Canada: Anti-trust Year In Review: Developments In Canada

Last Updated: May 14 2009
Article by Mark C. Katz and Jim Dinning

A. Legislative Developments

During Canada's October 2008 election, the Conservative party promised to introduce several far-reaching changes to Canada's Competition Act (the "Act"), including:

  • a new criminal conspiracy offence focussed on "hard core" cartel conduct such as price fixing and market allocation, with other types of potentially anticompetitive agreements to be dealt with on a separate non-criminal track;
  • new maximum penalties for cartels and bidrigging of CDN$25 million (approximately US$20.5 million) in fines and 14 years in prison (up from the current maximum of CDN$10 million (approximately US$8.2 million) in fines and five years' imprisonment);
  • new fines for abuse of dominance (up to CDN$10 million (approximately US$8.2 million) for initial offenders and CDN$15 million (approximately US$12.3 million) for repeat offenders); and
  • repeal of the Act's criminal offences for price discrimination, promotional allowances and predatory pricing.

The Conservatives received a plurality of seats in the House of Commons following the October 2008 election and formed a minority government. In early 2009, as part of its budget legislation, the Conservative government introduced a variety of amendments to the Act,1 including changes largely following those described in their election platform, but also other significant proposed amendments, such as:

  • amending the merger notification process under the Act to mirror the U.S. Hart-Scott- Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act process;
  • reducing to one year the three-year waiting period following closing within which the Commissioner currently may challenge a completed merger;
  • increasing one of the thresholds for merger notification from CDN$50 million (approximately US$41 million) to CDN$70 million (approximately US$57 million) (the "size of transaction" test); and
  • de-criminalization of the price maintenance offence.

The above proposed amendments largely follow the recommendations contained in a June 2008 report released by the Competition Policy Review Panel (the "Panel") on Canada's competition and investment policies.2 The Panel was created in July 2007 by the federal government with the mandate of examining how to improve the domestic and international competitiveness of the Canadian economy.

B. Mergers

1. Production Orders

Among its various investigative powers, the Competition Bureau is entitled to apply ex parte to a judge for orders requiring the production of documents and other information. The use of these orders has been controversial, with the business and legal communities expressing concern over the Bureau's general unwillingness to consult with parties prior to seeking such orders, and the tendency of such orders to be overbroad and poorly drafted.

On January 28, 2008, a Federal Court judge took the unusual step of setting aside two Bureau production orders obtained in the course of a merger investigation on the grounds that the Bureau's applications for the orders were "misleading, inaccurate and incomplete".3 As a result of this criticism, the Minister of Industry ordered an investigation into the Bureau's processes and procedures for obtaining production orders. The report was publicly released on August 13, 2008.4 Although largely refraining from finding fault with the Bureau, the report offered several helpful suggestions that could, if implemented, alleviate some of the concerns about the use of production orders. These recommendations include encouraging the Bureau to engage in pre-application dialogue with parties where feasible, limiting the number of custodians whose documents must be searched, discouraging production orders from being sought in furtherance of a criminal inquiry against a person who is a suspect at the time of the application and requiring the Commissioner of Competition to inform the court of any point of fact or law known to the Commissioner why a requested production order should not be granted.

2. Review of Transportation Mergers

In July 2008, the Department of Transport released draft Guidelines for Mergers & Acquisitions involving Transportation Undertakings5 regarding the new merger review provisions of the Canada Transportation Act ("CTA") that came into force in June 2007.6 Under the CTA merger review provisions, any proposed transaction that is required to be notified under the merger provisions of the Competition Act and which "involves" a federal "transportation undertaking" must also be notified to the Minister of Transport. If the Minister determines that the proposed transaction "raises issues with respect to the public interest as it relates to national transportation", then the transaction cannot be completed unless approved (potentially subject to modifications or conditions) by the federal Cabinet. If no public interest issues are raised, there is no further review under the CTA.

The draft guidelines set out a series of factors relevant to determining whether a proposed transaction raises public interest issues relating to national transportation. These include economic (e.g. the transaction's impact on prices and employment), social (e.g. the transaction's impact on low-income workers and Canadian sovereignty), environmental, security and safety factors. Many of the economic factors overlap with issues dealt with under the Competition Act (e.g. impact on prices, service quality and Canadian competitiveness). However, the draft guidelines do not clarify whether the Minister of Transport will refrain from reviewing a proposed merger where it raises only public interest issues that relate to competition.

C. Cartels

1. Enforcement

Charges were laid in June 2008 against 13 individuals and 11 companies accused of fixing gasoline prices in Quebec.7 While many defendants have indicated their intent to vigorously contest the charges, certain individuals and companies have pleaded guilty and agreed to pay fines exceeding CDN$2 million (approximately US$1.6 million) in total.8 One individual defendant pleaded guilty and agreed to be sentenced to 12 months' imprisonment to be served in the community.9 Also of note is that the Bureau used wiretaps as part of its investigation.

In July 2008, the Bureau announced that two individuals had been extradited to the United States for their role in a deceptive telemarketing scheme involving American consumers and had been found guilty and sentenced to a combined 42 years in prison by the U.S. Federal Court in the Southern District of Illinois.10 This is the first time that Canadian nationals have been extradited to a foreign jurisdiction for a competition-related offence.

On November 21, 2008, the Competition Bureau announced that Akzo Nobel Chemicals International BV had pleaded guilty to criminal charges for its role in an international cartel to fix the price of hydrogen peroxide sold in Canada.11 Akzo agreed to pay a fine of CDN$3.15 million (approximately US$2.6 million). This case is yet another example of an international cartel investigation where the Bureau benefited from the cooperation of an immunity applicant.

2. Draft Leniency Bulletin

In April 2008, the Bureau released a Draft Information Bulletin on Sentencing and Leniency in Cartel Cases (the "Draft Bulletin").12 The Draft Bulletin sets out the Bureau's suggested approach for recommending sentences in cartel cases, including when it will recommend that cartel participants that do not qualify for immunity may receive "lenient treatment" (i.e., a reduced penalty). For the most part, the Draft Bulletin's description of the Bureau's approach to sentencing recommendations reflects current practice. The key factor that the Bureau will consider in recommending a sentence in a cartel matter is the overall economic harm that was caused.

The leniency aspect of the Draft Bulletin is intended to complement the Bureau's information bulletin on its immunity program ("Immunity Bulletin").13 The Immunity Bulletin describes the circumstances in which the Bureau will recommend that persons be granted complete immunity from prosecution under the Act's criminal provisions. The Draft Bulletin, on the other hand, covers situations in which full immunity is not available, but where parties may still qualify for some sort of leniency.

According to the Draft Bulletin, the Bureau will recommend leniency where (i) the Director of Public Prosecutions has not yet filed criminal charges against the party, and (ii) where the party has terminated its participation in the illegal activity, cooperates with the Bureau's investigation and any subsequent prosecution, and admits guilt. The timeliness of the party's cooperation and the value of the evidence offered will also be considered. The first party eligible for a leniency recommendation will generally receive a reduction of up to 50% of the fine that otherwise would have been recommended and subsequent applicants will receive up to 30%.

A new version of the Bulletin is expected to be released in 2009.

D. Abuse of Dominance

In June 2008, the Bureau released its Information Bulletin on the Abuse of Dominance Provisions as Applied to the Telecommunications Industry.14

Although nothing in the Information Bulletin deviates from the Bureau's general enforcement approach, as described in the Draft Abuse Guidelines, the Bureau notes that unique characteristics of the telecommunications industry warrant particular consideration in determining whether abuse of dominance has occurred.15 To that end, the Information Bulletin describes the Bureau's approach under the abuse of dominance provisions with respect to conduct in the telecommunications industry to the extent that the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission, Canada's telecommunications regulator, has decided to forbear from regulating such conduct.


1 Bill C-10, Budget Implementation Act, 2009, 2nd Sess., 40th Parl., 2009.

2 The Panel's report and related materials are available at .

3 Canada (Commissioner of Competition) v. Labatt Brewing Co., 2008 FC 59.

4 Brian Gover, REVIEW OF SECTION 11 OF THE COMPETITION ACT (June 19, 2008), available at nsf/en/02709e.html .


6 Canada Transportation Act, S.C. 1996, c. 10, § 53.1.

7 Press Release, Competition Bureau, Competition Bureau Uncovers Gasoline Cartel in Quebec (June 12, 2008), available at .

8 Press Release, Competition Bureau, Third Individual Pleads Guilty in Quebec Gasoline Cartel Case (October 31, 2008), available at http:// .

9 Id.

10 Press Release, Competition Bureau, Canadian Scammers Extradited to the U.S. Receive Lengthy Prison Sentences (July 30, 2008), available at .

11 Press Release, Competition Bureau, Akzo Nobel Chemicals International BV Fined $3.15 Million for its Role in an International Cartel (November 21, 2008), available at .

12 Competition Bureau Canada, DRAFT INFORMATION BULLETIN ON SENTENCING AND LENIENCY IN CARTEL CASES (April 2008), available at .

13 Competition Bureau Canada, IMMUNITY PROGRAM UNDER THE COMPETITION ACT (September 2000), available at .


15 The Information Bulletin notes: "The telecommunications industry is a network industry with large sunk costs and significant economies of scale, density, and scope, implying that some firms are likely to have larger market shares than might be typical in nonnetwork industries. Interconnection, both among competitors in the same market and across market boundaries (i.e., call termination), is widespread and in many respects necessary for firms to compete. Proper definition of the relevant market in the telecommunications industry poses particular challenges because the sector is dynamic, shaped by constant and rapid technological change. Finally, certain acts are more likely to be the subject of an abuse of dominance complaint in the telecommunications industry, given the nature of the sector." Id. § 1.4.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Mark C. Katz
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.