United States: Inter Partes Review Initial Filings Of Paramount Importance: What Is Clear After Two Years Of Inter Partes Review Under The AIA

September 16, 2014, marked the two year anniversary since certain provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act went into effect, including post-grant Inter Partes Review (IPR) proceedings before the Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB or Board) and the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). The Congressional goal of such IPR proceedings was to provide a petitioner the opportunity to challenge the validity of an issued patent in a timely and cost-effective manner so that mistakenly issued patents could be more easily eliminated.1 An early critic, now retired Chief Federal Circuit Judge Randal R. Rader, dubbed the PTAB a "death squad" for patents in an October 2013 speech.2 Since then, many attorneys have echoed such a belief.3 The PTAB has been concerned with the growing view from the bar and the bench that the PTAB is indeed a "death squad," and consequently, that patents are now less valuable.4 To counteract such a negative perception, the PTAB has been vocal in stating that it does not have an agenda biased against the survival of patent claims and often cites statistics for support.5 The statistical outcomes of IPR proceedings taking place before the PTAB are reported by the USPTO. However, since the data has been reported using various metrics and organizational schemes it can be difficult to understand and easily misinterpreted. What is clear is that the initial filings, specifically a petition and the patent owner's preliminary response, are of the utmost importance because the PTAB's decision on the institution of an IPR is very likely determinative of whether or not a patent's claims will survive.

The USPTO reports that, as of September 25, 2014, a total of 1,821 petitions for IPR have been filed. Of those, the PTAB has reached a decision on whether to institute review for 938 petitions. Of those 938 decisions, 731 IPRs were taken up — about an 80 percent rate of institution. A breakdown of those petitions by decisions and year shows a drop in the percentage of IPRs being instituted; the PTAB instituted reviews for 87 percent of petitions in 2013 and 75 percent of the time in 2014. When compared to all of 2013, 776 additional petitions, or 250 percent more, have been filed thus far in 2014.6 To put that into perspective, the number of IPR requests filed thus far is only 98 fewer than the total number of requests filed for Inter Partes Reexamination from 1999 through 2012.7

Below is a reproduction of the most recent data for claims challenged by petition published by the USPTO for IPRs terminated as of September 4, 2014.8 These statistics use claims as a metric. In other words, what the USPTO is reporting is the disposition of each claim as it goes through the IPR proceedings. At a high level the claim-based data can provide a sense of the trends that are occurring and how likely it may be for an individual claim that is the subject of a petition to eventually be found unpatentable by the Board. However, using claims as a metric obscures data that many would find informative, such as the number of patents petitioned in which some or all claims are cancelled.

As illustrated in the graphic above, once an IPR has been instituted the USPTO categorizes the outcome of the proceedings on a claim into one of three categories: (i) maintaining patentability (1,739 claims), (ii) cancellation or disclaiming patentability during the proceedings (606 claims), or (iii) finding of unpatentability by the PTAB (999 claims). Based on the currently reported data, once an IPR has been instituted the probability that a claim will not survive is 48 percent, essentially a coin flip.

A very different story is told when one looks at the outcomes of the cases in which the PTAB reached a decision on patentability on a petition basis. The PTAB has reached decisions on patentability in 66 IPR proceedings, of which all claims in six cases — 148 claims in total — were deemed patentable, claims in ten cases met mixed results, i.e., some claims were found patentable and others unpatentable, and all claims in 50 cases were deemed unpatentable. Put another way, when the patentability of claims challenged is determined on a per petition basis, in nine percent of petitions all claims were deemed patentable, in 15 percent of petitions some claims were deemed unpatentable, and in 73 percent of petitions all of the claims were deemed unpatentable. It therefore appears that once the PTAB gets involved, the chances that the challenged claims will be struck down rises precipitously.

While these figures appear to be in stark contrast to those published by the USPTO, the percentage of patents with the patentability of all claims confirmed is in line with the outcomes of the previous validity procedure of Inter Partes Reexamination.9 It remains to be seen whether this is a reasonable comparison. The sharp rise in the number of IPR cases seems to indicate that higher quality patents are being struck down by the PTAB under the new IPR process. Further, it seems that not only are more higher quality patents now being struck down by the PTAB, more are being struck down in their entirety, as the total percentage of IPRs in which all claims were cancelled or disclaimed was 73 percent as compare to a mere 31 percent for Inter Partes Reexaminations.

There is a mere two years' worth of IPR data, and as more PTAB decisions are published our understanding will continue to deepen. Despite the different statistics being reported, at this point one thing is clear: the petition and patent owner's initial response are of the upmost importance. Twenty percent of the IPR requests are not instituted, which translates into 207 patents escaping the process by not being taken up. If the PTAB reaches a determination on the patentability of an instituted petition, there is only a nine percent chance that the patent will escape unscathed; a mere six cases have escaped the PTAB so far. Therefore, a petitioner's best strategy is to ensure that a review is instituted, while a patent owner's best defense against an IPR is to make certain that one is not instituted in the first place.

Footnotes

1. H.R. Rep. No. 96-1307, pt. 1, at 4 (1980)

2. Brian Mahoney, Software Patent Ruling a Major Judicial Failure, Rader Says, Law360 (Oct. 25, 2013), available at http://www.law360.com/articles/482264.

3. Ryan Davis, AIA Reviews a Growing Worry for Patent Owners, Law360 (Apr. 3, 2014), available at http://www.law360.com/articles/523215.

4. Id.

5. Ryan Davis, USPTO Upheld Some Patent Claims in 41% of AIA Reviews, Law360 (May 22, 2014), available at http://www.law360.com/articles/540857.

6. United States Patent and Trademark Office, IP Law & Policy, Boards and Counsel, Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB), PTAB Statistics, available at http://www.uspto.gov/ip/boards/bpai/stats/aia_statistics_09_25_2014.pdf.

7. United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patents, Statistics, Reexamination Information, Inter Partes Reexamination Historical Statistics, available at http://www.uspto.gov/patents/stats/inter_parte_historical_stats_roll_up_EOY2013.pdf.

8. Id., available at http://www.uspto.gov/ip/boards/bpai/stats/inter_partes_review_petitions_terminated_update_20140904.pdf.

9. United States Patent and Trademark Office, Patents, Statistics, Reexamination Information, Inter Partes Reexamination Historical Statistics, available at http://www.uspto.gov/patents/stats/inter_parte_historical_stats_roll_up_EOY2013.pdf.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
Patrick T. Driscoll
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Emails

From time to time Mondaq may send you emails promoting Mondaq services including new services. You may opt out of receiving such emails by clicking below.

*** If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of services offered by Mondaq you may opt out by clicking here .

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.