Canada: And So It Begins – Federal Government Launches Review Of Environmental And Regulatory Processes

On June 20, 2016, the Federal Government launched a comprehensive review of four key environmental and regulatory processes, namely:

  1. The federal environmental assessment processes under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012);
  2. The National Energy Board (NEB);
  3. The Fisheries Act; and
  4. The Navigation Protection Act.

While the reviews of CEAA 2012 and the NEB will commence immediately, those concerning the Fisheries Act and the Navigation Protection Act are not anticipated to begin until September 2016, and as such, the following discussion focusses on CEAA 2012 and the NEB. The stated objective of the Fisheries Act and the Navigation Protection Act reviews is to "restore any lost protections and to incorporate modern safeguards".

In January, the Federal Government announced five principles guiding its discretionary decision-making powers on major natural resource projects. A full discussion of the principles can be found in a previous post. These principles were intended as an interim measure while the Federal Government conducted its comprehensive review, and were referenced in this announcement detailing the modernization process. Of note, is the Federal Government's promise that "[c]onsultation will be at the core of this review" in a coordinated, open and transparent process. Additionally, it was stated that proponents currently engaged in a CEAA 2012 process would not be required to return to the starting line.

Review of the Environmental Assessment Process

The Federal Government's stated goal for reviewing CEAA 2012 is to develop new, fair processes that are robust, incorporate scientific evidence, protect our environment, respect the rights of Indigenous peoples, and support economic growth. The review will include environmental assessment processes conducted by the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency, the Canadian Nuclear Safety Commission, and the NEB.

The Minister of Environment and Climate Change will be leading the charge on reviewing CEAA 2012, and will establish an expert panel to review the processes. Public input has already been requested with respect to the expert panel's Draft Terms of Reference, which were released with the review announcement.

According to the Draft Terms of Reference, the CEAA 2012 panel's mandate is to conduct the review and prepare a report to the Minister setting out its recommendations as well as a summary of the input received from the public, Indigenous peoples and any other interested group or organization. The panel will be asked by the Federal Government to respond to various questions, including:

  • How to restore robust oversight and thorough environmental assessments of areas under federal jurisdiction, while working with the provinces and territories to avoid duplication?
  • How to ensure decisions are based on science, facts and evidence and serve the public's interest?
  • How to provide ways for Canadians to express their views and opportunities for experts to meaningfully participate?
  • How to require project advocates to choose the best technologies available to reduce environmental impacts?
  • How to ensure that environmental assessment legislation is amended to enhance the consultation, engagement and participatory capacity of Indigenous groups in reviewing and monitoring major resource development projects?

The estimated timeline for the CEAA 2012 expert panel review is:

Jul 20, 2016 Indigenous and public input on the Draft Terms of Reference
Aug 2016 Terms of Reference to be finalized & Expert Panel Appointment
Sep – Nov 2016 Consultation hearings across Canada
Jan 31, 2017 Panel Recommendation Report

Review of the National Energy Board

The Minister of Natural Resources has been charged with modernizing the NEB and ensuring that its composition reflects regional views and has sufficient expertise in such fields as environmental science, community development, and Indigenous traditional knowledge. While the NEB is included within the scope of the environmental assessment review insofar as it is a responsible agency under CEAA 2012, the Federal Government notes that modernization of the NEB "goes beyond" this responsibility.

The NEB modernization expert panel Draft Terms of Reference are also available for public input on the same timeline as the environmental assessment panel, which is by July 20, 2016. The mandate of the NEB expert panel includes: (i) to enable public participation and input on key themes; (ii) to provide opportunities for engagement, including meetings with key stakeholders and the general public; (iii) to engage national and regional Indigenous organizations, groups, and communities to enable their participation at regional and local levels; (iv) to work with regional Indigenous organizations in the planning and hosting of Indigenous in-person engagement events; and (v) to prepare a report that includes the panel's findings and recommendations to modernize the NEB.

The stated scope of the review is to look at issues specific to the NEB which fall outside the environmental assessment review process, including an examination of:

  • Governance – including the composition and expertise of Board members, the division of operational and adjudicative functions, the NEB's role in policy implementation, and delegation of authority to Board members and staff.
  • Mandate – including defining and measuring public interest, potentially clarifying the NEB mandate respecting data collection and analysis, and expand the NEB's mandate.
  • Decision-making Roles – including considering the current approach to appropriate decision-making roles for the NEB, Minister, and Governor-in-Council.
  • Legislative Tools for Lifecycle Regulation – including recommendations respecting lifecycle oversight and public engagement tools, safety and emergency preparedness tools, and land acquisition matters and related negotiation proceedings.
  • Indigenous Engagement – including recommendations respecting enhancement of the role of Indigenous communities in monitoring pipeline development and operations and in developing emergency response plans, and respecting how the interests of Indigenous peoples are balanced against many and varied societal interests in decision-making.
  • Public Participation including identification of legislative changes to support greater stakeholder and public participation in various NEB activities.

The timeline for the NEB expert panel review is:

Jul 20, 2016 Indigenous and public input on the Draft Terms of Reference
Aug 2016 Terms of Reference to be finalized & Expert Panel Appointment
Sep – Dec 2016 Consultation hearings across Canada
Jan 31, 2017 Panel Recommendation Report

Comments on the Draft Terms of Reference can be submitted to Natural Resources Canada at:

Sharing Your Views

Public stakeholders can submit their views in the following ways:


While improving the environmental and regulatory processes for new energy infrastructure developments is a positive development, the stated goals of the review process, such as "restoring public trust" and "modernizing" the NEB, are politically-charged terms, in keeping with the Liberal Party's 2015 campaign promises. This review process will likely spark debate about the purpose and objectives behind NEB hearings, particularly when they involve new infrastructure projects.

Historically, new major projects, such as the Alliance Pipeline, Sable Island and the Maritimes North-east and crude oil pipelines (such as the Express Pipeline) proceeded using regulatory processes that were focused on science. Social aspects of these major new projects were not "hot button" political quagmires.

Yet times have certainly changed. The more recent Mackenzie Gas Pipeline Project, Northern Gateway and the Trans Mountain Expansion Projects are all a testament to the fact that energy infrastructure projects seem to be "media watch" items, and ones which can serve multiple purposes well beyond simply the science of good pipeline engineering design, construction and operation practices. Social media has permitted everyone to express views (whether informed or not) on these topics. Prior attempts to focus the NEB's process on the science and not social acceptance have created politically charged outcomes; ones which the current Federal Government claims have given rise to concerns of public trust.

Those objectives were seemingly behind the Jobs, Growth and Long-Term Prosperity Act in 2012 and the implementation of CEAA 2012. However, the approaches taken in this legislation have been widely criticized and are seemingly the root cause for this review. What is not yet clear is whether this criticism means simply reverting to the way things were prior to 2012, or whether something more is at hand.

We believe there is a strong argument for the latter. The language of "modernization" suggests something more than a "back to the future" result. What is less clear, however, is whether "modernization" is intended to mean something other than an independent, quasi-judicial role for the NEB. For example, is contemplation going to be given to potentially duplicating the regulatory oversight regime by the creation of additional processes? We note this concern is not just speculation. As demonstrated in the recent announcements made by Minister Carr, an "advisory panel" separate and distinct from the NEB has been formed to advise the Minister on matters heard and considered by the NEB in its hearing process into the Trans Mountain Expansion case. While this approach hardly seems consistent with the intended objective of regulatory certainty embedded in the objective of process improvement; it perhaps provides a signal as to what "modernization" means for the NEB.

The bottom line is that these review processes will address what the public policy role will be for the NEB going forward. Doing away or weakening the NEB's long-standing role as an expert independent, quasi-judicial body would damage Canada's reputation and have far reaching adverse results. Expanding the role of the NEB so it becomes the arbiter of "social license" potentially introduces unnecessary regulatory uncertainty and delay. The best achieved outcome is clarity in defining the roles and responsibilities of the NEB and government. As a quasi-judicial independent expert body, the NEB's role ought to remain one of making decisions based on the objective hearing and testing of evidence. Whether new or "modern" approaches designed to perhaps fulfill government's constitutional responsibilities or to receive public commentary on other aspects of a project should fall in or outside of the NEB's process will no doubt be the key focus of this review process.

The Environmental, Regulatory and Aboriginal Group of McCarthy Tétrault will continue to closely monitor and play an active role in this review process.

To view original article, please click here.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.