UK: Enlargement of the European Union and the Community Trade Mark

Last Updated: 21 July 2003
Article by Lee Curtis

The European Union will expand from fifteen states to twenty five states on 1st May 2004. The expansion of the EU will have a considerable impact on the Community Trade Mark system. This update is an attempt to give you brief overview of the major changes that will affect CTM system as a result of expansion of the EU.

Member states of the European Union

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Italy