Canada: Foreign Investment Review - Developments in 2006

Most non-Canadian companies considering acquisitions in Canada are aware that their transactions may be subject to the notification and substantive review provisions of the Competition Act. However, foreign acquirors may also have to contend with a review under the Investment Canada Act ("ICA"), Canada's foreign investment legislation.

Where the relevant statutory thresholds are met, the ICA requires non-Canadians acquiring Canadian businesses to obtain pre-closing approval from Canada's Minister of Industry, or, if the transaction involves the acquisition of a "cultural" business, from the Minister of Canadian Heritage. Reviewable investments are assessed by the responsible Minister to determine if they are of "net benefit" to Canada. Although transactions caught by ICA review are usually allowed to proceed ultimately (based on providing undertakings to the Minister), the time required to complete the ICA process may become an issue.


This past year witnessed one of the most extensive ICA reviews undertaken to date, involving the proposed acquisition by Xstrata plc ("Xstrata") of Falconbridge Limited ("Falconbridge"). Xstrata is a global natural resources group based in Switzerland; Falconbridge was a Canadian-based mining company with worldwide operations in nickel, copper, zinc and aluminium production. Davies acted for Xstrata in this matter.

Apart from the sheer size of the transaction (the largest successful all-cash offer in Canadian history), and that it involved the always sensitive Canadian resource sector, the situation was complicated by the fact that Xstrata's bid for Falconbridge was both unsolicited and competing against an alternative "friendly" offer by Canadian-based Inco Limited ("Inco"). This created an unusual degree of political and public interest in the transaction, given that it pitted a potential foreign take-over against what was touted as a "made in Canada solution".

Because Inco was a Canadian company, its offer for Falconbridge did not have to secure ICA approval. However, Inco had become embroiled in a protracted and difficult review process of its own involving competition authorities in the EU and the United States. This led to calls in Canada for a "level regulatory playing field", i.e. that the Minister of Industry should - at the very least - withhold ICA approval for Xstrata's bid until Inco received its foreign antitrust approvals, so as not to give Xstrata an "unfair regulatory advantage" over Inco. Indeed, in an unprecedented step, the Standing Committee on Industry, Science and Technology of Canada's House of Commons convened a special meeting at which a unanimous motion to this effect was adopted.

Xstrata ultimately obtained its ICA approval in July 2006, following an extension of the initial 45-day review period (and also after Inco had received its EU and U.S. antitrust clearances). According to a press release issued by Xstrata at the time, the undertakings it provided to satisfy the "net benefit" test included the following commitments:

  • establishment of a new standalone global nickel business, headquartered in Toronto, Ontario, with the CEO and a majority of senior management consisting of Canadians;
  • establishment of a new technology research and development unit, based in Sudbury, Ontario;
  • establishment of new regional head offices for Xstrata's copper and zinc business units, to be located in Toronto, Ontario, with the COO and a majority of senior officers consisting of Canadians;
  • no layoffs of operating staff for three years at any of Falconbridge's operating facilities in Canada;
  • increased capital, R&D and exploration expenditures in Canada;
  • identification of a potential Canadian candidate for the position of non-executive director of Xstrata; and
  • funding for community and social initiatives in Canada, with a particular focus on supporting aboriginal communities.

Three days after Xstrata received ICA approval, Inco announced that it had allowed its bid for Falconbridge to expire. Xstrata subsequently acquired control of Falconbridge in mid-August 2006.

Although the Xstrata/Falconbridge acquisition also required competition clearances in Canada, the United States and Europe, it was the ICA approval process that proved to be the deal-critical regulatory issue from Xstrata's perspective. This underscores that foreign acquirors of significant Canadian businesses must be mindful of how an ICA review may impact deal timing, as well as result in significant commitments to the Canadian government.

The "Hollowing Out" of Corporate Canada - Myth or Reality?

One of the arguments raised by opponents of Xstrata's take-over of Falconbridge was that the acquisition would contribute to the "hollowing out" of the Canadian corporate sector. This is a long-standing objection to foreign acquisitions of Canadian businesses. Proponents of this view argue that foreign take-overs lead to the disappearance of Canadian head offices, resulting in a direct loss of head office employment - particularly senior management functions - as well as a reduction in demand for ancillary financial, legal and other services.

A study released by Statistics Canada in July 2006, however, found that there may be no basis for these concerns.1 Looking at the data for the years 1999 to 2005, the study reported that foreign take-overs have not had a negative impact on employment in Canadian head offices. Instead, more head offices were actually created than were closed as a result of foreign take-overs, and there was a net increase in levels of head office employment. By contrast, firms that went from foreign to Canadian control experienced a decline in head office employment.

Indeed, more generally, the report concluded that much of the dynamism in Canada's head office sector is generated by foreign-controlled firms. Thus, between 1999 and 2005, foreign firms accounted for all of the growth in the number of head offices in Canada and the majority of the gains in head office employment.

These findings have important implications for the debate surrounding foreign investment in Canada. The fact that foreign control does not necessarily lead to a reduction in head office employment, or senior management input, would tend to undercut at least one argument against restricting foreign investment in Canadian businesses.

Possible Amendments to the ICA?

Perhaps not surprisingly, it appears that the sympathies of the minority Conservative government currently in power in Canada tend towards encouraging rather than constraining foreign investment. This has led the government to announce that it will undertake a review of the ICA to ensure that it is in line with best practices in other jurisdictions and maximizes the benefits of foreign investment while retaining Canada's ability to protect its "national interests" on a principled basis.

The government's commitment to review the ICA is set out in a document entitled Advantage Canada, which was released by Canada's Department of Finance on November 23, 2006.2 Advantage Canada describes the government's long-term plan for making Canada a "true world economic leader". In that context, it comments on the benefits of foreign direct investment in Canada, including providing additional capital to fuel firms' growth and exposing domestic firms to new technologies, innovative ways of doing business and healthy competition.

According to Advantage Canada, a review of the ICA is appropriate because the statute has not been amended significantly since its adoption in 1985, notwithstanding "dramatic changes in the world economy" in the interim. The plan notes further that the ICA, like other restrictions on foreign ownership in Canada, may create the perception that "Canada is not fully open to foreign investment".

Based on the tenor of the comments in Advantage Canada, it would appear that the government's intention is to generally reduce the scope or application of the ICA except in certain circumstances. For example, the plan suggests that one (rare) instance in which government intervention may be justified is when a large state-owned enterprise with non-commercial objectives and unclear corporate governance and reporting procedures attempts to acquire a Canadian business.

This latter point is likely a reference to the concerns that were raised when state-owned China Minmetals Corporation sought to acquire Noranda Inc. in 2005. The Minmetals transaction did not proceed, but the former Liberal government introduced proposed amendments to the ICA to ensure that the Minister would be able to review (and block) transactions on national security grounds.3 The Liberals were defeated before these amendments could be passed, but it appears that the minority Conservative government now intends to consider similar provisions as part of its ICA review. If adopted, this would put Canada in line with other major trading partners, such as the United States, that also permit the screening of foreign investments for reasons of national security.

1 M. Brown and D. Beckstead, "Head Office Employment in Canada, 1999-2005", Canadian Economic Observer, July 2006, Statistics Canada, available at

2 The Department of Finance's press release, with a link to Advantage Canada, is available at

3 Bill C-59, An Act to amend the Investment Canada Act, 1st Session, 38th Parliament, 2005 (First Reading: June 20, 2005), available at:

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.