Canada: Record Retention Issues – Information Sharing With External Complaint Bodies And Tolling Agreements

With the proliferation of emails and other electronic documents, many federally regulated financial institutions (FRFIs) are updating their record retention policies to manage their documents. These policies need to take into consideration (1) the sharing of documents relating to customer complaints with external complaint bodies (ECBs); (2) the tolling agreements that most FRFIs are entering with their ECBs; and (3) the new Complaints (Banks, Authorized Foreign Banks and External Complaints Bodies) Regulations (the New Regulations) which came into force on September 2, 2013, and which impose additional obligations on banks and authorized foreign banks (Banks) regarding customer complaints (see our April 2013 Blakes Bulletin: Update: Final Complaints Regulations Published Plus New FCAC Guidance).


All FRFIs are required to have internal procedures in place to deal with customer complaints. In connection with their complaint-handling procedures, most FRFIs are also members of an ECB. (Currently, there are two ECBs serving the financial services industry in Canada, other than in respect of insurance: the ADR Chambers Banking Ombuds Office and the Ombudsman for Banking Services and  Investments, and two ECBs serving the insurance industry in Canada: the OmbudService for Life and Health Insurance and the General Insurance OmbudService.) Federally regulated trust and loan companies, insurance companies and retail associations are currently required to be a member of an ECB pursuant to their governing statutes. Banks are not currently required to be a member of an ECB but this will change once Bank Act amendments come into force and one or more ECBs are approved under the Bank Act (discussed below). In practice, most Banks are already members of an ECB.

Typically, FRFIs will first try to address a customer complaint themselves but if the customer is not satisfied with the FRFI's response, the customer may make a complaint to the ECB of which the FRFI is a member. Once a customer makes a complaint to an ECB, he or she is required to sign a consent letter that gives the FRFI permission to share information with the ECB so that the ECB can investigate the complaint.

When a complaint is made to an FRFI, the FRFI should implement a legal hold to ensure that all relevant documents are retained until the legal hold is lifted. Normally a legal hold will be lifted once the limitation period has passed or, if an action is brought, once the action is finally disposed of. The relevant documents should be retained even if the documents are provided to another department of the FRFI (such as the internal ombudsman's office) or the FRFI's ECB. An ECB is not an FRFI's record-keeper and FRFIs should not assume that an ECB will keep a copy of documents provided to it.


In addition to the above, most customers who make a complaint to an ECB are covered by a blanket tolling agreement (other than those complaints brought in Quebec, as the law in Quebec does not permit tolling agreements, which are also not typical in the general insurance industry). This tolling agreement is an agreement signed by most FRFIs and provided to the ECB that confirms a suspension of the limitation period for all complaints that come before the ECB. Tolling agreements vary by ECB and industry, but the limitation period is typically suspended starting from the date that the FRFI receives a copy of the consent letter signed by the client, and ends a certain number of days after the ECB sends its final report to the customer, or after the file is closed for any reason. The applicable limitation period begins to run again once the tolling agreement expires.

The existence of a tolling agreement does not alleviate FRFIs from their record retention obligations. On the contrary, a tolling agreement prolongs an FRFI's retention obligation. If the limitation period for a complaint is suspended as a result of a tolling agreement, the retention period for the information relating to that complaint must be extended until after the tolling agreement has ended and after the applicable limitation period has ended, or until the matter has been resolved if an action has been commenced. FRFIs need to implement a process to ensure that these tolling agreements are taken into account when determining the appropriate retention period for documents.

Failing to comply with proper record retention requirements, including the extended retention period that would be required if a tolling agreement was in place, could put an FRFI at risk of facing a claim of intentionally or negligently destroying evidence (known as spoliation), not having documents to support its case, or having a court draw adverse inferences against it for not having the required documents.


Amendments to the Bank Act that came into force on September 2, 2013 establish an approval process for ECBs by the Minister of Finance and require each Bank be a member of an ECB once one or more are approved. As noted above, the New Regulations also came into force on September 2, 2013. The New Regulations impose additional obligations on Banks regarding customer complaints and govern ECBs. Monitoring and enforcement in relation to ECBs will be carried out by the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada (FCAC).

It is expected that the existing ECBs will seek the Minister's approval in order to be an approved ECB for the purposes of the Bank Act. The FCAC began to accept notifications of interest from potential applicants seeking approval as an ECB on September 2, 2013.

One of the requirements of the New Regulations is that a Bank must provide its ECB with all information in its possession or control that relates to a complaint without delay after the ECB notifies the Bank that a complaint has been received. The New Regulations do not impose a requirement on ECBs to retain such information or to return it to the Bank. Therefore Banks should retain copies of all documents provided to their ECB. Banks will remain responsible for retaining documents in accordance with their record retention policy and taking into account limitation periods, as extended by any applicable tolling agreement. We assume that the tolling agreements will remain in place following the implementation of the New Regulations and related Bank Act amendments.

As a reminder, Banks should review their complaints procedures to ensure that they comply with the requirements set out in the New Regulations as well as the new minimum standards outlined in the Commissioner's Guidance published by the FCAC – CG-12 Internal Dispute Resolution, which also takes effect on September 2, 2013.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Events from this Firm
27 Oct 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Please join members of the Blakes Commercial Real Estate group as they discuss five key provisions of a commercial real estate purchase agreement that are often the subject of much negotiation but are sometimes misunderstood.

1 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

What is the emotional culture of your organization?

Every organization and workplace has an emotional culture that can have an impact on everything from employee performance to customer or client satisfaction.

3 Nov 2016, Seminar, Toronto, Canada

Join leading lawyers from the Blakes Pensions, Benefits & Executive Compensation group as they discuss recent updates and legal developments in pension and employee benefits law as well as strategies to identify and minimize common risks.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.