Canada: City Adopts First Amendment To Official Plan Under 5-Year Review

Last Updated: May 17 2013
Article by Annik Forristal and Isabel Mitchell

In 2011 the City of Toronto (the "City") commenced review of its Official Plan (the "OP Review"). Pursuant to section 26 of the Planning Act, the Official Plan must be reviewed and revised every 5 years to ensure that it conforms with provincial plans, has regard for matters of provincial interest and is consistent with provincial policy statements. Therefore, the purpose of the OP Review is to update, revise or delete existing policies and to add new policies where necessary, as a result of recent provincial legislation. To identify policies in need of revision, extensive public consultation was conducted by the City from May to December 2011. As a result of this consultation, several areas of the Official Plan were identified for revision during the OP Review including (1) heritage policies (2) affordable housing (3) transportation planning policies and (4) employment lands policies and designations.

Since May 2012, a number of reports have been prepared by City Staff in relation to these areas of review, including:

  1. Staff Report re: Proposed Heritage Policies – May 24, 2012
  2. Staff Report re: Affordable Home Ownership Opportunities – May 29, 2012
  3. Staff Report re: Rental Replacement in Mid-Rise Developments on the Avenues – August 16, 2012
  4. Staff Report re: Proposed Section 37 Policies Related to Housing – August 16, 2012
  5. Staff Report re: Employment Uses Policies – August 27, 2012
  6. Staff Report re: Transportation Planning Policy in Support of a Comprehensive Transit Plan – August 29, 2012
  7. Staff Reports re: Official Plan Amendment to Adopt new Heritage and Public Realm Policies – September 20, 2012, January 7, 2013 & March 25, 2013
  8. Staff Report re: Draft Policies and Designations for Employment – October 23, 2012
  9. Staff Report re: Official Plan Amendment to Adopt New Section 37 Policies Related to Affordable Housing – January 30, 2013 &
  10. Supplementary Staff Report re: Amendment to Adopt New Heritage and Public Realm Policies – February 4, 2013

At the City Council ("Council") meeting held April 3-4, 2013 (the "April Meeting") two Official Plan amendments were before Council for adoption: Official Plan Amendment No.214 for new Section 37 Policies related to Affordable Housing (the "Section 37 Affordable Housing Amendment") and Official Plan Amendment No.199 to Adopt new Heritage and Public Realm Policies (the "Heritage and Public Realm Policies Amendment").

The Section 37 Affordable Housing Amendment was not adopted at the April Meeting, but instead was referred to the Chief Planner and Executive Director of City Planning with a report to be provided to Council for its June 11-12, 2013 meeting. Specifically, Council sought information regarding the implications of removing two provisions from the Section 37 Affordable Housing Amendment and regarding the creation of a definition of affordable ownership housing. Further, Council requested information concerning the results of consultation on the amendment. It is anticipated that the Section 37 Affordable Housing Amendment will once again be before Council for adoption at its meeting on June 11-12, 2013.

The Heritage and Public Realm Policies Amendment, however, was adopted by Council on April 4th, 2013. The changes to the Official Plan brought forward in this amendment are in response to the 2005 Ontario Heritage Act, the 2005 Provincial Policy Statement and the 2006 Provincial Growth Plan for the Greater Golden Horseshoe, all of which include policies regarding heritage properties. More specifically, the Heritage and Public Realm Policies Amendment includes new policies that set out the procedures and structure for heritage and archaeological preservation in the City, encourage the raising of heritage and archaeological awareness throughout the City, and provide for the protection of heritage features through the evaluation of new construction or alterations on or adjacent to heritage properties. Notably, the new policies also establish a Heritage Register as required by the Heritage Act, mandate the completion of Heritage Impact Assessments under certain circumstances, and require the adoption of a heritage management plan and archaeological management plan by the City. Incentives to encourage the preservation of heritage properties are also provided, including allowing additional gross floor area in excess of what is permitted in the zoning by-law up to the gross floor area of the heritage property.

Interestingly, the new policies now provide for the protection of "significant views" to landmark buildings, landscapes, the downtown/financial district and natural heritage features (new Policies 9, 10, 11 and 12 under Section 3.1.1 and new Policies 43-45 under Section 3.1.5). For example, the view of the downtown/financial district skyline from a number of locations including the eastbound Gardiner Expressway and the Toronto Islands is protected under the new heritage policies.

Finally, a number of policies regarding the securing of heritage easement agreements have been implemented. For example, heritage easement agreements are to be secured:

  • where feasible when a City-owned heritage property is sold, leased or transferred to another owner;
  • from publicly funded institutions such as universities, schools and hospitals as a condition of accepting heritage conservation or maintenance incentives;
  • from designated heritage property owners where additional protection beyond designation is warranted due to location, proposed alteration and/or the nature of that property;
  • when a property on the Heritage Register is to be relocated as a means of securing the conditions related to the relocation; and
  • where archaeological resources of heritage value are to be preserved in situ.

Given the restrictive nature of heritage easement agreements and the onerous obligations placed on property owners within such agreements, these new policies should be of note as such agreements appear to be required much more frequently under the amended Official Plan.

A further bulletin regarding the Employment Uses Policies will also be released by McMillan LLP in the near future.

The foregoing provides only an overview. Readers are cautioned against making any decisions based on this material alone. Rather, a qualified lawyer should be consulted.

© Copyright 2013 McMillan LLP

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Annik Forristal
In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.