Multi-state employers must be attentive to increases in state
minimum wages that tend to occur annually, as some states have laws
that require annual increases based on the Consumer Price Index
(CPI) and inflation. All but one of the minimum wage
increases that will take effect on January 1, 2013 are automatic
– i.e., prompted by the CPI. Here are the states
with minimum wage changes, including changes to the minimum wage
for tipped workers (the definition of "tipped employee"
differs somewhat from state to state but generally refers to
certain restaurant and other hospitality workers):
Arizona – Minimum wage will increase from
$7.65 to $7.80 per hour. Tipped employee minimum increases from
$4.65 to $4.80.
Colorado – Minimum wage will increase
from $7.64 to $7.78 per hour. Tipped employee hourly minimum
increases from $4.62 to $4.76
Florida – Minimum wage will increase from
$7.67 to $7.79 per hour. Tipped employee minimum hourly wage
increases from $4.65 to $4.77 an hour.
Missouri – Standard minimum wage
increases from $7.25 to $7.35 an hour. Minimum wage for tipped
employees increases from $3.63 to $3.68.
Montana – Standard minimum wage increases
from $7.65 to $7.80 an hour. No tip credit is permitted by state
Ohio – Minimum wage will increase from
$7.70 to $7.85 per hour. Tipped employee minimum hourly
wage increases from $3.85 to $3.93.
Oregon - Minimum wage increases from $8.80 to
$8.95 per hour. No tip credit is permitted by state law.
Rhode Island – Minimum wage will
increases from $7.40 to $7.75 per hour under special legislation
enacted in 2012 unrelated to the CPI. Tipped employee hourly
minimum of $2.89 per hour is unchanged.
Vermont – Minimum wage will increases
from $8.46 to $8.60 per hour. Tipped employee hourly minimum
wage increases from $4.10 to $4.17.
Washington – Minimum wage will increase
from $9.04 to $9.19 per hour. No tip credit is permitted by state
As OSHA's enforcement relating to employee cell phone use gains more notoriety, it can be expected that it will have a significant collateral impact on law enforcement at all levels to address this hazard.
Seyfarth Synopsis: Employers in California: be aware and prepare for new laws increasing minimum wages and mandating overtime pay for agricultural employees; expanding the California Fair Pay Act to race and ethnicity and to address prior salary consideration; imposing new restrictions on background checks and gig economy workers; and more. Small employers will be relieved the Governor vetoed expanded unpaid parental leave, but it will likely return in future sessions.
Just when employers were becoming more comfortable with the complex and lengthy Form I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification that was issued in 2013, the federal government has decided to turn up the heat.
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).