United States: A Review Of Recent Whistleblower Developments

  • United States Supreme Court Holds That SOX Whistleblower Provision Protects Employees of Contractors and Subcontractors of Public Companies
  • SEC's Whistleblower Chief Again Warns Attorneys Regarding Contracts That Seek to Silence Whistleblowers
  • The SEC Tells the Second Circuit that Dodd-Frank Whistleblowers Need Not File a Whistleblower Report With the SEC
  • Two District Courts Grant Defendants' Motions to Arbitrate Whistleblower Employment Disputes
  • Federal Appeals Court Declines to Consider Extraterritorial Application of SOX Whistleblower Provision

United States Supreme Court Holds That SOX Whistleblower Provision Protects Employees of Contractors and Subcontractors of Public Companies

In a ground-breaking decision, on March 4, 2014, the United States Supreme Court held in Lawson v. FMR LLC, 571 U.S. __ Case 12-3 (Mar. 4, 2014), that §1514A of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 provides a right of action for retaliation for employees of contractors and subcontractors of public companies. See our March 5, 2014 Legal News Alert. Now employees of investment advisers, law firms and accounting firms, who are aware of fraud at the public company, raise concerns about the fraud, and are retaliated against by their own firms for raising those concerns, can seek relief for such retaliation.

SEC's Whistleblower Chief Again Warns Attorneys Regarding Contracts That Seek to Silence Whistleblowers

At the March 14, 2014 Georgetown University Law Center Corporate Counsel Institute, Sean McKessy, the head of the SEC's Office of the Whistleblower, warned corporate counsel that his office was actively looking for employment contracts or severance provisions that tried to incent whistleblowers to keep their complaints in-house rather than sharing their information with the SEC. While the Dodd-Frank Act does not expressly restrict such contracts, the SEC's Rule 21F-17 prohibits "any action to impede an individual from communicating directly with the Commission staff about a possible securities law violation, including enforcing or threatening to enforce, a confidentiality agreement ... with respect to such communications." Reiterating comments he has made since 2012, McKessy was quoted as saying "[W]e are actively looking for examples of confidentiality agreements, separat[ion] agreements, employment agreements that ... in substance say 'as a prerequisite to get this benefit you agree you're not going to come to the Commission or you're not going to report anything to a regulator.'" McKessy added that not only will companies whose contracts have such language find themselves in an enforcement proceeding, but the lawyers who draft the provisions could be subject to suspension of their ability to practice before the SEC.

The hypothetical language McKessy describes provides a relatively easy case, but other potential attempts by employers to restrict former employees are not as clear. For example, in exchange for a severance package, can employees renounce their right to receive an award from the SEC? Can a company require the employee to disclose to the company any communications the employee has with the SEC? Can an employer legitimately restrict an employee's right to share sensitive confidential information with others, including the SEC? There are no clear answers to these questions thus far, but there is little dispute that it remains an area of focus as the SEC continues its efforts to strengthen its whistleblower program.

The SEC Tells the Second Circuit that Dodd-Frank Whistleblowers Need Not File a Whistleblower Report With the SEC

On February 20, 2014 the SEC submitted an amicus brief to the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in Liu v. Siemens AG, No. 13-4385, in which the SEC pressed its view that whistleblowers need not report wrongdoing to the SEC in order for that person to be protected under the Dodd-Frank Act's whistleblower anti-retaliation provision, 15 U.S.C. §78u-6(h)(1). The Second Circuit proceedings are being closely watched because district courts have been divided on the issue for several years. The only other appellate court to consider the issue, the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, held last year in Asadi v. G.E. Energy (U.S.A.), L.L.C., 720 F.3d 620 (5th Cir. 2013), that wrongdoing had to be reported to the SEC because a different Dodd-Frank provision, 15 U.S.C. § 78u-6, unambiguously defines a "whistleblower" as someone who provides information to the SEC. See our July 19, 2013 Legal News Alert.

The SEC argued in its amicus brief that the Second Circuit should reverse because its rules interpret Dodd-Frank's anti-retaliation provision to protect any individual who engages in whistleblowing activities described in 15 U.S.C. §78u-6(h)(1), regardless of whether the individual files a report with the SEC. The SEC argued that the statute was ambiguous because, despite the definition of "whistleblower," it defines a broad array of whistleblowing activities, including "making disclosures required or protected under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002" – such as internal disclosures that do not involve filing a report with the SEC. The SEC dismissed the Asadi court's interpretation as "based on a flawed understanding of the statutory scheme."

The SEC asserted that 15 U.S.C. §78u-6(h)(1) is "best read as an implied exception to the definition of whistleblower ...." In light of this ambiguity, the SEC promulgated a rule that clarifies "[f]or purposes of the anti-retaliation protections afforded by [15 U.S.C. §78u-6(h)(1)], you are a whistleblower if ... [y]ou provide that information in a manner described in 15 U.S.C. §78u-6(h)(1)(A)." The SEC argued in its brief that its interpretation is reasonable because it resolves the statutory ambiguity and effectuates the broad anti-retaliation protections that the statute contemplates. The SEC further argued that its interpretation avoids disincentivizing individuals from reporting internally to their employers – one of the SEC's core objectives. Otherwise, individuals might be discouraged from reporting internally if doing so disqualifies those individuals from anti-retaliation protection.

Whether the Second Circuit will answer the question of whether a Dodd-Frank whistleblower must report to the SEC to gain protection is not certain. The district court did not reach the issue, dismissing the plaintiff's complaint on the grounds that the Dodd-Frank anti-retaliation provisions did not apply outside the United States. However, if the Second Circuit addresses the issues and decides it differently from the Fifth Circuit, the question of whether one must report to the SEC in order to be protected from retaliation under the Dodd-Frank whistleblower provisions may be on its way to the United States Supreme Court.

Two District Courts Grant Defendants' Motions to Arbitrate Whistleblower Employment Disputes

In Khazin v. TD Ameritrade, Civ. No. 13-4149 (D.N.J. March 11, 2014), the district court faced two questions. First, was the plaintiff a whistleblower under the Dodd-Frank Act, even though he had not reported wrongdoing to the SEC at the time he was terminated? Second, was the plaintiff required to arbitrate his employment termination claims?

On the first point, the court disagreed with the Fifth Circuit's ruling in Asadi v. G.E. Energy (U.S.A.), L.L.C., 720 F.3d 620 (5th Cir. 2013), and sided with the many district courts that have concluded that the Dodd-Frank anti-retaliation protections extend to whistleblowers protected under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act regardless of whether any disclosures were made to the SEC. Because the Dodd-Frank Act is ambiguous on the issue, the court concluded that it should look to the SEC's construction of the statute for guidance.

On the second issue, the court again faced conflicting caselaw, this time regarding whether the Dodd-Frank Act's bar of pre-dispute arbitration provisions for whistleblower claims brought pursuant to the Sarbanes-Oxley Act can be applied retroactively. Assuming that the bar applied to claims made under the Dodd-Frank Act, the court sided with those courts that have held that the pre-dispute arbitration bar does not apply retroactively.

Several weeks earlier, in Murray v. UBS Securities, LLC, Case 2:12-cv-05914 (S.D.N.Y. January 27, 2014), the court addressed head-on whether retaliation claims brought under the Dodd-Frank Act were subject to a pre-dispute arbitration bar. The court ruled that they were not because the Dodd-Frank Act amended the Sarbanes-Oxley Act to provide such a bar, but the Dodd-Frank Act itself contains no such bar. The court rejected the plaintiff's attempt to recast his claim as arising under the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, even though his Dodd-Frank Act claim was premised on making disclosures that were protected under Sarbanes-Oxley.

Federal Appeals Court Declines to Consider Extraterritorial Application of SOX Whistleblower Provision

In Villanueva v. United States Department of Labor, No. 12-60122 (5th Cir. Feb. 12, 2014), the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit affirmed the district court's dismissal of a Sarbanes-Oxley Act whistleblower case. The decision was noteworthy, however, for what was not decided – whether SOX's whistleblower provisions apply to complaints made outside of the United States.

The complainant was employed in Colombia by an affiliate of a company that is publicly-traded in the United States. He claimed he had been fired for reporting an alleged transfer-pricing scheme that allowed his employer to underreport its taxable revenue to Colombian taxing authorities. His SOX whistleblower claim was rejected by OSHA, an administrative law judge, and the Department of Labor's Administrative Review Board (ARB). In each case, the claim was rejected on the theory that §806 of SOX does not apply to a foreign worker's complaints of fraud and retaliation that occurred entirely in a foreign country.

Although the company and the Department of Labor argued to the Fifth Circuit that the ARB had correctly concluded that §806 of SOX did not apply extraterritorially, the court sidestepped the issue entirely. Rather, the court affirmed on the narrower ground that the complainant had not demonstrated that he had engaged in an activity protected by the statute. Specifically, the complainant had not provided information that he reasonably believed to violate one of SOX's six enumerated categories of law, which include mail fraud, wire fraud, bank fraud, securities fraud, rules and regulations of the SEC, and any other law related to fraud against shareholders. The court rejected the argument that SOX applied because the fraud had been directed by email and telephone communications originating at the defendant's offices in Houston. Rather, the court said the gist of the claim was that the company had retaliated against him for violation of Colombian tax laws.

The court's strict reading of SOX's statutory language will no doubt be seen by the whistleblower defense bar as favorable to employers. Undoubtedly, though, the most significant point of Villanueva is what was not decided. No appellate court has yet decided whether the SOX whistleblower provisions apply extraterritorially. While a few district courts and the ARB have agreed that SOX does not apply extraterritorially, employers can continue to expect employees working overseas to assert whistleblower claims, arguing that there is a sufficient nexus to the U.S. and U.S. law so as to remain viable.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Emails

From time to time Mondaq may send you emails promoting Mondaq services including new services. You may opt out of receiving such emails by clicking below.

*** If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of services offered by Mondaq you may opt out by clicking here .

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.