The European Parliament approved the disposal of the Schengen Visa for Peruvians and Colombians with the effect that citizens of Colombia and Peru can now travel freely through the Schengen zone of 22 EU and four non-EU countries.  A three month tourist visa will be granted upon arrival at the port of destination.

The news has been greatly welcomed by the numerous Colombian and Peruvian communities in Italy and Spain whose relatives can now visit without to the need to book an appointment at the Italian or Spanish Consulate, submit documentation and then wait for the visa approval or denial – a time consuming, expensive and rather stressful process.

With Peru and Colombia on an upward climb in terms of economic growth, these new immigration rules will allow the promotion of a beneficial relationship and strengthening of commercial ties between all the partners.

The new system is expected to be fully implemented by January 2016.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.