Canada: Foreign Investment Review Of CNOOC/Nexen Extended A Second Time In Lead-Up To Government Guidance On Foreign Investments By State-Owned Enterprises

On November 2, 2012, Christian Paradis, federal Minister of Industry, announced that CNOOC Limited had agreed to a further extension of the Minister's review, under the Investment Canada Act ("ICA"), of CNOOC's proposed acquisition of Canadian energy company, Nexen Inc. CNOOC had filed its application for review under the ICA in late August, 2012, and the Minister had previously extended the initial 45-day review period for the proposed transaction by 30 days on October 11, 2012. Barring further extension, the Minister now has until December 10, 2012 to decide whether the proposed takeover of Nexen by CNOOC, a Chinese state-owned enterprise ("SOE"), is likely to be of "net benefit" to Canada, which is the test for approval of reviewable foreign investments under the ICA.

While it is not unusual for the Minister to seek a further extension of the review period beyond 75 days, the additional extension in the CNOOC/Nexen case is significant because:

  • the proposed transaction has generated considerable media attention and political debate on a variety of issues, including the advisability of foreign state control over Canada's natural resources, concerns about how SOEs will operate Canadian businesses post-acquisition and the difficulty that Canadian firms have investing in China;
  • significant public airing of these issues has raised expectations that the Government's ultimate decision on the proposed transaction will shed new light on its approach to future SOE investments that are reviewable under the ICA, and the Government has signaled that additional policy guidance on SOE investments will be forthcoming following or concurrently with its decision on the CNOOC/Nexen transaction;
  • anticipation around the government's unfolding approach to SOE investments has been heightened by the Minister's recent interim decision, reached on October 19, 2012, that another SOE investment in Canada's oil patch, the proposed acquisition of Calgary energy firm, Progress Energy, by Petronas, a Malaysian SOE, was not likely to be of net benefit to Canada; and
  • the extended review period for CNOOC/Nexen should provide the government with the scheduling flexibility, if desired, to announce decisions on the CNOOC/Nexen and Petronas/Progress transactions together with the issuance of a new policy framework on SOE investments under the ICA. If the Minister intends to use the full period of the extension agreed by CNOOC, a further extension of the Petronas/Progress review would be required to enable decisions on both proposed transactions to be announced together.

We will provide commentary following government decisions on CNOOC/Nexen, Petronas/Progress and any new policy guidelines on SOE investments generally.

The "net benefit" test and SOEs

A direct acquisition by a non-Canadian controlled entity of a Canadian business that surpasses a prescribed financial threshold (currently assets with a book value of more than C$330 million) cannot be completed until and unless the foreign investor satisfies the Minister that the transaction is likely to be of net benefit to Canada. Traditionally, foreign investors have satisfied the net benefit criteria by providing undertakings that address factors such as employment, capital expenditures, research and development and participation of Canadians in the management of the Canadian and global operations of the acquired business.

In the case of investments by SOEs, the Minister has also considered the corporate governance and reporting structure of the SOE to assess whether Canadian standards of transparency and independent board members and auditors, for example, are maintained. The Minister has also assessed whether post-acquisition the Canadian business will continue to operate on a commercial basis. Industry Canada guidelines issued in 2007 suggested that the listing of shares of the acquiring company, or the Canadian business being acquired, on a Canadian stock exchange is an example of how an SOE could enhance an ICA application in this regard.

CNOOC/Nexen and Petronas/Progress

On July 23, 2012, CNOOC Limited, a publicly traded corporation listed on the Hong Kong and New York Stock Exchanges, announced an agreement to acquire Nexen Inc. for approximately C$15 billion. China National Offshore Oil Corporation, which is wholly-owned by the Chinese State, holds approximately a 65% interest in CNOOC Limited. Nexen is reported to be Canada's sixth largest independent oil and gas company, with significant operations in the oil sands as well as shale gas properties in western Canada.

On June 28, 2012, Petronas, the Malaysian state-owned oil and gas company, announced a proposed acquisition of Progress Energy, a mid-sized energy company based in Calgary, Alberta, for approximately C$6 billion. Progress operates primarily in the exploration, development and production of natural gas and light oil resources in northeastern British Columbia and northwest Alberta.

The Minister's interim decision, on October 19, 2012, that the Petronas/Progress deal was not likely to be of net benefit to Canada, triggered a further 30 day period (subject to further extension by agreement) in which Petronas may make further submissions or further undertakings to demonstrate net benefit to Canada. It has been reported that the parties have extended the outside date under their merger agreement to November 30, 2012 and are in active discussions with the government in relation to the net benefit review.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

In association with
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.