Canada: Adequacy Of Crown Consultation Not Required To Be Determined By Joint Review Panel

Métis Nation Of Alberta Region 1 v. Joint Review Panel
Last Updated: December 31 2012
Article by Michael G. Massicotte and Adrienne Wong

Most Read Contributor in Canada, September 2016

In a decision released November 26, 2012, the Alberta Court of Appeal, in Métis Nation of Alberta Region 1 v. Joint Review Panel,1 dismissed an application by the Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation, and the Métis Nation of Alberta Region 1 and others,2 requesting leave to appeal a decision by the Joint Review Panel for Shell Canada's Jackpine Mine Expansion Project. The Panel had concluded that it did not have jurisdiction to consider whether the Crown had complied with its obligation to consult with aboriginal peoples.


Shell Canada ("Shell") had applied to amend its license to expand its Jackpine oil sands mine and related processing facilities near Fort McMurray (the "Jackpine Expansion Project"). Regulatory approval was required from the Energy Resources Conservation Board (the "ERCB") and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency.

In September 2011, the ERCB and the Federal Minister of the Environment entered into an agreement (the "Agreement") creating a joint review panel (the "Panel").3 The Agreement set out the Panel's mandate, providing that it must "discharge the responsibilities of the ERCB under the Energy Resources Conservation Act." The Agreement also addressed the scope of the Panel's mandate respecting aboriginal issues, and specifically stated that the Panel was not required to make any determinations as to whether the governments of Alberta and Canada (collectively, the "Crown") had met their respective duties to consult or accommodate.

The Panel scheduled a public hearing of Shell's application in October 2012. The Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation and the Métis Nation (collectively, the "Applicants") filed Notices of Questions of Constitutional Law (the "Constitutional Questions") which related to whether the Crown had discharged its constitutional obligations to consult with aboriginal groups. The Panel held a preliminary hearing to consider the scope of the Constitutional Questions that would be considered at the main hearing.

On October 26, 2012, the Panel issued its decision, declining to consider the Constitutional Questions (the "Decision").4 The Panel gave a number of reasons for its Decision, including that it did not have express statutory authority to consider the adequacy of Crown consultation. The Panel further held that even if it had jurisdiction to hear the Constitutional Questions, it would be premature to make a finding because Crown consultation was still underway and the Panel's report would constitute part of the consultation process.

The Applicants indicated that they intended to apply for leave to appeal the Panel's Decision and requested that the Panel adjourn the hearing to allow it to do so. On October 30, 2012, the Panel decided that the hearing would continue as scheduled.5

The Métis Nations and Athabasca Chipewyan First Nation applied to the Alberta Court of Appeal for leave to appeal the Panel's Decision on a number of issues related to the Panel's refusal to consider the adequacy of Crown consultation, including whether the Panel had erred in determining: a) that it did not have jurisdiction to hear these issues; and b) that even if it had jurisdiction, it would have been premature for it to make any findings on them.


The Court of Appeal found that in light of the potentially conflicting views in its prior decision in Dene Tha' First Nation v. Alberta,6 in which it was held that the panel had no jurisdiction over the Crown's duty to consult, and the Supreme Court of Canada's subsequent decision in Rio Tinto,7 relied upon by the Applicants, there was sufficient arguable merit to warrant further consideration of the Panel's jurisdiction. As well, the Panel's statement that all of its jurisdiction has to arise from statute, and the extent to which there are any limitations on the Panel's general jurisdiction to consider constitutional questions that arise within its mandate, also raised issues of arguable merit.

However, in dismissing the applications, it was held that the determination of the Constitutional Questions would not have any effect on the outcome of the hearing before the Panel. It was clear from the Agreement that the Panel was not required to decide whether the Crown had met its duties to consult. As a result, even if the Court of Appeal were to conclude that the Panel had jurisdiction to consider the proposed Constitutional Questions, it was entitled not to do so at this stage.

The Panel's determination that it was premature to consider the proposed Constitutional Questions, in addition to not being a question of law and, therefore, not an issue for which leave to appeal may be granted, was entitled to great deference. There would be no point considering whether the Crown had complied with its duty to consult when the Crown itself acknowledged that it had not done so, and the Panel had concluded that the consultation process was continuing and that the hearing constituted part of that process.

The Court went on to confirm prior decisions holding that it is generally preferable to wait until the tribunal has finished its work before considering whether leave to appeal should be granted on any issues. As held, if there are issues to be appealed, it is much better that they be appealed all at once, and in the context of a specific decision or result, since the tribunal's ultimate decision might be acceptable to the applicants for leave to appeal.8

Finally, it was noted that the Applicants are not left without a remedy. If the Jackpine Expansion is ever set to proceed prior to the completion of the required consultation, the Applicants would be able to pursue their remedies against the Crown in the Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta, as the issuance of a permit for the Jackpine Mine Expansion Project would not have the effect of extinguishing the Crown's duty to consult.


While this decision is largely fact driven having regard to the express wording of the Agreement, and while no conclusive findings were made as to whether the Panel has jurisdiction to consider the adequacy of Crown consultation, the Court of Appeal nonetheless commented that under the Agreement, "[t]he Joint Review Panel is to 'discharge the responsibilities of the ERCB', and it is not obvious that the Board's ability to consider constitutional issues is limited."9 That said, in light of section 21 of Bill 2: Responsible Energy Development Act, which provides that the single Alberta Energy Regulator will have no jurisdiction with respect to assessing the adequacy of Crown consultation10 (the Alberta Energy Regulator is expected to be appointed by June 2013 – see page 2 of our November 2012 Bulletin), the ongoing debate as to whether the ERCB has jurisdiction to consider the adequacy of Crown consultation, at least in terms of energy developments, will apparently assume much less significance once the new Regulator has been appointed.

The Applicants have indicated that they may apply for leave to appeal to the Supreme Court of Canada. We intend to monitor any further developments in this matter very closely.


1 Métis Nation of Alberta Region 1 v. Joint Review Panel, 2012 ABCA 352, per Slatter, J.A. (Application heard November 9, 2012, Reasons for Decision filed November 26, 2012) (the "CA Decision").

2 The latter group was representing the interests of various Métis people who live near the Jackpine mine (collectively, the "Métis Nation").

3 To reduce duplication, the provincial and federal governments had enacted provisions to allow for the joint review of projects by federal and provincial agencies by entering into an agreement creating a joint review panel under section 22(3) of the Energy Resources Conservation Act, RSA 2000, c. E-10 (the "ERCA"), and section 40 of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 SC 2012, c. 19.

4 The Panel's decision may be found at: .

5 The Panel's ruling in relation to the motion for an adjournment of the hearing may be found at: .

6 Dene Tha' First Nation v Alberta (Energy and Utilities Board), 2005 ABCA 68 at para. 28, 45 Alta LR (4th) 213, 363 AR 234.

7 Rio Tinto Alcan Inc. v Carrier Sekani Tribal Council, 2010 SCC 43, [2010] 2 SCR 650.

8 In para. 15 of the CA Decision, the Court of Appeal noted the Crown's position that issues of the adequacy of consultation have rarely arisen, because in the end it has almost always been possible to satisfy all of the outstanding aboriginal issues during the approval process.

9 See para. 10 of the CA Decision.

10 Section 21 of Bill 2: Responsible Energy Development Act, which received Royal Assent December 10, 2012, provides as follows: Crown consultation with aboriginal peoples 21 The Regulator has no jurisdiction with respect to assessing the adequacy of Crown consultation associated with the rights of aboriginal peoples as recognized and affirmed under Part II of the Constitution Act, 1982.

About BLG

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.