UK: Deloitte Preview Of Budget 2014

Last Updated: 19 March 2014
Article by Bill Dodwell

Most Read Contributor in UK, August 2017

Bill Dodwell, head of tax policy at Deloitte, considers what tax measures the Chancellor is expected to focus upon in the Budget on 19th March, and what we already know is in Finance Bill 2014:

"Former Chancellor Lord Lawson of Blaby has often said that Budget secrecy is essential for delivering tax reform. However, the politics of coalition have often meant that tax policy debates have played out in public. Judged by Lord Lawson's standard either we are facing significant tax reform - or the coalition considers it has delivered its main tax policy objectives and further reform must await the 2015 general election.

"The new approach to tax policy making means that much more notice is given of potential tax and national insurance changes - so many new measures are in the pipeline. Some of those have already been legislated; others await fleshing out and consultation.

"However, speaking in Hong Kong in February the Chancellor said "I want to deliver a Budget that supports a Britain that invests and that exports." Could we see new tax announcements to reflect that ambition?"

What could the Chancellor announce?

Business - infrastructure relief

The UK has a pressing need to invest in infrastructure - but some infrastructure costs are not eligible for any form of tax relief. Introducing an allowance for capital costs would be a welcome reform and would help support vital capital investment.

Business rates

We do not expect any significant announcements on business rates - although actually setting up the wider review hinted at by the Prime Minister and Chancellor would be welcome. Business rates raise £27 billion - some 4.5% of total tax receipts.

Individuals - non-resident capital gains tax

At the Autumn Statement, the Chancellor announced that measures would take effect from April 2015 to levy capital gains tax on non-resident individuals disposing of UK residential property. This follows the earlier introduction of a charge on non-UK resident companies, or certain other non-natural persons, disposing of UK residential property worth more than £2m. The change will affect disposals of all UK residential property by non-UK resident individuals and disposals of enveloped properties where the property is worth less than £2m (since gains on disposal of enveloped properties worth more than £2m are already subject to CGT). It is not clear whether this includes disposals by trustees or personal representatives, though this may be the case. These changes will apply from 6 April 2015.

Designing the proposals is not easy and we expect details and a consultation to be released at the Budget.

Individuals - increasing thresholds and allowances?

The personal allowance rises to £10,000 from 6 April 2014, achieving the coalition's target a year early. The allowance is set to increase by the CPI from 2015/16 onwards. It seems highly unlikely that an increased personal allowance will be announced in this year's Budget for 2015/16, even though some parties consider this a political objective.

At the same time, there has been rapid growth in the number of higher rate taxpayers, as the threshold has been reduced, or increased by less than inflation.

Dodwell adds: "Increasing the higher rate threshold above the level previously announced could halt the rapid increase in the numbers of those paying higher rate tax (expected to be 20% of taxpayers by 2016/17). However this would come at a cost - simply indexing the threshold by CPI would cost £3.4 billion over the next four years."

Tax Simplification

The Office of Tax Simplification has been carrying out reviews into various aspects of taxation, including employee benefits and expenses as well as partnerships. The Chancellor is expected to respond in the Budget to the OTS' reports.

Consultations - the final legislation?

Social investment tax relief

The Chancellor has previously announced a new relief for individuals investing in social enterprises and will announce the rate of the relief at the Budget - expected to be between 30-50%.

Equity and certain debt investments into social organisations will qualify for a 30% tax credit. This will apply to investments up to a maximum of £1m. The launch of a new social investment tax relief will also allow companies that work for the social good to raise money without issuing shares. The new relief will be modelled on the Enterprise Investment Scheme (EIS), though there will be some differences between the reliefs. The challenge will be the complicated nature of the relief and this may cause some social enterprises to be put off taking advantage of the relief.

Pensions

The reduction in the lifetime allowance to £1.25m has already been announced. The legislation covering Individual Protection 2014 has been under consultation and the proposed final version is expected in the Finance Bill.

Principal private residence changes

The Autumn Statement included details of the proposed reduction in the PPR relief from CGT on disposal of an individual's main residence. Where a house has been a main residence at some time during the period of ownership, the proportion of the gain relating to that period is exempt from CGT on sale. Whether or not the house is occupied as a residence in the final three years, the gain relating to that period is also exempt from CGT. This three year period is to be reduced to 18 months from 6 April 2014. It is hoped that the slow housing market currently experienced in some areas does not mean unforeseen tax charges in some cases, although some 'protected groups' (i.e. disabled people and those moving to a care home) will be exempt from the change.

Tax payments following litigation of tax avoidance schemes

Participants in tax avoidance schemes which have been successfully litigated against by HMRC in representative cases will face new penalties should they choose to pursue and lose their own court cases. As a further deterrent, participants in tax avoidance schemes which have been overturned in the courts will be issued with notices to pay the tax, penalties and interest due to remove the cash flow advantage of holding these funds pending the final outcome of litigation. A similar notice to pay may be given against taxpayers who have entered into tax schemes disclosed under the Disclosure of Tax Avoidance Schemes (DOTAS) rules or schemes where HMRC contend that the General Anti-Abuse Rule (GAAR) should apply.

Partnerships

Substantial changes will be made to the taxation of partnerships and partners from 6 April 2014. The final proposals are expected in the Finance Bill 2014.

The new rules will impact partnerships which use a corporate partner to hold working capital (such as partnerships which have received external investment) and also partnerships with salaried partners.

Inheritance tax and trusts (IHT)

The Government previously consulted on changing how IHT charges which are payable by relevant property trusts (such as discretionary trusts and most trusts established since 22 March 2006) should be calculated by applying a flat 6% rate of IHT to the value of trust property in excess of the available nil rate band every ten years, with a pro-rata charge applying where property is distributed from trusts.

These changes could have a significant impact on the IHT payable by existing trusts and no grandfathering provisions were proposed in the previous consultation. At the Autumn Statement it was announced that the majority of the changes would be deferred until April 2015, pending further consultation. The latest round of consultation is expected to be announced in Budget 2014.

Oil and gas offshore chartering and rig leasing

The Government announced at the Autumn Statement that it will consult with industry on legislation to cap the amount allowed as a deduction from profits for companies operating in the UK Continental Shelf. The stated policy objective is "to prevent companies who lease rigs and equipment to oil and gas operators from using associate companies in tax havens to minimise their UK tax bill".

Legislation will also be introduced to provide a new form of ring fence applicable to the 'composite activity', which is the subject of this measure. Whilst profits within this ring fence will only be taxed at standard corporate tax rates (and not the higher rates which apply to oil producers), those profits will no longer be able to be reduced by other tax reliefs derived from activity outside the UK Continental Shelf.

Rates and allowances taking effect from April 2014:

Corporation tax
The Coalition Government's latest cut in the main rate of corporation tax takes effect from 1 April 2014, when the rate drops from 23% to 21%. The rate will drop further to 20% from 1 April 2015. The main rate of corporation tax applies to companies (or groups of companies) with profits above £1.5 million. The small profits rate remains unchanged at 20%.

Rates and allowances

The personal allowance for 2014/15 will be £10,000 (up from £9,440). This means a tax saving for basic rate taxpayers of £112 and for higher rate taxpayers of £195.

The higher rate threshold will increase by 1%, from £41,450 to £41,865 - unlike in some previous years when the threshold has been reduced to focus the benefit towards basic rate taxpayers. However, increasing the threshold by less than inflation is likely to mean that more people will be drawn into the higher rate net. Those with incomes over £100,000 see the benefit of the allowance withdrawn.

2015 measures

Transferable personal allowances

Transferable personal allowances will be introduced from 6 April 2015, when it will be possible for up to £1,000 of an individual's personal allowance to be transferred to his or her spouse or civil partner, provided neither spouse or civil partner is a higher or additional rate taxpayer.

Childcare

A new system for offering tax relief on childcare will take effect in 2015.

Removal of employer NIC for under 25-year-old employees

This new exemption to encourage employers to engage those under 25 is due to commence in April 2015.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.