China: China´s Antitrust Agency Provides Insights Into The Merger Review Process Under The New Anti-Monopoly Law

The China Ministry of Commerce ("MOFCOM"), which serves as the antitrust authority in charge of merger control under the new Anti-Monopoly Law ("AML"),1 announced on November 18, 2008, its conditional approval of the acquisition of Anheuser-Busch Companies Inc. by InBev N.V./S.A. ("InBev"). This landmark decision provides a window into MOFCOM's developing practices and procedures for merger reviews in the new antitrust regime.

Since the new AML came into effect on August 1, 2008, MOFCOM has received many antitrust notifications, 13 of which have been formally accepted and eight of which have been decided, including the InBev decision. As the first conditional approval or rejection, the InBev decision is the only one that has been publicly announced. To date, MOFCOM has promulgated no implementing rules or guidelines establishing or explaining the procedures and substantive approach that will be applied in merger reviews, although the State Council did promulgate the Notification Thresholds Regulation a few days after the AML became effective.2 It was therefore a welcome development that, after the announcements of the decision in the InBev matter, MOFCOM published on its web site an "Anti-Monopoly Review Q&A,"3 which provides insights of Mr. Shang Ming, Director General of MOFCOM's Anti-Monopoly Bureau ("AMB"), into MOFCOM's ongoing formulation of its policies and practices. The following seeks to capture the substance of the MOFCOM Q&A document and comments on the insights provided by the Q&A.

When Will the Filing Be Accepted as "Complete"?

Under the AML, first-stage review may take up to 30 days from the date MOFCOM accepts the filing as "complete." The date that MOFCOM deems the filing to be complete is therefore critical for timing. Article 23 of the AML provides that the notifying party shall submit the following documents and information to the Anti-Monopoly Enforcement Authority under the State Council ("AMEA," i.e., MOFCOM in merger control cases):

  1. The notification;
  2. An explanation of the effects that the concentration may have on competition in the relevant market;
  3. The concentration agreement;
  4. The audited financial reports of the undertakings involved in the concentration for the previous fiscal year; and
  5. Other information requested by the AMEA.

The Anti-Monopoly Review Q&A notes that every transaction has its own unique features and that consequently it is difficult to provide a complete list of materials that will be appropriate for all transactions. Therefore, the AMB will make specific requests for filing materials based on the potential effects on competition presented in each case. MOFCOM believes that this approach is authorized by paragraph 5 of Article 23, which states that undertakings that submit a notification shall provide other information required by the AMEA.

This process makes the standard for "completeness" highly subjective and determined solely in MOFCOM's discretion, rendering the Anti-Monopoly review timetable highly unpredictable. Parties may need to supplement their filings to address repeated requests for additional information before MOFCOM accepts the filing as complete and starts the clock on the 30-day initial waiting period. The InBev case itself provides a useful example. The parties first submitted their filing on September 10, and they supplemented their submission twice in response to MOFCOM's requests for additional information. The filing was finally accepted on October 27. Interestingly, the pre-filing stage took more than seven weeks, but the decision was released only a little more than two weeks after formal "acceptance."

MOFCOM is not required to publish notice of its acceptances of merger filings and may simply notify parties in a less formal way (including verbal notification) when the filing is accepted as complete and the 30-day waiting period starts. According to the Anti-Monopoly Review Q&A, MOFCOM is currently drafting detailed rules regarding the documents and materials that must be submitted for merger review. Before those new rules are promulgated, parties must follow the Anti-Monopoly Filing Guidelines previously published by MOFCOM under the Foreign M&A Regulation. The merger control rules in the Foreign M&A Regulation appear to have been superseded by those in the new AML, although there has been no express repeal or formal statement that those old rules have been supplanted.

How Will MOFCOM Conduct Its Review?

Article 27 of the AML lists the factors that the enforcement authority shall consider for merger review, which include:

  1. The market share of the undertakings involved in the relevant market and their ability to control the market;
  2. The degree of market concentration in the relevant market;
  3. The effect of the concentration on market entry and progress of technology;
  4. The effect of the concentration on consumers and other undertakings;
  5. The effect of the concentration on national economic development; and
  6. Other factors affecting market competition as determined by the Anti-Monopoly Enforcement Authority under the State Council.

Unfortunately, MOFCOM's decision not to prohibit the InBev transaction does not include any competition analysis or reasoning. It merely indicates in a conclusory manner that MOFCOM conducted a full review of all the factors set out in the AML, focusing especially on the geographic market, product market, and competitive conditions in the relevant market. Although an Economic Division has been created under the AMB, it is still unknown to what extent economic evidence is permitted or relied upon in MOFCOM's merger analysis.

The Anti-Monopoly Review Q&A provides some insights into MOFCOM's substantive approach. It explains that in the InBev deal, for example, MOFCOM conducted many meetings, seminars, and hearings to solicit opinions from other relevant government ministries, local governments, beer trade associations, major domestic beer manufacturers, raw material suppliers, and beer distributors. It also indicates that MOFCOM was able to complete its review of the InBev transaction efficiently and promptly because it made careful study of key issues even before the filing was formally accepted and had developed solutions to offset any adverse effects on competition. In some cases, MOFCOM might not be able to find a reconciled solution agreeable for every stakeholder. For example, the filing for The Coca-Cola Company's proposed acquisition of China Huiyuan Juice Group Limited was not accepted as complete until early December, despite the submission of filings starting in early September.

What Kinds of Remedies Are Available?

After its review, MOFCOM may issue a decision to prohibit or not to prohibit the transaction, the latter of which includes conditional or unconditional approval. Under Article 30 of the AML, MOFCOM must publish any decisions to prohibit a transaction or to attach conditions to any approval of deal. Because the other seven cases decided to date were unconditional approvals, only the InBev decision has been published.

The Anti-Monopoly Review Q&A indicates that MOFCOM may impose three types of restrictive conditions on a transaction: (1) structural remedies, i.e., requirements that the parties divest specified assets; (2) behavioral remedies, i.e., prohibitions of certain abusive behaviors that will or may eliminate or restrict competition; and (3) combinations of structural and behavioral remedies.4

MOFCOM conditioned its approval of the InBev transaction on four commitments, namely that InBev shall: (1) not increase Anheuser-Busch's existing 27 percent share in Tsingtao Brewery Co., Ltd. (a domestic competitor); (2) report to MOFCOM any change in its controlling shareholders or the shareholders of the controlling shareholders; (3) not increase InBev's existing 28.56 percent share in the Zhujiang Brewery Co., Ltd. (another domestic competitor); and (4) not seek to acquire stakes in China Resources Snow Brewery (China) Co., Ltd. or Beijing Yanjing Brewery Co., Ltd. (two additional domestic competitors). Further, InBev is required to report to MOFCOM in advance for approval of any violation of any of the above commitments.5

The Anti-Monopoly Review Q&A concludes as follows:

[T]he results of the [InBev] review show that this transaction does not result in eliminating or restricting effect on competition in the beer market in China; therefore MOFCOM decided not to prohibit the transaction. However, in order to prevent the formation of a structure that impairs competition after the transaction, MOFCOM imposed necessary restrictive conditions.

It appears that MOFCOM was more concerned about the effects of potential future transactions, increasing existing shareholding, or acquiring shares in other beer manufacturers, rather than the effects of the proposed transaction. The conditions imposed may be intended to address, and alert market participants to, MOFCOM's concern about further concentration affecting local manufacturers in this industry.

Although MOFCOM has not published a full analysis of its decisions and remedies, the published InBev announcement and the subsequent Anti-Monopoly Review Q&A citing the InBev case reflect MOFCOM's efforts to increase transparency. However, MOFCOM's broad discretionary powers under the vague language of the AML, without MOFCOM rules or State Council regulations that establish clear procedures and standards, continue to make antitrust clearance in China relatively difficult to predict accurately.

What Are the Requirements for Administrative Reconsideration of, and Court Challenges to, MOFCOM Decisions?

Though MOFCOM's Q&A did not address the subject, pursuant to Article 53 of the AML, merger decisions must go through "administrative reconsideration" before an administrative lawsuit challenging a MOFCOM merger review decision can be filed in court.6 InBev's agreement to the conditions set out in MOFCOM's decision suggests it is unlikely to challenge the decision (and that it would be less likely to succeed in any challenge). It should be noted that it is not clear under the AML whether other interested parties have the right to raise objections or file a petition for "administrative reconsideration." According to the Chinese Administrative Reconsideration Law, the parties themselves have 60 days from the date of a merger decision to petition for an administrative reconsideration. If the parties are not satisfied with the reconsideration decision, they may then file an administrative suit with the courts within 15 days of that decision.

Further, MOFCOM's failure to publish a detailed decision in the InBev case could make it more difficult for the parties or potentially interested parties (assuming they have standing) to challenge the decision. However, in another "Q&A" document published by the Supreme People's Court ("SPC") in early November, the SPC indicated that, in judicial reviews of Anti-Monopoly decisions, the defendant (MOFCOM or one of the other agencies within the AMEA7) bears the burden of proof to establish the substantive grounds and reasonableness of its decision.


The MOFCOM and SPC Q&A documents provide useful guidance on issues that are critical to companies seeking to understand and comply with the Anti-Monopoly Law. Formal regulations, rules, and guidelines are still needed to develop consistent procedures and predictable substantive analysis of antitrust issues.


1.Article 10 of the AML provides that the Anti-Monopoly Enforcement Authority ("AMEA"), designated by the State Council, is responsible for the enforcement of the AML. Pursuant to the State Council Restructuring Plan for SAIC ("State Council Plan"), published in March 2008 after the 11th Session of the National People's Congress, three ministries—MOFCOM, the State Administration for Industry and Commerce ("SAIC"), and the National Development and Reform Commission ("NDRC")—were empowered to establish bureaus to carry out specified AML enforcement functions, with MOFCOM responsible for merger reviews. MOFCOM's Anti-Monopoly Bureau was formally established in September 2008. Article 9 of the AML provides for the establishment by the State Council of another body, the Anti-Monopoly Committee ("AMC"), which is authorized to develop competition policy, draft and publish anti-monopoly guidelines, and coordinate the anti-monopoly enforcement activities of the agencies that comprise the AMEA. The AMC was officially established on August 1, 2008, the day the AML became effective. Vice Premier Wang Qishang was appointed to head the AMC in September, 2008.

2.Regulation of the State Council on Notification Thresholds for Concentration of Undertakings, adopted by Decree of the State Council of the People's Republic of China on August 1, 2008, and announced on August 3, 2008 ("Notification Thresholds Regulation"). Regulations (fagui), such as the Notification Thresholds Regulation, are issued by the State Council, are binding on Chinese courts, and are a basis for civil obligations, unlike rules (guizhang) that are enacted by agencies other than the State Council.

3.Q&A Regarding Issues in Anti-Monopoly Reviews of Concentrations of Undertakings with Mr. Shang Ming, Director General of Anti-Monopoly Bureau of MOFCOM, available in Chinese at

4.Article 29 of the AML provides that, where a concentration is approved, restrictive conditions may be attached to the implementation of the concentration.

5.MOFCOM Announcement No. 95 [2008], available in Chinese at

6.The AML does not require such administrative reconsideration as a prerequisite for suits challenging Anti-Monopoly Enforcement Authority decisions in nonmerger cases, such as cases involving monopoly agreements or abuses of a dominant market position. Such administrative reviews of agency decisions, as well as lawsuits alleging abuses of administrative powers under Chapter V of the AML are within the jurisdiction of the Administrative Disputes Tribunal and are conducted in accordance with the Administrative Litigation Law. In contrast, pursuant to the Supreme People's Court ("SPC") Notice on Study and Adjudication of AML Disputes, published by the SPC on July 28, 2008, other AML lawsuits, filed pursuant to the civil liability provisions of Article 50 of the AML, are classified as causes of action within the broad category of "IP Disputes" and will be handled by the special Intellectual Property Tribunals established within certain People's Courts.

7.In addition to MOFCOM, which enforces the merger and acquisition, or "concentration," provisions of the AML, the AMEA comprises the Anti-Monopoly enforcement offices of the SAIC, which enforces the abuse of dominance provisions, and the NDRC, which enforces the monopoly agreement provisions.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.