UK: Final Amendments to the Listing Rules Following the Listing Regime Review Now Published

Last Updated: 12 March 2010
Article by Lauri-Lynn Pursall and Eric Campbell

Originally published 3 March 2010

Keywords: final amendments, Listing Rules, listing regime, review, Financial Services Authority, FSA, EU Prospective Directive

Introduction

The Listing Rules are being amended on 6 April 2010. These amendments follow the review of the structure of the UK listing regime by the Financial Services Authority (the "FSA"). The purpose of that review, which was initiated in January 2008 and included three separate consultations, has been to ensure that there is greater clarity of the regime's structure and issuers' obligations under it. The FSA is hoping that this will enable investors to make more informed investment decisions and enable issuers to have more flexibility over the route they wish to pursue to raise capital. This alert summarises some of the key changes to the Listing Rules.

Segments and categories

The Listing Rules are being amended to reflect the FSA's decision to retain the existing two-tier segments of the listing regime but to re-label them as premium and standard listings. The primary listing segment will be re-labelled as premium listing and will denote a listing with the more stringent super-equivalent standards (which exceed the requirements laid down in the EU Prospectus Directive). The secondary listing segment will be re-labelled as standard listing and will denote a listing that meets EU minimum standards. These two segments will be further sub-divided into listing categories according to the characteristics of a security and the type of issuer.

Categories for premium listings:

Categories for standard listings:

Equity shares (commercial companies)

Shares (both equity shares and non-equity shares)

Equity shares (closed-ended investment funds)

Debt and debt-like securities (including ABS, convertible securities and preference shares)

Equity shares (open-ended investment companies)

Certificates representing certain Securities

 

Securitised derivatives

 

Miscellaneous securities

The listing regime review has resulted in some adjustments to the types of securities that are eligible for inclusion in some of the listing categories. For instance:

  • a UK company can have a standard listing of its shares. This change (the only one which was introduced on 6 October 2009) is aimed at creating a level playing field for all issuers. Before that date, only overseas companies could have a secondary listing (to be re-labelled standard listing);
  • only equity shares will be eligible for the premium listing segment. Currently, equity securities are capable of having a primary listing (to be re-labelled premium listing). Apart from equity shares, equity securities also includes securities convertible into equity shares. As a result of this change, securities convertible into equity shares, preference shares and warrants will no longer be able to have a premium listing. As from 6 April 2010, these types of securities will only be able to have a standard listing, although equity shares which had a primary listing before the rule change on 6 April 2010 but which do not confer full voting rights so do not qualify for a premium listing on 6 April 2010 may retain a premium listing until 31 May 2012. Some legacy super-equivalent obligations that apply to securities convertible into equity shares, preference shares and warrants have been removed from the chapters of the Listing Rules that apply to the premium listing segment; and
  • a listed investment entity (i.e. closed-ended investment funds and open-ended investment companies) will only be able have a standard listing for a further class of equity shares if it already has and maintains a premium listing of a class of its equity shares. If an investment entity cancels its premium listing it will also have to cancel the listing of any other class of listed equity shares.

Other key changes

Other key changes to the Listing Rules that apply from 6 April 2010 include the following:

  • overseas companies with a premium listing will have to "comply or explain" against the UK Combined Code. For an overseas company that has a premium listing on 5 April 2010 this will only apply in respect of financial years beginning after 31 December 2009;
  • all listed companies with shares or GDRs listed will have to comply with the EU Company Reporting Directive (as implemented in DTR 7.2). Broadly, this will require them, among other things, to provide a corporate governance statement and to describe the main features of their internal control and risk management systems. Overseas companies need only comply with this requirement for financial years beginning after 31 December 2009;
  • overseas companies in the premium segment will have to offer pre-emption rights to their existing shareholders when they make an offer for cash unless they have received shareholder approval to disapply pre-emption rights. Overseas companies with a premium listing at the time of the rule changes will not be required to comply with this requirement until 5 April 2011, allowing them time to make any changes to their constitutional documents necessary to effect this requirement at their next AGM;
  • securities must be admitted to trading on a regulated market in order to be admitted to the Official List. The rules currently provide that listed equity securities must be admitted to trading on a market for listed securities of a recognised investment exchange (an "RIE"), but do not specify that this market must be a regulated market. The new rules will include a carve out for those securities to which LR4 (Listing Particulars for professional services market and certain other securities) applies. These securities need only be admitted to trading on an RIE market even after the rules change;
  • an issuer which is not an issuer with a premium listing of its equity shares must not describe itself or hold itself out as having a premium listing. In addition, such an issuer must not make a representation which suggests that it has a premium listing or complies or is required to comply with the requirements that apply to a premium listing; and
  • all listed issuers will need to display the segment and category to which their securities belong when making regulatory announcements.

Comment

One interesting issue to watch during 2010 and beyond will be the extent to which UK issuers opt for a standard listing for their equity shares rather than a premium listing or an AIM admission. The FSA is not expecting there to be much take up initially.

To some extent the appeal of a standard listing to a UK issuer will partly depend on its aspirations as well as investor attitude. Issuers may be concerned that if they opt for a standard listing of their shares, they will not be eligible for inclusion in the UK series of the FTSE indices.

The new rules do not contain wholesale changes to the procedure for migrating from one segment to another so we will have to wait to see the number of issuers who would opt to do this in the future.

Learn more about our Corporate & Securities and Capital Markets practices.

Visit us at www.mayerbrown.com.

Mayer Brown is a global legal services organization comprising legal practices that are separate entities ("Mayer Brown Practices"). The Mayer Brown Practices are: Mayer Brown LLP, a limited liability partnership established in the United States; Mayer Brown International LLP, a limited liability partnership incorporated in England and Wales; and JSM, a Hong Kong partnership, and its associated entities in Asia. The Mayer Brown Practices are known as Mayer Brown JSM in Asia.

This Mayer Brown article provides information and comments on legal issues and developments of interest. The foregoing is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject matter covered and is not intended to provide legal advice. Readers should seek specific legal advice before taking any action with respect to the matters discussed herein.

Copyright 2010. Mayer Brown LLP, Mayer Brown International LLP, and/or JSM. All rights reserved.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.