China: 2009 Year-In-Review: Antidumping And Subsidy Actions Affecting Chinese Products

Copyright 2009, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Originally published in Blakes Bulletin on International Trade & Investment–China Focus, December 2009


In 2009, the People's Republic of China (PRC) continued to be a focus of Canadian manufacturers who complain that Chinese exporters are selling "dumped" or "subsidized" goods into Canada, thereby causing "material injury" to Canada's domestic industries. This article discusses a number of the actions involving Chinese exports which were initiated or concluded in Canada over the course of the year.

Chinese exporters may want to remain mindful of the duties that have been imposed on certain exports from the PRC because these additional duties can significantly add to the costs of doing business in Canada. Moreover, Chinese exporters should be conscious of the possibility that they, too, may find themselves subject to such investigations in the future. In order to avoid the imposition of additional duties, exporters should first take care to ensure that they do not dump products into Canada and, second, in the event that an investigation is initiated, consideration should be given to full participation in the process.

Aluminum Extrusions

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) initiated its dumping and subsidy investigation on August 18, 2008 and the investigation was finally concluded in 2009. In its final determination, the CBSA determined that the estimated overall weighted average margin of dumping was 72.6%. The CBSA made its determination based on section 20 of the Special Import Measures Act (SIMA). The margin of dumping assigned to non-co-operative exporters was 101% of the export price. Moreover, the CBSA found that subject goods benefited from subsidies which were found to be on average equal to 47% of the export price of the goods. On March 17, 2009, the Canadian International Trade Tribunal (CITT) concluded that these dumped and subsidized goods caused material injury to the domestic industry. Accordingly, antidumping and countervailing duties were imposed although the CITT did grant a number of the 119 product exclusion requests made.

Subsection 45(1) of the SIMA provides that the CITT shall, on its own initiative or on the request of an interested person, initiate a public interest inquiry if it is of the opinion that there are reasonable grounds to consider that the imposition of antidumping and countervailing duties, or the imposition of such duties in the full amount, would not or might not be in the public interest. The CITT received such requests for a public interest inquiry; however, the CITT ultimately found that there were no reasonable grounds to consider that the imposition of antidumping and countervailing duties would not or might not be in the public interest. Accordingly, in a decision released on June 30, 2009, the CITT decided not to initiate a public interest inquiry into the matter.

Subsection 76.01(1) of the SIMA provides that the CITT may conduct an interim review of a finding or order and that such an interim review may concern the whole finding or order, or any aspect of it. The onus is on the requester to establish that an interim review is warranted. The CITT received a request as early as June 9, 2009 for an interim review of the CITT's finding issued just a few months earlier. The requester sought to have excluded from the scope of the finding certain extruded aluminum shapes used solely as components in the requester's proprietary lines of shower enclosures. In an order issued on July 24, 2009, the CITT decided not to conduct an interim review of its findings.

Waterproof (Rubber) Footwear

The CBSA initiated an investigation into the alleged dumping of waterproof (rubber) footwear from the PRC (and Vietnam) on February 27, 2009. In its final determination, the CBSA determined that the estimated overall weighted average margin of dumping was 36.6%. In this case, the "normal value" (one of the components of the margin of dumping) could not be based on the domestic selling prices of like goods in the PRC pursuant to section 15 of the SIMA, because all exporters sampled are export-oriented firms which do not sell the goods in their domestic market. Instead, the CBSA calculated a "constructed normal value" pursuant to section 19(b) of the SIMA on the basis of the aggregate of the cost of production of the goods, a reasonable amount for administrative, selling and other costs, and a reasonable amount for profits. The margin of dumping assigned to goods shipped by exporters who were sampled but who failed to co-operate was 43.8% of the export price.

Those exporters who were not sampled were assigned a margin of dumping of 11.8% of the export price. On October 13, 2009, the CITT issued its finding that the subject waterproof footwear had not caused, nor threatened to cause, material injury to the Canadian industry. As a result, the provisional duties assessed by the CBSA ceased to apply and no further duties would be collected in future. Central to the "no injury" finding was the CITT's view that despite an increase in imports of the subject goods from 2007 to 2008, the domestic industry was able to increase its production, sales and market share despite the removal, in 2007, of antidumping duties on a large portion of the subject goods. With respect to its "no future injury" finding, the CITT's view was that the co-existence of complementary imported and domestically produced waterproof footwear offerings largely responds to different market needs, which is consonant with retailers' desire to offer a wide range of products and price points to their customers and therefore the evidence did not support an imminent future threat of injury.

Wood Slats

The CITT had made its material injury finding concerning imported wood slats from the PRC (as well as from Mexico) on June 18, 2004. An expiry review of the finding was initiated by the CITT on November 7, 2008 and was concluded on July 15, 2009. On March 6, 2009, the CBSA determined that expiry of duties would likely result in the continuation or resumption of dumping of the subject goods by exporters from the PRC. Following a public hearing by the CITT to consider the issue of whether the resumption of dumping would likely result in injury or retardation to the Canadian industry, the CITT decided to renew the finding for an additional period of five years. The CITT was influenced, in part, by the current economic conditions where producers in the subject countries have increasing overcapacity to use and a greater incentive to sell.

Laminate Flooring

The CITT had made its material injury finding concerning imported laminate flooring from the PRC (as well as from France) on June 16, 2005. As part of the enforcement of the finding, in 2009 the CBSA concluded a re-investigation of normal values, and the CITT issued a notice of expiry seeking submissions on whether an expiry review of the finding was warranted. On August 11, 2009, the CITT issued Notice of Expiry No. LE-2009-001 respecting its finding on Laminate Flooring. The CITT received no submissions in support of an expiry review and a continuation of the finding. As a result, since the Canadian industry expressed no interest in having the finding continue, the CITT declined to initiate an expiry review, with the result that the original finding will expire on June 15, 2010.


The CITT had made its material injury finding concerning imported fasteners from the PRC (as well as from Chinese Taipei) on January 7, 2005. As part of its enforcement of the finding, the CBSA initiated a reinvestigation of normal values on September 15, 2008 that was concluded on February 23, 2009. As a result of representations from the parties about significant changes affecting the industry, the CBSA embarked on a new re-investigation on September 24, 2009 that is scheduled to be completed on March 24, 2010.

Meanwhile, an expiry review of the finding was initiated by the CITT on April 22, 2009 and is still ongoing. As a result of the commencement of the expiry review, the President of the CBSA initiated an investigation on April 23, 2009, to determine whether the expiry of the finding is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping and/or subsidizing of the goods. The CBSA's investigation was concluded on August 20, 2009. The President of the CBSA determined that the expiry of the findings is likely to result in the continuation or resumption of dumping of the goods from the PRC and Chinese Taipei, and the subsidizing of such product from the PRC.

The CITT held a public hearing in Ottawa commencing on November 16, 2009 and had set aside time for oral testimony and argument by parties who filed requests for product exclusion. The CITT's decision in the expiry review is scheduled to be issued on January 6, 2010.

Oil Country Tubular Goods

The CBSA initiated an investigation into the dumping and subsidizing of oil country tubular goods on August 24, 2009. At the time of writing, the CITT had issued a positive preliminary determination of injury on October 23, 2009, and the CBSA issued its preliminary determination of dumping and subsidizing on November 23, 2009. A detailed statement of reasons had not yet been published by the CBSA as of the date of writing.

In its preliminary determination, the CBSA issued estimated margins of dumping and amounts of subsidy for 11 exporters. The estimated margins of dumping ranged from 33.94% to 110.69%. The estimated margin of dumping assessed on "all other" exporters is 167%. With respect to the subsidy investigation, the estimated amounts of subsidy ranged from 0.050% to 2.47%. The estimated amount of subsidy assessed on "all other" exporters is 15%. As a result, an exporter who was not assigned specific normal values has been assigned a total provisional duty rate of 182%.

Mattress Innerspring Units

The CBSA initiated an investigation into the dumping of mattress innerspring units on April 27, 2009. At the time of writing, the CITT had issued a positive preliminary determination of injury on June 26, 2009 and the CBSA issued its preliminary and final determinations of dumping on July 27 and October 26, 2009 respectively. In addition, the CITT issued a positive material injury finding on November 23, 2009. At the date of writing, a detailed statement of reasons had not yet been published by the CITT.

In its final determination of dumping, the CBSA found that Chinese exporters were dumping the goods with an estimated overall weighted average margin of dumping of 57%. The margin of dumping assessed against non-co-operative exporters was 147.4%.

Copper Pipe Fittings

The CITT had made its original material injury finding on February 19, 2007. On November 12, 2009, the CBSA initiated a re-investigation of the normal values and export prices of certain copper pipe fittings originating in or exported from the PRC (as well as from Korea and the USA). The CBSA is not initiating a re-investigation of the amount of subsidy respecting certain copper pipe fittings from the PRC at present. It is anticipated that the re-investigation will be concluded on or before April 1, 2010.

Waterproof (Plastic) Footwear and Bottoms

Antidumping duties on waterproof (plastic) footwear and bottoms from the PRC were the subject of the CITT's initial injury finding on December 8, 2000. The original finding was renewed on December 7, 2005 for another five-year term. On October 21, 2009, the CBSA initiated a "re-investigation" of the normal values and export prices of the subject goods. The re-investigation is scheduled to be completed on February 23, 2010 following the opportunity for interested parties to file submissions and reply submissions.


The foregoing indicates that in 2009, the PRC has continued to be a focus of Canadian manufacturers who complain that Chinese exporters are selling "dumped" or "subsidized" goods into Canada, thereby causing "material injury" to Canada's domestic industries. In fact, 2009 has been a very active year for trade remedy investigations generally. This may suggest that Canadian manufacturers are becoming more accustomed to the antidumping and subsidy complaint/investigation process and will in future increasingly treat the filing of such complaints as another arrow in their quiver of options to deal with import competition.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Events from this Firm
1 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

What is the emotional culture of your organization?

Every organization and workplace has an emotional culture that can have an impact on everything from employee performance to customer or client satisfaction.

3 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Join leading lawyers from the Blakes Pensions, Benefits & Executive Compensation group as they discuss recent updates and legal developments in pension and employee benefits law as well as strategies to identify and minimize common risks.

3 Nov 2016, Other, Vancouver, Canada

“Risk” is the new black. It’s on the lips of every CEO, CFO, GC and board member — as it should be. Can you spot it? How do you analyze it? Are you equipped to manage it?

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.