Canada: New Timing Paradigm In Canada For Merger Review: The Labatt Decision

Last Updated: May 6 2007

© 2007, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Originally published in April 2007

Timing and certainty of closing are critically important in transactions involving public companies, in deals involving foreign jurisdictions where only part of the deal involves Canada, and in corporate auctions, where vendors seek an expeditious closing and potential purchasers want to make bids with as few conditions as possible. The Labatt Decision made last week has ushered in a new timing paradigm for merger review in Canada that reflects these market realities. Blakes represented Labatt Brewing Company Limited in the case.

In Labatt, the Competition Tribunal (the equivalent of a competition court) rejected an application by the Commissioner of Competition (head of the Competition Bureau) for more time to review Labatt’s take-over bid for rival Lakeport on Wednesday, March 28, 2007. The transaction was subject to review by the Competition Bureau, and in light of last week’s decision, the deal successfully closed on March 29, 2007. The Tribunal’s decision allowed Labatt to close after the expiry of the statutory waiting period (42 days) under the Competition Act. Reasons for the decision were released on Friday, March 30, 2007.

Key Implications of The Decision

The main implications for businesses and law firms counselling merging parties regarding Canada are:

  • The "Labatt Approach" is available where a client is willing to devote the legal and management resources to make use of this strategy. Labatt’s management and legal department were willing to do so and the effective use and commitment of its internal expertise and resources throughout the review process were critical to its success in closing.
  • The Bureau’s current complexity classification and timing policy (which is based only on the Bureau’s own guidelines, as opposed to law), in which it routinely requires five months to review what it considers to be very complex cases, has no legal force or effect. We believe the policy will be significantly amended, if it survives at all.
  • As the Tribunal indicated, there is now a "heightened expectation" that the Bureau will complete its review of mergers within the maximum 42-day waiting period provided for under the Competition Act.
  • If the Bureau requires additional time, the Commissioner must apply to the Tribunal to obtain an order to delay closing beyond the 42-day time period. In order to obtain such an order, the Commissioner must establish that closing the deal would substantially impair the Tribunal’s ability to remedy the effect of the merger on competition.
  • The longest that closing can be delayed (assuming the Bureau is successful in obtaining an order to delay closing beyond 42 days) is a maximum of 102 days from the filing of pre-merger notification forms, and likely much shorter. After this maximum time period, the Tribunal has historically allowed closing into a hold-separate arrangement should further legal proceedings be required.
  • If the parties offer up a hold-separate undertaking, this is a factor that the Tribunal will consider in deciding whether to allow the merger to close. This contrasts with the Bureau’s articulated position in its Merger Remedies Bulletin, that it will not normally agree to a hold-separate arrangement, notwithstanding the Tribunal’s recognition and use of them in contested cases in the past.

In the short term, we expect some purchasers may still wish to obtain comfort from the Bureau before closing, (in the form of what is known as a "no-action" letter) that a deal will not be challenged after closing (the Commissioner can challenge a merger for three years after its completion). In the medium to longer term, however, we expect most companies will seek to obtain such comfort from experienced competition law counsel in advance of entering a transaction. Companies that prefer to close quickly now have a more viable strategic option to do so, based on the principles established by the Tribunal in Labatt.

The Case in Context

Unlike the laws of the United States, where a second request can bar closing for months, and the European Commission, where Commission approval is required before a transaction can proceed, in Canada, the legal regime in the Competition Actprovides for a maximum initial review period by the Bureau of 42 days, which can only be extended by an order of the Tribunal, and even then such extension is for a maximum of 60 days, and likely would be much less in practice.

Notwithstanding the provisions of the Competition Act, the Bureau had issued two sets of guidelines, in recent years, which altered the statutory landscape. First, in March 2003 it developed its Fee and Service Standards Policy. This policy created administrative time periods for the review of transactions depending on their complexity. For example, if the Bureau viewed a transaction as "very complex," it would advise the parties that it required five months to review the transaction.

The second guideline is the Merger Remedies Bulletin, released in September 2006, in which the Bureau indicates that it "will not normally agree to hold-separate arrangements prior to the merger closing" nor "pending completion of a merger investigation."

Thus, the Bureau’s two guidelines set up the situation where very complex transactions could not close for up to five months, in the Bureau’s view. As Labatt’s bid for Lakeport was a CAD 200-million public take over bid, Labatt sought to rely on its statutory rights to close as soon as possible, notifying the Bureau that it intended to close after the expiry of the 42-day waiting period and offering to close into a hold-separate arrangement should additional time be required.

The Bureau had not completed its review by the end of the waiting period and rejected Labatt’s offer of a hold-separate closing, citing its two guidelines. The Commissioner then brought this application to the Tribunal for an order to prevent Labatt from closing the transaction. The Tribunal dismissed the Commissioner’s application.

The last time the Commissioner sought to delay closing in this fashion was in the Superior Propane merger efficiency case in 1998. Blakes also represented Superior Propane. The Tribunal rejected the Commissioner’s case at that time as well. Following Superior Propane, the Commissioner initiated a change in the law to make it easier to obtain orders delaying closing. Those changes, however, also extended the initial review period from 21 to 42 days. In Labatt, the Tribunal noted that there is a "heightened expectation that 42 days should be sufficient to complete a merger review." Moreover, extensions of time to the 42-day review period are not to be granted lightly: only where the Commissioner can show that closing will substantially impair the Tribunal’s ability to remedy a merger.

As a result of the Tribunal's decision, it is more likely that parties to a merger that raises competition issues may be able to close on the basis of a negotiated hold-separate arrangement some time shortly after the initial 42-day waiting period. A negotiated hold-separate arrangement has two benefits: (1) no disruption to capital markets, allowing greater certainty of closing (on a hold-separate basis); and (2) separate functioning of the target so that the Tribunal can preserve and, if necessary, order an effective remedy should one ultimately be required by the Tribunal.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Events from this Firm
27 Oct 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Please join members of the Blakes Commercial Real Estate group as they discuss five key provisions of a commercial real estate purchase agreement that are often the subject of much negotiation but are sometimes misunderstood.

1 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

What is the emotional culture of your organization?

Every organization and workplace has an emotional culture that can have an impact on everything from employee performance to customer or client satisfaction.

3 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Join leading lawyers from the Blakes Pensions, Benefits & Executive Compensation group as they discuss recent updates and legal developments in pension and employee benefits law as well as strategies to identify and minimize common risks.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.