European Union: Public Consultation To Review The European Telecom Framework: An Opportunity For Operators To Be Heard

Last Updated: September 18 2015
Article by Remy Fekete

The European Commission published, on September 11, 2015, a public consultation on the evaluation and review of the regulatory framework for electronic communications networks and services. The public consultation is a first step in the future reform of the regulatory framework, which constitutes one of the 16 strategic measures that will be implemented before the end of 2016 in order to create a Digital Single Market,1 in accordance with the 10 priorities defined by the Commission on July 15, 2014.2

A first step toward a Digital Single Market was taken on June 30, 2015, with the conclusion of the agreement between the Commission and the European Parliament on the proposal for a regulation regarding a single European market and aiming at making Europe a connected continent. The agreement should lead to the adoption, before the end of the year, of a regulation establishing measures concerning an open internet and modifying the rules regarding roaming.3 Published on September 11, 2013, the original version of the regulation project (also called "Connected Continent Regulation"4) was more ambitious and modified the text of the Telecom Package, but all its provisions not related to the principle of net neutrality and to roaming were removed from it by the agreement dated July 30, 2015.

In this context, two years after the publication of the proposal for the Connected Continent Regulation, the Commission launched a public consultation on the evaluation and review of the regulatory framework for electronic communications networks and services. The exact content of the upcoming reform, which should be published in the spring of 2016, is not revealed yet, but if the reform carries forward the provisions removed from the Connected Continent Regulation, it will notably focus on the following issues:

  • Single authorization: single authorization/notification system and conditions applicable to operators who benefit from them; principle of equality of treatment in different Member States; issue of the payment of administrative fees and the contributions to the financing of the universal service;
  • Radio spectrum resources: definition of the regulatory common principles applicable to the Member State during the adoption of the terms and conditions of radio spectrum; adoption by the Commission of measures in order to harmonize the availability of radio spectrum, the timetable of their assignment and the duration of the rights to use them; simplification of the conditions concerning the deployment and supply of wireless broadband access (Wi-Fi, small cells);
  • Virtual access to fixed telecommunications networks: definition of the common characteristics to harmonize the high speed broadband virtual access (virtual unbundling, IP bitstream access, and segments of leased lines); obligation imposed on national regulators to take into consideration the introduction of this type of harmonized products when they impose regulatory measures;
  • Rights of end-users: nondiscrimination between certain national communications and communications within the EU; mandatory precontractual and contractual information; transparency and systems to avoid bill shocks; implementation of a right to cancel contracts after six months, etc.;
  • Other measures: harmonization of the procedures to switch supplier; national regulatory authorities to take into consideration the competitive pressure emanating from OTT ("over-the-top"); etc.

The 218 questions asked in the public consultation allow us to identify the major concerns of the Commission, in particular regarding the network access regulation, the issues regarding spectrum management and wireless connectivity, the regulation of electronic communications, and the universal service regime, as well as the institutional setup and governance of the sector.
Thus, the upcoming reform, which will modify the directives and the regulations constituting the Telecom Package, could have a significant impact on operators and suppliers of electronic communications services, especially if the reform is adopted through a Regulation, which will be, as a consequence, directly applicable to all Member States.
This consultation is significant and of urgent concern for the following reasons:

  • OTT pressure on operators keeps increasing in favor of a non-adapted regulation.
  • The need for the deployment of high speed networks poses a critical challenge to operators in terms of investments.
  • TeliaSonera and Telenor's recent withdrawal from their proposed merger illustrates Europe's difficulty enabling the emergence of international champions.

Therefore, we invite operators, electronic communications suppliers, and internet players to respond to the public consultation available online and open until December 7, 2015.

Footnotes

1. Communication of the Commission to the European Parliament, the Council, the European Economic and Social Committee, and the Committee of the Regions—Strategy for a digital single market in Europe, May 6, 2015 (COM(2015) 192 final).

2. "A new take-off for Europe: My program for Employment, Growth, Equity and the Democratic Change—Political orientations for the next European Commission," Opening speech of the plenary session of the European Parliament of Jean-Claude Juncker, July 15, 2014.

3. Proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council laying down measures concerning open internet and amending Regulation (EU) No 531/2012 of the European Parliament and of the Council of June 13, 2012 on roaming on public mobile communications networks within the Union.

4. Proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and the Council establishing measures concerning the single European market of electronic communications and aiming at making Europe a connected continent, and modifying the directives 2002/20/CE, 2002/21/CE and 2002/22/CE and also the regulations (CE) n°1211/2009 and (UE) n°531/2012 (COM2013) 627 final).

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.