South Africa: ENS Budget Review - 2013 Budget Highlights

Last Updated: 4 March 2013
Article by ENS Tax Department

Most Read Contributor in South Africa, September 2016


The 2013 budget read by the Minister of Finance on 27th February 2013 contains relatively fewer tax proposals than prior years. However, some of the proposals are quite far reaching particularly relating to Trusts and Corporate gearing. In this brief analysis we highlight some of the key proposals for tax law changes.

Corporate Tax

  • There is no change proposed to the current rates of corporate tax or dividend tax.

  • Gearing continues to receive detailed attention and three measures are proposed to preclude debt eroding the tax base in certain circumstances namely:

    • re-characterisation of debt instruments as shares in certain circumstances, particularly where they do not have a realistic possibility of being repaid in 30 years, or if convertible into shares at the request of the issuer;

    • excessive debt issued to connected persons if the creditor is exempt from tax on the interest; and

    • acquisition debt used in corporate restructuring  (currently regulated by a discretionary regime (section 23K)) it is proposed to replace this with a new regime where interest on “excessive debt” will be allowed to roll over for up to 5 years.

  • Certain tax incentives are proposed to be established in certain special economic zones including:

    • a 15% corporate tax rate;

    • an employment incentive for workers earning less than R60,000 per annum;

    • an accelerated depreciation allowance for buildings similar to the UDZ program.

  • Donations in excess of 10% of taxable income given to PBO’s in certain areas are to be allowed to be rolled over as allowable deductions in subsequent years. 

  • Attention will be given to the rules dealing with share cross issues. Recognition has been given to the fact that there are difficulties with the current anti-avoidance legislation.

  • Further attention will be given to the mark to market taxation regime which was introduced in 2012, but the implementation of which was deferred. Further refinements will include extending the covered persons and rules to prevent artificial losses from dividend transactions, amongst others.

  • The securities tax exemption for certain financial intermediaries is to be extended to maintain a level playing field.

  • The cost price of trading stock will in future automatically conform to the IFRS valuation without the need for SARS approval.

  • The criteria for eligibility for the research and development incentive are to be adjusted to eliminate alleged misuse.

  • Dividend cessions and manufactured dividends continue to receive attention. Under consideration is a single unified treatment both for dividend cessions and manufactured dividends and anti-avoidance rules to eliminate shifting of income from taxable to exempt parties.

  • Corporate restructuring will continue to receive attention both in relation to on-shore and off-shore reorganisations.

Individuals and employment

The following individual and employees’ tax points are of interest:

  • The top marginal rate for individual taxpayers has remained at 40%.

  • Fringe benefits tax relief is to be provided where low-cost employer provided housing is transferred to employees at below market value.

  • Medical tax credits will increase marginally and in line with annual adjustments.

  • Monetary thresholds for exempt bursaries given to employees’ relatives will be increased.

  • Individuals whose taxable income is from one employer and is below R250 000 a year are not required to submit income tax returns.

  • Tax-preferred savings and investment accounts will be implemented by April 2015. Returns and withdrawals from these accounts will be exempt from tax. The account will have an initial contribution limit of R30 000 and a lifetime limit of 500 000. These limits will allow for inflationary adjustments.

  • The deductibility of contributions to pension, retirement annuity and provident funds and employer contributions that constitute fringe benefits is set at 27.5% of the greater of remuneration or taxable income, subject to an annual cap of R350 000.

  • Contributions to provident funds will be tax deductible, with a view to harmonise the tax treatment of contributions to pension, retirement annuity and provident funds. Future contributions to provident funds will also be subject to the same annuitisation requirements as are applicable to pension and provident funds.

  • A youth employment tax inventive as well as a tax incentive for employees in special economic zones will be introduced.

  • Some further relief on donations to Public Benefit Organisations is proposed.

  • A special dispensation is proposed to address possible instances of double taxation in share schemes and the deductibility of employer contributions to fund these schemes will be examined.

  • All non-retirement fund disability and income protection policies  - regardless of whether they compensate employees for the loss of future income or the loss of personal capital will be uniformly treated for tax purposes, i.e. contributions will not be deductible for tax purposes, but payouts will be exempt from tax.

Taxation of Trusts

Important measures are proposed dealing with the income tax and (in due course) estate duty treatment of trusts. These include the following:

  • Discretionary trusts will no longer act as flow through vehicles and instead will be taxed at a trust level (ie as an entity) with distributions acting as deductible payments to the extent of current taxable income. Tax free distributions to beneficiaries will be allowed except where they give rise to deductible payments (i.e. there appears to be a symmetry principle).

  • Trading trusts will also be taxable at the entity level with distributions being deductible to the extent of current taxable income. A trading trust according to the proposal will be one which either conducts a trade or one in which beneficial ownership is freely transferable by beneficiaries.

  • Distributions from “offshore foundations” will be treated as ordinary revenue.

  • Concern was expressed regarding the use of trusts to avoid estate duty (which is a long standing issue), but no further details were provided. The concern is surprising given indicators in previous years that estate duty was on the way out.


  • The real estate investment trust (REIT) tax regime is to be extended.

    •  Currently a REIT is a listed company or trust that invests in immovable property, receives income from rental and distributes it to investors. A REIT may deduct such distributions if it resides in South Africa and if at least 75% of its gross income is rental income.

    • It is proposed to extend this regime to unlisted REITs once they are subject to similar regulation to listed REITs. This will be phased in initially to wholly owned entities of private and government pension funds and of long term insurers.

    • REIT tax relief will also be extended to other real estate entities if they become subject to property syndication regulation.

  • The current regime for tax depreciation of immovable property is to be extended to include property which is within the “possession and use” of the taxpayer (eg leasehold improvement) so that the ownership requirement will be eliminated.

  • A tax incentive is under consideration for construction of new housing stock for sale below R300,000.00 per dwelling.

Hedge Funds

These will fall under collective investment scheme legislation and be regulated accordingly. They will be taxed similarly to other collective investments schemes and unit holders will be required to treat their earnings as ordinary revenue when realised. A similar regime is being considered for interest income funds.

International/cross border tax and Excon

  • It is proposed that the cross border withholding regime on interest and royalties be extended to cross border service fees (subject to treaty relief). All three sets of withholding regimes namely interest, royalties (which are currently subject to withholding) and service fees will become effective from 1 March 2014.

  • The deduction of expenditure based on an accrual will be deferred until actual payment, in the case of a cross border payment between connected persons.

  • Anomalies continue to receive consideration including:

    • Complexities associated with the calculation of the acceptably taxed exemption.

    • The threshold for the participation exemption.

    • Transfer pricing requirements in management activities for the benefit of foreign branches.

    • Headquarter company relief to be refined to make it more effective and easier to understand.

  • Listed South African multi-nationals will be allowed to treat a single local subsidiary as a non-resident company for exchange control purposes so that treasury operations can remain within South Africa rather than offshore. In addition these entities may use their foreign functional currency rather than rand as the starting point for tax calculation.

  • In relation to controlled foreign company activities the imputation system will be clarified further. Issues mentioned include:

    • Active offshore research and development activities.

    • International shipping activities.

    • International pipelines.

    • Commodity hedges associated with active operations.

    • Intra-controlled foreign company insurance premiums.

  • The exemption from tax on a foreign source of income if subject to foreign tax will be removed in relation to initial copyright authors.

  • Currency taxation rules are to be simplified in favour of a “more practical approach”. A longer term shift is being considered towards an IFRS based approach.

Indirect Taxes

Carbon tax

  • A carbon tax of R120 per ton of CO2 will be imposed from 1 January 2015 increasing by 10% per annum.

  • The tax for passenger vehicles will increase to R90 for every gram/km emissions in excess of 120 gCO2/km and for double cab vehicles to R125 for every gram/km in excess of 175 gCO2/km, effective from 1 April 2013.

  • The certified emission reductions tax incentive is extend to 31 December 2020.

Transfer duty

No changes are proposed to transfer duty.

Fuel levies

  • The general fuel levy on petrol & diesel will increase by 22.5c/l from 3 April 2012 and the Road Accident Fund levy will increase by 8c/l.

  • The general fuel levy already includes a new multiproduct pipeline levy (7.5c/l) that will be phased out on 2 April 2013. The net increase in the general fuel levy on 3 April 2013 will therefore be only 15c/l and not the full 22.5c/l. The demandside levy on 95 octane petrol sold inland will be increased later this year.

Biofuels production incentive

The cost of the incentive will be 3.5c/l to 4c/l of petrol or diesel, recovered through a levy included in the monthly price determination.

Plastic bag and incandescent light bulb levies

The plastic bag levy increases from 4c to 6c per bag from 1 April 2013 and the levy on incandescent light bulbs from R3 to R4 from 1 April 2013.


  • The VAT rate remains unchanged at 14%.

  • The following VAT legislation amendments are proposed:

    • All foreign businesses supplying e-books, music and other digital goods or services in South Africa will be required to register for VAT in South Africa.

  • Other proposed VAT amendments that are under consideration include:

    • The VAT treatment of the surrender of goods under the National Credit Act will be brought in line with that of the repossession of goods under an instalment credit agreement.

    • The special time of supply rules between connected persons where the input and output tax is accounted for in the same tax period will be reviewed.

    • Where tax invoices are issued in foreign currency, it is proposed that the supplier uses the rate of conversion agreed between the parties, or if no rate was agreed, the spot rate on the date of the supply.

    • A potential mismatch between the output tax and input tax treatment on conversion of a share block scheme to sectional title will be removed.

    • A home owners association will be treated the same for VAT as a sectional title body corporate.

    • VAT relief will be provided for goods destroyed, damaged or abandoned on the same basis as that provided under the Customs Act for these goods when they are entered for home consumption; and

    • The VAT treatment of all pooling arrangements will be reviewed.       

  • A national gambling tax at the rate of 1% of gross gambling revenue will be implemented by the close of 2013 (in addition to provincial rates).   

  • The following research projects will also be undertaken:

    • a review of the VAT treatment of financial services and VAT apportionment within the financial sector; and

    • a re-evaluation of the application of the default turnover based method of apportionment for the non-financial sector.


An exemption will be introduced for mining de-watering associations which restore water levels adversely impacted by mining in a manner similar to a mining rehabilitation fund. This is under consideration.

Excise duties on tobacco and alcohol

  • The excise duties on tobacco products, wine, clear beer and spirits are determined in accordance with a targeted total tax burden (excise duties plus VAT) of 52, 23, 35, and 48 per cent respectively. 

  • The excise duties on tobacco products will increase by between 5.8 and 10 per cent, and on alcoholic beverages by between 5.7 and 10 per cent.

Excise duties of fruit fermented beverages

  • The structure of tariff heading 22.06 has been amended to align the excise duty provisions for fruit fermented beverages with the requirements of the Liquor Products Act (1989). As a result, only products that are predominantly fruit fermented will be distinctly classified in this beverage category.

  • Fermented products that are not mainly derived from fruit will be included in the band for beverages that uses the highest excise rate that will be increased to the highest spirits rate in Budget 2014 to allow manufacturers time to comply.

Ad valorem excise duties

Video recorders with eight or more input channels and a value for duty purposes exceeding R13 000, will be exempted from ad valorem excise duties with effect from 1 April 2013

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.