UK: Deloitte Preview of Autumn Statement 2014

Last Updated: 3 December 2014
Article by Bill Dodwell

Most Read Contributor in UK, August 2017

Bill Dodwell, head of tax policy at Deloitte, considers what tax measures the Chancellor is expected to focus upon in the Autumn Statement on 3rd December.

Bill Dodwell comments: "Chancellor George Osborne will deliver the final Autumn Statement of this parliament. We expect that most of the announcements will concentrate on the outcomes from proposals launched at earlier Budgets, together with some technical changes. There will also be the first consultation on how the UK should implement the initial proposals from the OECD on international corporate tax – the Base Erosion and Profit Shifting project." Ian Stewart, chief economist at Deloitte, said: "This year's Autumn Statement will include modest upgrades to the Office of Budget Responsibilities forecasts for GDP growth in 2014 and 2015. While the pace of year on year growth is set to slow, we see the OBR forecasting a respectable rate of about 2.5% for 2015, slightly higher than its 2.3% forecast made in March. Sharp declines in inflation over the summer suggest that the OBR may well downgrade its forecast for inflation in 2015 below the Bank of England's 2.0% target. The OBR is also likely to forecast that 2015 will see the first significant growth in real earnings in more than seven years."  

Personal taxation - Changes to property taxation
On 27 November, the Government published its response to the Consultation into extending the Capital Gains Tax (CGT) charge on UK residential property to non UK-residents. It confirmed that the new CGT charge on non-residents will start on 6 April 2015. Properties will be revalued to market value at 5 April 2015 with an election for time apportionment or original cost – so initially the new charge will raise very little as it will tax only the property growth from April 2015.

The government has come up with a neat answer to the problem of allowing taxpayers to elect which of two residences should be exempt from capital gains tax. Under the current rules it is possible for an individual with more than one residence to elect which should benefit from the Principal Private Residence exemption (PPR).

The original consultation considered abolishing PPR elections and using a facts-based approach to determine which property should be treated as the exempt one.

This would have been unfair to UK residents, as well as administratively complex for HMRC and taxpayers.

The government accepts this and will retain the election. However, it now proposes that those who have a property in a different country from their country of residence will need to stay at the property for at least 90 days a year to qualify for the exemption. This will apply to UK residents with homes abroad as well as to non-residents with homes in the UK. Occupation by the individual's spouse or civil partner will count towards this total.

Therefore for UK residents whose residences are only in the UK, the current position appears to have been preserved. However, where the residence is not in the same jurisdiction as the taxpayer, the taxpayer will need to satisfy the 90 day rule in respect of the overseas home to qualify for relief. Overseas tax may also apply. For non-UK residents who own a residence in the UK, satisfying the 90 day test for the UK property may have wider consequences with regard to residence status, as the number of days spent in the UK are a key test for residence.

Personal taxation - trusts and inheritance tax (IHT)
We expect to see draft legislation following the latest Government consultation on simplifying the calculation of IHT charges on relevant property trusts. This is the third such consultation – rather demonstrating that the goal of simplification is hard to reach. The changes will affect those with multiple trusts and are likely to result in extra tax being levied on trusts set up after June 2014.

We do not expect any changes in the wider inheritance tax regime, so the exempt allowance will remain unchanged at £325,000.

Personal taxation - rates and allowances
We already know the personal allowance and higher rate threshold for 2015/16 as these were announced in the Budget earlier this year.

The personal allowance will rise from £10,000 to £10,500 from 2015/16 and the higher rate threshold will increase by 1% for 2015/16 from £41,865 to £42,285, giving a basic rate tax band of £31,785 in 2015/16. These changes will save basic rate taxpayers £100 in 2015/16 and higher rate taxpayers £184. Higher rate taxpayers will receive some benefit from the personal allowance increase; in some previous years this has not been the case.

Those with income of more than £120,000 will actually have a slightly higher tax liability, as they do not receive a personal allowance and the basic rate band of income has been reduced.

The savings rate of tax, which has previously stood at 10% for income of up to £2,880 has been replaced with a 0% rate. This will apply from 2015/16 to savings income of up to £5,000 (instead of the expected 1% increase). However, this rate will only affect people on low incomes as non-savings income is taxed as the lowest slice of income and does not attract the 10% band. Hence, only those whose non-savings income is less than £15,500 (in 2015/16) will benefit from this change. The main group likely to benefit are pensioners.

The primary earnings threshold for national insurance for 2015/16 has not yet been announced. At present this remains some way apart from the personal allowance at £7,956, so people whose earnings are between £7,956 and £10,500 will continue to have a national insurance liability, despite paying no income tax.

Personal taxation - transferable personal allowance
The new transferable personal allowance starts in 2015/16 – and is worth up to £210pa. Couples where both are basic rate taxpayers will benefit, where one spouse has income below the personal allowance. Up to 10% (initially £1,050) of the allowance can be transferred. The recipient spouse receives a tax reduction of 20% of the allowance, (£210), rather than an additional allowance of £1,050, which means it may be beneficial to transfer some or all of the personal allowance where the transferor is paying 10% tax (e.g. on dividend income or where the starting rate on savings income applies). Taxpayers who are not domiciled in the UK and who have elected for the remittance basis to apply would not be able to benefit from this measure, and non-UK resident individuals will only be able to benefit if their worldwide income is less than the personal allowance due (even if all this income is not taxable in the UK).

Personal taxation - possible withdrawal of personal allowances for non-residents
The government initiated consultation in the summer on whether non UK residents should no longer be eligible for a personal allowance in taxing their UK source income unless they have a strong economic connection to the UK, possibly to be demonstrated through a comparison of UK income to worldwide income.

Granting the personal allowance to non UK-residents is estimated to cost some £400m annually. However the potential savings from the measure are thought to be modest. It is thought that removing the allowance in its entirety would be contrary to European law as well as damaging to the UK's international competitiveness. It would also result in increasing complexity and administration particularly if employers would need to establish whether a personal allowance is available in operating PAYE.

International taxation - consultation on hybrid mismatches
The UK is one of the leading countries supporting the G20's Base Erosion and Profit Shifting project, being conducted by the OECD. One of the first proposals is that countries should enact domestic laws to remove the saving currently available from hybrid mismatches. These are typically arrangements which can give a multinational a tax deduction in one country without taxing equivalent income in another. The OECD continues to work on the detail of proposed counter-action but both the Chancellor and the Chief Secretary announced that consultation on aspects of the changes would be introduced at the Autumn Statement. We think it is unlikely that legislation would be introduced before 2016 due to the need to coordinate the plans with other G20 and OECD countries.

International taxation - transfer pricing documentation
Another OECD proposal is that multinationals should prepare enhanced transfer pricing documentation to help tax administrations focus enquires on areas of higher risk. The Government committed to introduce the OECD recommendations and it is possible that we could see a consultation on detailed aspects. Again, the OECD and G20 continue to work on this area and an agreement is not expected until 2015.

Business taxation - North Sea's fiscal regime
It is widely expected the Chancellor will provide a road map for future tax changes arising from its review of the North Sea's fiscal regime, following the industry consultation which closed in October. A recent Deloitte survey found that the oil and gas industry thinks the UK Continental Shelf (UKCS) has a high level of taxation and an unpredictable, as well as unnecessarily complex fiscal regime.

The industry wants a predictable regime that is appropriate for a mature oil & gas basin, but this is a tall order for any fiscal review, particularly with recent falls in the oil and gas prices. This could be the last chance to get the regime right, if the objectives of the Wood review, Maximising Economic Recovery for the UKCS, are to be achieved. Success could mean restoring investor confidence and international competitiveness, but failure could lead to accelerated decline and early decommissioning of assets, reduced energy security, lost tax revenues and further jobs cuts.

Business taxation - loan relationships
We expect more technical changes to be announced on the UK's rules for loans and financial contracts as part of the modernisation of the rules and to reflect forthcoming accounting changes.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.