Canada: Significant Changes To Investment Canada Act: Review Threshold Increased, Additional Information Required In Notification And Review Forms, National Security Review Timelines Extended

Last Updated: April 22 2015
Article by Ian Macdonald

On March 25, 2015, the federal government announced the implementation of three important changes to the Investment Canada Act, each of which is summarized below.

By way of general background, the acquisition of control of a Canadian business by a non‐Canadian, or the establishment of a new Canadian business by a non‐Canadian, is subject to notification or review under the Investment Canada Act. Notification is not an impediment to closing, and is typically done within 30 days after closing.

At present, the notification form requires very basic information about the foreign investor and the acquired Canadian business, and can often be prepared in as little as an hour. Where review is required, detailed information about the foreign investor and the Canadian business and the investor's plans for the Canadian business must be submitted before closing, and closing can only occur if the government determines the transaction to be of "net benefit" to Canada.

Different thresholds apply to the determination of whether a transaction is reviewable or merely notifiable, including whether the foreign investor is controlled by residents of a World Trade Organization member state, whether the target Canadian business is being acquired directly or indirectly (as a result of the acquisition of a foreign parent) and/or whether the target Canadian business is a defined "cultural business." The government also has a number of discretionary powers to review transactions that would otherwise not be reviewable, including on national security grounds.

At present, the vast majority of transactions are merely notifiable. Typically, there are less than 20 reviewable transactions per year (and last year there were only 12), whereas there are several hundred notifiable transactions each year.

While the increased review threshold, which takes effect April 24, 2015, will reduce the number of transactions that are subject to review, the much more important practical implication of the recently announced changes is that for the vast majority of transactions, where only notification is required, the notification form will require substantially more information, including a substantial amount of information that most businesses consider to be highly sensitive, and, in many cases, will take substantially more time to prepare.

  1. The nature of the review threshold that applies to most transactions/investors will be changed and the amount of the threshold will be substantially increased. At present, the review threshold applicable to the direct acquisition of control of a Canadian business (other than a defined cultural business) by a foreign investor that is ultimately controlled by residents of a WTO member state is C$369 million, and is based on the book value of the assets of the acquired Canadian business. Effective April 24, 2015, the review threshold for this type of transaction will be C$600 million, based on the enterprise value of the acquired Canadian business. For more detail, please click here.
  2. For the vast majority of transactions that are merely notifiable, the new notification form will require substantially more information and, in many cases, will take substantially more time to prepare.The goal of many of the new information requirements appears to be to enable the Canadian government to better determine whether the transaction raises potential national security concerns and/or the extent to which the investor is owned, controlled or influenced by an SOE. Much of the newly required information is also of a nature that most businesses consider to be highly sensitive. In this regard, it is worth noting that, like the Competition Act, the Investment Canada Act contains a robust confidentiality provision that protects the investor's information. The new notification form must be used for notifications submitted on or after April 24, 2015. A summary of the additional information required by the new notification form is available here.
  3. The timeframe for national security reviews is extended by 70 days. For more detail, please click here.

Enterprise Value Threshold

a. The new enterprise value threshold will not apply to WTO investors who are state‐owned enterprises. SOEs who are WTO investors will continue to be subject to the C$369 million book value threshold when they directly acquire control of a non‐cultural Canadian business, and the C$369 million book value threshold will continue to be an adjusted annually in relation to the change in Canada's GDP.

In some cases, it may be difficult to determine whether a foreign investor is an SOE and, by extension, which threshold applies. This is because the ICA's definition of SOE includes an entity that is "controlled or influenced, directly or indirectly," by the government of a foreign state, whether federal, state or local, or an agency of such a government. By way of example, several commentators have suggested that Canada's major pension funds and banks could qualify as SOEs under this definition. As a practical matter, in most cases it will be clear whether a foreign investor is an SOE and/or whether the transaction is reviewable will not turn on that determination in any event. In addition, while the Canadian government has not provided bright line guidance as to what constitutes an SOE, we do have a pretty good sense as to where the lines are (see the examples below and sections 12‐18 of the new notification form which is available here).

b. The new enterprise value threshold will remain at C$600 million for two years. In 2017 it will be increased to C$800 million for two years. In 2019 it will be increased to C$1 billion. Thereafter, it will be adjusted annually in relation to the change in Canada's GDP.

c. The formula for determining the enterprise value varies depending upon whether the foreign investor is acquiring shares of a publicly traded company, 100% of the shares of a private company, less than 100% but more than a controlling percentage of the shares of a private company, or assets. By way of high level summary:

EV of Publicly Traded Company = market capitalization + liabilities other than operating liabilities – cash and cash equivalents. Market capitalization is based on the average closing price of the target's quoted equity securities in its principal market during the 20 trading days ending before the first day of the month immediately preceding the month in which in which the foreign investor submits its Application for Review or notification form.

EV of Private Company = acquisition value + liabilities other than operating liabilities – cash and cash equivalents.

EV of Assets = acquisition value + liabilities assumed by the investor other than operating liabilities – cash and cash equivalents.

In situations where not all of a public company's equity securities are quoted, the acquisition value cannot be precisely determined until a future date (e.g. there is an earn out or some other form of post‐ closing adjustment), the foreign investor is acquiring less than 100% of the shares of a private company, or the parties are non‐arms length or the consideration is nominal or zero, the board of directors or other authorised body of the foreign investor are required to determine the fair market value of the applicable item for inclusion into the balance of the applicable enterprise value formula.

d. While the change to the new threshold will result in fewer transactions being reviewable, it is worth noting that some transactions that would not have been reviewable under the existing C$369 million book value threshold will be reviewable under the new enterprise value threshold, particularly when the enterprise value threshold is at C$600 million. In rare instances, this could result in a scenario where the acquisition by an SOE buyer is below the review threshold but the acquisition of the same target by a private sector buyer would be above the threshold (the Canadian government would still be able to rely on its discretionary national security review powers to order a review of the SOE transaction).

e. The existing thresholds that apply to other permutations of transaction remain unchanged (e.g. the indirect acquisition of control of a non‐cultural Canadian business by a WTO investor, the direct or indirect acquisition of control of a Canadian cultural business by any foreign investor, the direct acquisition of control of a Canadian business by a non‐WTO investor, the indirect acquisition of control of a Canadian business by a non‐WTO investor).

New Information Requirements

a. The name, address and date of birth of:

i. each member of the foreign investor's board of directors, or similar governing body;

ii. the five highest-paid officers of the investor; and

iii. each individual who owns more than 10% of the equity or voting interests of the investor.

b. The name and address of each entity that owns more than 10% of the equity or voting interests of the investor.

c. A description of the business activities carried on by the investor and the ultimate controller of the investor.

d. Whether the investor, a subsidiary of the investor, any member of the investor's board of directors or similar governing body, any of the investor's five highest‐paid officers or any person or entity that owns 10% or more of the investor's equity or voting interest own any equity or voting interest in the Canadian business.

e. Seven separate questions relating to the extent to which the investor is owned, controlled or influenced by an SOE, several of which have one or more sub‐questions. These questions essentially embed in the notification form information that the government has informally required in the context of reviewable transactions for several years.

Even for entities that could not, on any reasonable basis, be considered SOEs, it can be difficult to answer "no" to some of the questions without qualification. For example, two of the questions are: does a foreign state have any direct or indirect ownership interest in the investor, and does a foreign state own a minority of the investor's voting interests. Private equity funds often have limited partners who are SOEs, and public companies are typically unable to prepare a definitive list of their ultimate beneficial shareholders. Set out below are two examples of how we have approached these questions in the past in the context of a reviewable transaction, and this approach has been acceptable to the Investment Review Division:

(i) Where the investor is owned by a private equity fund: No state owns a direct interest in the investor. As noted in the application for review, the investor is ultimately indirectly owned by a private equity fund [Fund]. Some of the investors in [Fund] ..... either do or could arguably fall within the "controlled or influenced, directly or indirectly, by" portion of paragraph (b) of the Investment Canada Act's definition of "state‐owned enterprise." In total, only approximately X% of the investors in the fund could be considered state‐owned enterprises that are not U.S. public sector pension plans or other similar entities. The largest such investor holds less than X% of the limited partnership interests in the fund, and collectively, all such investors hold less than X% of the voting interests in the fund (it is important to note that these investors are not related to each other and are not members of a voting group). Based on the low percentage interest held by each such investor in the fund, and also on the fund's limited partnership structure, a core legal principle of which significantly restricts the extent to which limited partners (investors in the fund) are permitted to become involved in the management of the fund or its portfolio companies in order to, among other reasons, protect their limited liability status as limited partners, we can state without equivocation that no state controls or influences the investor, and we have provided an unqualified "no" in response to all other questions in this questionnaire.

(ii) Where the investor is owned by a widely held public company: No. Please note that x's shares are publicly traded on the [stock exchange] under the symbol x and are widely held. It is not possible for X, or any other widely held public company, to prepare a definitive list of its beneficial shareholders. It is possible that a state has purchased a small number of shares on the open market, although x has no knowledge to suggest that this has happened. In addition, it is worth noting that under U.S. securities laws, if any person acquires more than 5% of the voting shares of a publicly traded company, that person is required to file a notice disclosing that they have done so. X confirms that no notice has been filed in respect of the acquisition of more than 5% of its shares by any state.

f. Name of the vendor's ultimate controller.

g. A copy of the purchase agreement.

h. Sources of funding for the investment, including a list of all individuals and entities that have or will provide any financial contribution to the investment and the amount of the contribution.

i. Questions relating to determining the enterprise value of the Canadian business ( see item above), including confirmation as to whether any component of the enterprise value calculation required a fair market value determination.

j. A description of the products that are or will be manufactured, sold or exported and the services that are or will be provided by the Canadian business and the 4‐digit code(s) assigned to these products and services by the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS 2012) – Canada.

k. All of the above information also needs to be provided in the revised Application for Review Form if the transaction is reviewable. However, the change to the Review Form is comparatively less significant, because a significant amount of information is already required by the Review Form and, as a practical matter, the government has informally required substantial information about potential SOE ownership, control or influence for several years as part of its review of reviewable transactions.

National Security

The government has broad discretionary powers to review and prohibit, condition or require the unwinding of, any foreign investment that could be injurious to Canada's national security, including non‐control level investments, and investments in businesses that have tenuous links to Canada. Prior to the changes announced by the government, a national security review could take up to 130 days.

As a result of the changes, which took effect immediately, a national security review can take up to 200 days, or possibly longer with the consent of the investor (as a practical matter, an investor would have little choice but to consent to a requested extension because the likely outcome of refusing to consent would be a prohibition of the investment). The government has deliberately refrained from providing guidance on what investor or target characteristics could give rise to a potential national security concern, preferring to afford itself the flexibility of a 'we'll know it when we see it' approach. In addition, full or even substantial information on the government's use of the national security review powers, including the number of national security reviews that have occurred, is not available due to the high degree of confidentiality surrounding them.

However, based on our own experience, anecdotes from other members of the Bar (to the extent that they were permitted to share them), and a limited number of newspaper articles on the subject, national security reviews are relatively rare but when they do occur they are extremely frustrating for the transacting parties. They tend to take a long time, be conducted in a "black box"-like manner, with the investor responding to questions and information requests with little to no explanation as to why the information is being requested and ultimately conclude with a disposition that is accompanied by little to no explanation.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Events from this Firm
8 Nov 2016, Seminar, Ottawa, Canada

The prospect of an internal investigation raises many thorny issues. This presentation will canvass some of the potential triggering events, and discuss how to structure an investigation, retain forensic assistance and manage the inevitable ethical issues that will arise.

22 Nov 2016, Seminar, Ottawa, Canada

From the boardroom to the shop floor, effective organizations recognize the value of having a diverse workplace. This presentation will explore effective strategies to promote diversity, defeat bias and encourage a broader community outlook.

7 Dec 2016, Seminar, Ottawa, Canada

Staying local but going global presents its challenges. Gowling WLG lawyers offer an international roundtable on doing business in the U.K., France, Germany, China and Russia. This three-hour session will videoconference in lawyers from around the world to discuss business and intellectual property hurdles.

In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.