United States: Auto Companies Are Enjoying Benefits Of Inter Partes Review

Companies in the automotive industry face patent litigation on a regular basis. A frequent target of non-practicing entities, both car manufacturers and suppliers frequently get dragged into federal district court where the balance of hardships weighs heavily against the auto companies. Specifically, auto companies can spend millions of dollars defending themselves while the NPE-plaintiff, who's only assets include the patent rights (typically purchased from a third party), spends very little. To combat this inequality, the America Invents Act created new administrative review procedures, including inter partes review, that cost significantly less than litigation and focus solely on the validity of the patent. Very quickly, auto companies have turned to these new procedures to combat unwarranted patent infringement claims. In addition, some companies appear to combat the patent rights of their competitors using these new procedures. This article discusses examples where companies and suppliers utilize these procedures to combat NPE allegations, details the fight at the patent office between two competitors, and examines some of the pros and cons for these new procedures.

An IPR proceeding is quite different from normal patent litigation in district court. Some primary differences include the statutory deadline for the Patent Trial and Appeal Board to complete an IPR proceeding; normally around 18 months after a petition is filed. See 37 C.F.R. § 42.100(c). Furthermore, the parties in an IPR engage in a hearing before the PTAB, comprising three administrative patent judges at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. In contrast, an Article III judge or jury typically decides a patent infringement case in district court. Very little discovery occurs during an IPR proceeding. Instead, the parties focus on deposing the opposite party's expert. As such, IPR provides a significant cost savings for a petitioner in the automotive industry over litigating a patent case in district court.

The first example involves NPE Beacon Navigation GmbH. Beacon has filed numerous lawsuits against many automotive entities in the United States where Beacon has repeatedly asserted one specific patent—U.S. Patent No. 6,029,111, titled "Vehicle navigation system and method using GPS velocities." It initially filed eighteen complaints on this and other patents in the District of Delaware on Oct. 11, 2011, against a myriad of auto manufacturers, including Chrysler Group LLC, Ford Motor Co., General Motors LLC, Audi AG and Volkswagen AG. Beacon then filed a similar complaint asserting this patent at the U.S. International Trade Commission on Nov. 23, 2011.

On Oct. 18, 2012, Denso Corp. and Clarion Co. Ltd., two automotive supply companies that Beacon did not name in its 2011 filings relating to the '111 patent, petitioned for an IPR of that patent. IPR2013-00026. On March 14, 2014, the PTAB found in favor of Denso and Clarion, concluding that the prior art patent anticipated the claims and thus the claims were unpatentable. Id., Final Written Decision. Despite Beacon asserting numerous patents in 2011, this example shows how a target, or potential target, of litigation by an NPE can use IPR to gain an advantage over its adversary.

Another NPE targeting automotive companies is American Vehicular Sciences LLC (AVS). Over the last few years, AVS has filed a number of complaints against automotive companies, including Toyota, BMW, Honda, and Mercedes-Benz, alleging infringement of numerous patents. Among others, AVS asserted U.S. Patent No. 7,630,802, entitled "Information Management and Monitoring System and Method." On July 8, 2013, Toyota filed a petition for IPR of this patent. IPR2013-00414. Shortly thereafter, other automobile companies followed Toyota's lead; Honda filed two IPRs (IPR2014-00637 and 638), while Mercedes-Benz (IPR2014-00643) and Hyundai/Kia (IPR2015-00174) each filed one IPR.

On Jan. 6, 2015, the PTAB found the claims-at-issue in Toyota's IPR unpatentable as either anticipated or obvious. IPR2013-00414, Final Written Decision. A month later, AVS stated that it was abandoning the proceedings and requested entry of adverse judgment to the remaining claims-at-issue from the other pending IPRs and the PTAB granted its request on Feb. 11, 2015. IPR2014-00637, Judgment.

The combined efforts of multiple competitors proved successful against AVS. There are many other instances where competitors in the automotive industry joined forces in order to combat unwarranted patents infringement claims. For example, Honda, Ford, Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd., Jaguar Land Rover North America, Nissan North America, Suburu of America, Toyota, and Volvo jointly filed five related IPRs (IPR2014-00279 through 281 and IPR2014-00289 and 291) against NPE Cruise Control Technologies. The hearings on these petitions are currently scheduled for March 24-25, 2015.

Not only does IPR provide a powerful tool to combat baseless NPE allegations, it allows companies to challenge a competitor's patent rights. Indeed, automotive companies and suppliers have started to utilize IPRs for great success against their competitors in the industry. For example, Continental Automotive Systems US Inc. filed a complaint against Schrader Electronics Inc. et. al, in the District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan on Oct. 12, 2011. In the complaint, Continental alleged that Schrader infringed U.S. Patent Nos. 6,998,973; 7,284,418; and 7,463,952. On Oct. 8, 2012, Schrader filed an IPR petition directed to the '973 patent. IPR2013-00014. Seventeen months later, on March 12, 2014, the PTAB determined that the claims-at-issue from the '973 patent were obvious and thus unpatentable. Id., Final Written Decision.

As noted above, utilizing these new procedures from the AIA provides automotive companies with a new tool when defending against a NPE or competitor. As these examples illustrate, IPR is a powerful weapon when attempting to invalidate some or all of the claims of an asserted patent, or to put further limitations on those claims. Other advantages include the potential to stay a pending litigation during the pendency of the IPR; and forcing your opponent to take positions unfavorable to its infringement allegations, proving useful in litigation. Furthermore, and probably most important, initiating and participating in an IPR is significantly cheaper than litigation.

These new procedures, however, have certain disadvantages. A party can only bring an IPR within one year of the date a complaint was served. 35 U.S.C. § 315(b). Furthermore, a petitioner is barred from filing an IPR if that petitioner filed a civil action challenging the validity of a claim of the patent. 37 C.F.R. § 42.101 (a). Notwithstanding, a party that has not had a complaint filed against it may file an IPR at any time, as was the case in the Beacon Navigation IPR discussed above. 37 C.F.R. § 42.101. Furthermore, a party may only file an IPR based on printed publications or patents and cannot present other forms of prior art. 35 U.S.C. § 312(3)(A). Finally, the petitioner filing the IPR is precluded from pursuing in district court any validity issues it raised or reasonably could have raised in the IPR proceeding. 35 U.S.C. § 315(e)(2).

An additional issue to consider is claim construction. In district court, claims are generally given their ordinary and customary meaning as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1312-18 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (en banc). Alternatively, the PTAB usually gives the claims their broadest reasonably interpretation and does not have to construe the claims to preserve validity. 37 C.F.R. § 42.100(b). Therefore, the petitioner may want to take advantage of the broadest reasonable interpretation of a patent when arguing for invalidity.

The AIA's post-grant proceedings are a new tool for automotive companies faced with baseless patent infringement litigation. Going forward, companies in the automotive industry must strongly consider IPRs as an option if and when an NPE or competitor comes knocking on their door with their patent portfolio.

Originally printed in Law360 (www.law360.com).

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
Events from this Firm
2 Nov 2017, Webinar, Washington, DC, United States

Join us for a two-part webinar series exploring recent developments in machine learning and other technologies that have greatly advanced artificial intelligence (AI) since its origins more than 50 years ago.

9 Nov 2017, Webinar, Washington, DC, United States

As part of Strafford Publications’ webinar series, Finnegan attorneys Adriana Burgy, Chris Johns, and Kai Rajan will discuss the Examiner Count System and provide strategies for interacting with examiners.

15 Nov 2017, Conference, California, United States

Finnegan is a Gold sponsor of the second annual Digital Media & IP Forum, hosted by World Congress.

 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.