Canada: Canadian Regulators Mandate Registrant Firms Become Members Of OBSI To Resolve Investor Complaints

August 1, 2014 Deadline: It's More Complicated Than It First Appears …
Last Updated: January 13 2014
Article by Prema K. R. Thiele, Rebecca A. Cowdery and Matthew P. Williams

Most Read Contributor in Canada, September 2016

On December 19, 2013, the Canadian Securities Administrators published final amendments to National Instrument 31-103 Registration Requirements, Exemptions and Ongoing Registrant Obligations and the related Companion Policy [available here]. The rule amendments will require registered firms to become members of the Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments (OBSI) in order to provide "independent dispute resolution services or mediation services" to their clients that are individuals or entities which are not "permitted clients". The rule amendments are expected to become final on May 1, 2014 and registrants will have until August 1, 2014 to comply with the requirements and enhanced CSA expectations. The new regime will not apply in Québec, given the existing complaint handling requirements in that province and the mediation service provided by the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF).

Registered firms that advise or trade with only institutional "permitted clients" will not have to comply with the new regime; the new regime will also not apply to registered investment fund managers in that category of registration. Firms that are members of the self-regulatory organizations (SROs) will not be affected by the new rules, given that SRO regulation currently requires these firms to be members of OBSI.

While the rule amendments may be simple on first reading – we note some of the highlights below – layers of additional complexity are added when one considers the new and enhanced status of OBSI and its unique – and still quite unknown – status in Canada's regulatory environment. Not only must registrant firms understand the CSA's requirements and expectations, it will also be necessary to become familiar with how OBSI operates, both formally and in practice. There is much that is as of yet untested, including how the announced CSA monitoring of OBSI will work, as well as the ability of OBSI to manage its significant increase in membership and the increased expectations of investors and investor advocates. It is also relevant to note that OBSI is a dispute resolution organization, with no powers to actually enforce any of its recommendations, and does not provide a mediation service, notwithstanding that the rule amendments suggest that applicable firms have the option of providing independent dispute resolution services or mediation services (two completely different concepts) to their clients.

The following documents are important reading, along with the final rule amendments:

  • Memorandum of Understanding concerning oversight of the Ombudsman for Banking Services and Investments ("OBSI") among the participating members of the Canadian Securities Administrators and OBSI – December 19, 2013 [available here]
  • OBSI Terms of Reference [available here]
  • Consolidation of By-Law No 1 and By-Law No 2 of OBSI available here]
  • OBSI Newsletters, including the December 19, 2013 Newsletter, which announces the fees that will be payable on an annual basis by registered firms as members of OBSI [link to Newsletters here].


NI 31-103 has long required registrants to document and respond to complaints made to the firm about products or services offered by it or any of its representatives. The Companion Policy to NI 31-103 provides an extensive explanation of the CSA's expectations for complaint handling, including when responses must be made in writing and the expected timelines for such responses. Guidance is also given on what firms should do when complaints are made verbally (request clients put these complaints in writing and provide "reasonable" assistance to allow the client to do so). The CSA also explain that they expect firms that are licenced to sell or distribute products that are not securities (such as insurance) to inform clients of the complaint mechanisms for each sector in which they do business and how to use them.

Although the regulatory policy behind the following requirement is not intuitively obvious, firms that were first registered after September 28, 2009 have always been expected to make an independent dispute resolution service or mediation service available to complainants, free of charge – and to tell clients how they can access the chosen service. Firms that are members of the self-regulatory organizations (SROs) must comply with the applicable SRO requirements on dispute resolution, which generally require the firms to be members of OBSI.

All other registrants (that is, firms that were already registered when NI 31-103 came into force on September 28, 2009) have been exempt from the dispute resolution requirement, which exemption will end on August 1, 2014.

Under the final rule amendments

  • SRO members will continue to comply with the existing SRO requirements
  • Registrants first registered after September 28, 2009 will handle complaints and provide dispute resolution/mediation services as they do today, for any complaints received by the firm on or before August 1, 2014
  • Registrants that were already registered on September 28, 2009 will not be required to provide dispute resolution/mediation services in respect of complaints received by the firm on or before August 1, 2014.

The complaint handling and dispute resolution provisions do not apply to firms in their capacity as registered investment fund managers.


The rule that mandates "complaint handling" is not affected by the final amendments (that is to say, the CSA have not amended section 13.15 of NI 31-103, although some enhancements have been made to the Companion Policy).

Section 13.16 of NI 31-103 has been replaced. Highlights include:

  • A new definition of "complaint" for the purposes of determining which complaints can be escalated by the client to dispute resolution – a complaint is one that

    • Relates to trading or advising activity of the firm or its representatives and
    • Is received by the firm within 6 years of the day when the client first knew or reasonably ought to have known of an act or omission that is a cause of or contributed to the complaint.

    The standard above is described by the CSA as providing greater investor protection benefits than a time limit that is based on the date when the act or omission actually took place. The CSA explain that it may take longer before it would be fair to say that a client should have discovered the problem.
  • Complaints made by "permitted clients" that are not individuals are not subject to the dispute resolution mechanics, which will mean that firms that have only institutional "permitted clients" as clients will not be subject to the new rules. Conversely, any complaint by an individual client or an entity that is not a "permitted client" will be subject to the new mechanics.
  • A firm must acknowledge receipt of a complaint in writing as soon as possible and describe the independent dispute resolution service that will be available to the client and what steps the client must take to take advantage of the service.
  • A firm must give written notice of any rejection of a complaint or any offer to resolve a complaint – and again provide the client with the information previously given about the independent dispute resolution service.
  • A firm must make an independent dispute resolution service or mediation service available to a complainant, free of charge, within the following deadlines:

    • 90 days after the firm receives the complaint, if the firm hasn't notified the client of its decision to reject or settle the complaint AND the client has notified the applicable service that he or she wishes to have the complaint dealt with by the service.
    • 180 days of the client's receipt of the firm's written rejection or settlement offer, where the client has notified the applicable service that he or she wishes to have the complaint dealt with by the service.
  • Clients must agree to claim an amount that is no greater than $350,000 in order to take advantage of the services offered by OBSI. Note that clients must initiate using OBSI and may also explore (at their own cost) other avenues.
  • Firms must take reasonable steps to ensure OBSI will be the service that is made available to clients in respect of complaints. The CSA explain that this means that applicable firms must, by August 1, 2014, be members of OBSI, including paying the fees of OBSI. It is clear that firms need not make other services available (that is, any other dispute resolution or mediation service) – only the services available through OBSI are necessary. Firms must not misrepresent OBSI's services or exert pressure on a client to refuse OBSI's services.

The relationship disclosure information provided by firms to clients must be updated to include information about complaint handling and dispute resolution – and we recommend updating compliance policies and procedures manuals to clarify the new requirements and procedures that firms and their staff must follow.


Once a client chooses to escalate a complaint to OBSI, then the complaint will be processed through OBSI according to its procedures and work-flow. The amendments to NI 31-103 do not address how OBSI will handle the complaint nor does the CSA regulate OBSI in the same way as the CSA regulate (for example) the SROs. NI 31-103 does not mandate that firms must adopt any recommendation made by OBSI, which is appropriate given OBSI's status. Rather, under OBSI's Terms of Reference, OBSI is required to make recommendations on the disposition of a complaint escalated to it by a complainant and if the registered firm does not accept a recommendation made against it, then OBSI will publicize the name of the firm, its recommendation and the circumstances of the complaint, as it sees fit, after first reporting its proposed public statements to the firm's regulator. Firms can also be cited by OBSI as "non-cooperative", and OBSI will report that citation to the firm's regulator.

OBSI is an "independent" non-regulated entity, which was first created in 1996 by agreement of the Canadian chartered banks in order to provide an avenue for resolution of complaints made against the banks by bank customers. It is governed by an independent Board of Directors, which appoints the Ombudsman and CEO. Its mandate has grown exponentially since 1996.

The December 2013 MOU entered into between the CSA and OBSI sets out broad high-level principles that the CSA expect OBSI to follow, and also

  • Establishes an OBSI Joint Regulators Committee (JRC). The members of the JRC are expected to consist of representatives of the CSA, IIROC and the MFDA. Representatives of OBSI may be invited to attend these meetings. The MOU establishes the terms of reference of the JRC.
  • Requires OBSI to undergo an "independent evaluation of its operations and practices" by May 1, 2016. Thereafter independent evaluations must take place at least once every five years.


Firms which must become a member of OBSI by August 1, 2014 must complete OBSI's "company information form" and pay the annual fees, which OBSI has set at $165 per representative (dealing or advising, as the case may be). Fees for the 2014 calendar year will likely be prorated. OBSI has grandfathered SRO member firms to their existing fee structure, while scholarship plan dealers which are already members of OBSI have a two-year transition period before being required to pay the (dramatically) increased costs.

The MOU states that OBSI should have a fair, transparent and appropriate process for setting fees and allocating costs across its membership. To date, OBSI has not published an explanation of its fee structure, which under its By-laws, is set by the Board of OBSI.

In its December 19, 2013 Newsletter, OBSI explains that it will send each registered firm (presumably including those who will not be subject to the new rules because of the nature of their clients) a "membership package", which will include the company information form and the fees payable, as well as some literature on how OBSI operates.


The lawyers listed below can help you understand how the new regime will apply to you – and how you should approach this new world of complaint handling and dispute resolution. Our securities litigation partners have extensive experience with dispute resolution and mediation, including how complaints are handled at OBSI.

About BLG

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.