.
  • Prohibits licensees from serving as investigators and inspectors on occupational licensing board.
  • Exempts small business entities buying or selling entity-owned property.
  • Amends the definition of "employee" under the Workers' Compensation Act to exclude volunteers and officers of certain nonprofits.
  • Expands the Good Samaritan law Expansion to breaking into or out of railroad cars, motor vehicles, trailers, aircraft, boats or other watercrafts.
  • Directs the Environmental Review Commission to study open and fair competition with respect to materials used in wastewater, stormwater, and other water projects.
  • creates two studies on 1) electronic recycling programs and 2) permitting and recycling programs for utility-scale solar projects.
  • Amends the risk-based remediation statutes.
  • Amends the definition for "prospective developer" under brownfields redevelopments.
  • Makes amendments to isolated wetlands laws.
  • Studies and amends stormwater laws.
  • Creates a study of flood elevations and building height requirements.

Read the conference report for HB 765 here.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.