UK: Consultation Published On Northern Ireland Renewables Obligation (NIRO) Banding Review

Last Updated: 31 October 2011
Article by Michelle T. Davies

Northern Irish Department for Enterprise Trade and Investment (DETI) have published the NIRO Banding Consultation. The consultation sets out the proposed levels of support for generating stations from 2013-17 under the NIRO. The consultation broadly follows the proposals which were announced by the Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) for England and Wales and demonstrates the Northern Irish Executive's ongoing support of renewable energy technologies and its commitment to the challenging target to achieve 40% of Northern Ireland's electricity consumption from renewable sources by 2020.

The full list of the proposed bandings can be found by clicking here and the full consultation document is available by clicking here.

Please note the following key proposals:

  • CHP Uplift: Like the DECC, the DETI proposal is to end the CHP uplift under the RO for generating stations accredited after 1 April 2015. Support will then be under a combination of the RHI for the heat element and under the RO for the electricity element. The proposal is that new generating stations accredited between 1 April 2013 and 1 April 2015 will have a one-off choice to opt for support under the CHP uplift in the RO or under the Northern Ireland RHI. The NI Executive is specifically asking whether stakeholders agree with these transition arrangements.
  • Solar support increased: The DETI propose to increase the ROC level for Solar PV installations up to 10kW from the current 4 NIROC/MWh to 5 NIROC/MWh. The DETI believe this uplift will provide sufficient incentivisation for the domestic and community sector without impacting on overall NIROC costs. They also propose to retain the current NIROC levels of 4 NIROC/MWh for stations between 10kW and 50kW and 2 NIROC/MWh for stations above 50kW up to 5MW. These proposals differ from those of DECC under which solar support was reduced. In setting the higher level of NIROCS for PV they are mindful of the situation in Great Britain and if costs do fall significantly and deployment looks likely to exceed expectations the support rates will be considered. Above 5MW they propose to remain consistent with DECC and set support for Solar PV at 2 NIROCs/MWh stepping down to 1.9 NIROCs in 2015/16 and 1.8 NIROCs in 2016/17.
  • Landfill gas: DETI propose to retain the 1 NIROC/MWh for landfill gas until March 2015 after which support for this technology will cease in line with the other Renewable Obligations in England and Wales and Scotland. Unlike the rest of the UK, where generation capacity of in respect of landfill gas is expected to reduce by more than half over the next 10 to 15 years as there is no further significant deployment potential, the position in Northern Ireland is different. In addition to the 6 stations already accredited there are another potential 11 sites with a combined capacity of approximately 8MW.
  • Increased support for marine and tidal technology: the proposal is to offer support at 5 NIROC/MWh for wave and tidal technologies up to 30MW per generating station. This can only be claimed by projects that are operational before 1 April 2017, and the DETI believe that "this approach will help us to achieve the acceleration that the sector requires".
  • AD/Hydro/onshore wind:There is no small scale Feed-In Tariff in Northern Ireland so these technologies receive multiple NIROCS to give an equivalent level of support to the Great Britain FIT. They are proposing no change to the current bands up to 5MW. Above 5MW their proposals are the same as those proposed by DECC, with onshore wind going to 0.9 NIROC/MWh, hydro to 0.5 NIROC/MWh, and AD staying at 2 NIROC/MWh stepping down to 1.9 NIROC/MWh in 2015/16 and 1.8 NIROC/MWh in 2016/17.
  • New Biomass Support: The DETI have followed the DECC proposals with the introduction of two new bands for biomass; Biomass Conversion and Enhanced Co-firing. Both of the new bands are proposed to receive support of 1 NIROC/MWh from 1 April 2013. Enhanced Co-firing generating stations must use at least 15% biomass in any one month. There is also a proposal to remove the current 12.5% co-firing cap completely from 1 April 2013.
  • Proposal to extend the lifetime of the NIRO from 2033 to 2037. This will bring the NIRO into line with the end dates for the Renewable Obligations in England and Wales and Scotland.
  • Consultation on Contract for Difference (CfD) FIT and small scale FIT: The paper poses a number of questions to stakeholders on a proposed approach for Northern Ireland and suggests that a FIT CfD could work in Northern Ireland and within the all island single electricity market (SEM). A key factor in any final decision seems to be securing a commitment from the Coalition Government that any replacement for the NIRO continues to have the costs socialised across all UK consumers. If Northern Ireland does introduce a FIT CfD then they will also have to introduce a small scale FIT. Their consultation asks whether Northern Ireland should introduced the FIT CfD and also a small scale FIT.

Arlene Foster, Minister of Enterprise, Trade and Investment notes that "The purpose of the Review is to ensure that incentive levels reflect changes in technology costs and deployment over time; that they are set as cost-effectively as possible and that they help both to bring forward renewable technologies at the capacity needed to achieve our renewable energy target, while delivering value for money for consumers."

The closing date for written responses to the consultation paper is 19 January 2012. Following the closing date, all responses will be analysed and considered along with any other available evidence to help reach a final position on the proposals identified in the consultation.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.