China: Making Life Simpler - China’s Anti-Monopoly Bureau Has Reformed The Merger Review Regime

China's Antimonopoly Law (AML) took effect in August 2008 and is loosely based on the competition regimes in place in the EU and the US. In addition to prohibiting certain types of agreements and anticompetitive conduct, the AML establishes a process for reviewing mergers and other transactions that may substantially affect competition in China. Since enacting the AML, China has quickly joined the EU and US as one of a trio of merger control approvals that are often key to global deals – reflecting the importance of China and the Chinese economy in international business. The Ministry of Commerce's (Mofcom) Anti-Monopoly Bureau has reviewed nearly 800 transactions under the AML and imposed remedies in 22 of them since 2008.

But repeat experience of Chinese clearance being the last impediment to closing, even in cases raising no issues, has generated some criticism. In response, the Anti-Monopoly Bureau has implemented a number of reforms over the past year aimed at streamlining the review process and reducing wait times, at least for transactions that are unlikely to cause competition concerns. The latest and most far-reaching of these reforms is the new fast-track programme that the Anti-Monopoly Bureau hopes will clear 60% of notified transactions within 30 days. While the proof of the pudding will be in the eating, it is in principle a welcome development.

Mofcom's new simplified merger review

The merger review process under the AML comprises up to three phases. The three phases can take up to 30, 90 and 60 days respectively, but the total regulatory timeline can be even longer. As in Europe, there is a fair amount of back and forth between the parties and Mofcom prefiling, as Mofcom comments on drafts of the planned notifications, and officials indicate whether the filing will be regarded as complete. For complicated transactions or for transactions that involve numerous markets, these prefiling discussions can stretch over several months. For example, though perhaps a high-water mark, Panasonic/Sanyo's prefiling discussions took nearly four months.

Once formally notified, while it is possible for a transaction to obtain approval in Phase I, in practice many cases presenting few competitive concerns go to Phase II, and even sometimes Phase III. Mofcom cites resource constraints and the need to consult with other industry-specific trade associations and government agencies as explanations for the delays.

In order to ameliorate wait times and streamline the regulatory review process, Mofcom announced the implementation of its Interim Provisions for Standards of Simple Cases Related to Concentration of Undertakings on 13 February 2014. Comparable to the EU's Short Form CO, the new rules would make certain transactions eligible for a fast track. Under the fast-track programme, the following transactions, deemed unlikely to raise competitive concerns, could qualify for simplified review: (1) horizontal transactions with a combined market share of less than 15%; (2) vertical transactions with individual market shares of less than 25%; (3) non-horizontal transactions with no upstream-downstream effects with individual market shares of less than 25%; (4) foreign joint ventures operating outside China; and (5) acquisitions of foreign assets or securities of companies operating outside China.

The new rules do not outline the fast-track programme's procedural details, but reports indicate that for simple cases, notifying parties will not be required to submit nearly as much information as in the past. As of yet, there is no clear timetable for how long it will take for "simple cases" to obtain approval, but the Anti-Monopoly Bureau has been implementing new simple-case classification rules on an internal basis since 2012. Based on those internal trials, the director-general at the Anti-Monopoly Bureau predicted in September 2013 that the simplified merger review procedures could lead to 60% of notified transactions being cleared within 30 days of the agency beginning its review. If Mofcom is able to reach this mark, it will be a welcome change for practitioners and companies seeking merger approval in China.

While the fast-track programme sets thresholds for simplified review, it carves out a notable exception that excludes transactions having "a potential adverse impact on consumers and other related business operators, or to national economic development and market competition". Under the new rules, such transactions "will not be identified as simple cases". This allowance for "national economic development and market competition" is consistent with other provisions and Chinese antitrust law, but it remains unique to China among antitrust enforcers. Critics point to the uncertainty of how Mofcom will implement this vague provision, and worries remain about the programme's transparency and predictability. Mofcom will thus have leeway to remove transactions from the fasttrack programme – in the same way, it should be said, that the European Commission is able to shift from the short-form to the full CO process.

Other steps to reduce wait times under the AML

In addition to adopting the fast-track simplified review programme, Mofcom has taken a number of other steps over the past year to decrease review times. One of the primary obstacles to more timely review is the lack of manpower and resources at Mofcom to deal with the growing workload. The Anti-Monopoly Bureau at Mofcom employs only about 20 case handlers who review more than 200 transactions a year. In contrast, in the US the antitrust division of the Department of Justice and the Federal Trade Commission employ over 350 and 550 attorneys respectively, in addition to a similar number of economists and support staff. The European Commission's Directorate-General for Competition, for its part, has a total staff of approximately 900. Mofcom's meagre staffing appears to contribute both to delays at the prefiling stage, and to the large percentage of notified transactions that go into Phase II review.

To address staffing issues, Mofcom underwent an organisational reshuffling in September 2013 that involved replacing the heads of four out of the seven divisions within the Anti-Monopoly Bureau. The Premerger Notification Division was one of the divisions affected by the reorganisation, and practitioners have reported that the staff changes have already had a positive impact on review times.

Another reason that often holds up Mofcom's merger review process is the need to consult with other government ministries and trade associations during the review. Indeed, consultation with trade associations in particular adds significant complexity to the analysis. The new fast-track rules do not specify how the simplified review process will apply to communications with other agencies, but Mofcom has taken some steps that may partially remedy the problem. In November 2013, Mofcom announced a project to construct a new database to collate data for the pharmaceutical, shipping, and electronic-information sectors. The database is intended, in part, to facilitate the agency's merger review capabilities, and it may reduce the delays caused by the Anti- Monopoly Bureau's need to consult other industry-specific agencies before clearing deals.

International trend toward faster review

By reforming its merger review process, Mofcom joins the trend among international antitrust enforcers towards expediting merger review clearances. For example, the Anti-Monopoly Bureau has stated that it based its new simplified-review process, in part, on the practice of the European Commission. But in that regard the goalposts have moved, as the European Commission recently expanded the scope of its simplified review.

Since 1 January 2014, the European Commission has increased the market-share thresholds below which transactions qualify for simplified review using the Short Form CO. Under the simplified procedures, the Commission endeavours to adopt a decision as soon as possible after 15 working days. The Commission's raised thresholds extend simplified review to transactions involving horizontal overlaps where the parties control a combined 20% (up from 15%) market share and vertical relationships involving 30% (up from 25%) combined market share. Joint ventures with de minimis activities in Europe, and horizontal mergers yielding minor increases in market concentration (individual market shares below 50% and an HHI increase below 150 points), also qualify for simplified review. With these new thresholds, the European Commission's simplified merger review programme remains wider than Mofcom's fast-track programme. The Commission predicts that, under the new thresholds, approximately 60% to 70% of notified mergers will qualify for simplified review, roughly 10% more than under the prior system.

There is no comparable short form in the United States, as the differences in the regulatory process are significant. A premerger filing in the United States is a relatively pro forma document, which requests general information about the parties and the transaction. There are limited document requests, including for documents that analyse the transaction with respect to competition. The collection and review of these documents is often the determining factor in the time it takes to prepare a filing. Moreover, parties need not consult with the DoJ or FTC prior to filing; they may file when ready if they have included all of the requested information. Significant substantive exchanges between the parties and regulators often do not begin until the transaction moves into the second phase (ie the parties receive the "second request").

International co-operation

At the same that China is refining its merger review regime internally, it is also extending ties with overseas competition agencies. In July 2011, the US antitrust agencies signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) with their counterparts in China to increase co-operation and co-ordination on antitrust matters between the two countries. The US agencies supplemented the earlier MOU in November 2011 with specific guidance for co-operation in merger cases. The US MOU provides a framework for a continued joint dialogue among the nations' antitrust agencies and, most importantly, contemplates co-operation between agencies on specific investigations, including at the staff level. The European Commission followed suit in September 2012, signing its own MOU with two Chinese enforcement agencies, the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) and the State Administration for Industry and Commerce (SAIC). Although Mofcom was not a signatory to the European MOU, Mofcom has been engaged in a dialogue with the European Commission on matters relating to mergers and other concentrations since 2004.

The MOUs and dialogue between the US, the EU and China have, in principle, the potential to increase regulatory efficiency and align international antitrust enforcement. At least in constructing the AML regime, China proved its interest in gaining from the experience of longer established jurisdictions. Incidents of cooperation on actual cases have been more difficult to come by, due in part to longer administrative processes in China, but also with a critical focus attaching to the substantive treatment by the Chinese agencies of foreign cases. Indeed it is understood that foreign agencies are dissatisfied with the level of dialogue presently established, and/or the outcomes witnessed.

No national system of merger control of course is exempt from international scrutiny as to whether industrial policy may motivate competition decisions, and the simplified merger review rules are unlikely to assuage such concerns. Mofcom retains the power to remove the "simple case" designation from transactions having potential adverse effects on "national economic development", and concerns remain as to whether Mofcom will subordinate the interests of competition to other considerations, a charge that has been levelled against certain Mofcom decisions in the past. That, however, is a topic for another article.

Originally published in Competition Law Insight.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.