Brazil: New Merger Review Process in Brazil

Last Updated: 11 June 2012
Article by Gustavo Flausino Coelho

Since 1994, when the current Brazilian antitrust law (Law no. 8,884/1994) was enacted, the merger review process has been subject to criticism, mainly focused on the post-closing emphasis of the review process. According to the 1994 law, any transaction that meets one of the legal criteria1 must be submitted for review by the antitrust authorities.2 Such notification must be made within 15 business days from the execution of the first binding transaction document. Thus, the parties can execute the transaction agreements and implement all provisions set forth (i.e., close the transaction) without waiting for the antitrust clearance.

The absence of conditions precedent and a waiting period—common in a pre-closing regime—have restricted the effectiveness of CADE's decisions, since the authority has refrained from taking severe decisions (e.g., disapproval and/or divestiture) years after the completion of a merger between competitors. Thus, the purpose of the authority (to restore and protect competition) is hardly achieved in the current legal framework.

Other sensitive issues related to the current legal framework have been pointed out by scholars and antitrust practitioners. For example, the 2010 report3 issued by the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OCDE) and the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) presented several recommendations that could be adopted through the issuance of a new antitrust law modifying the merger review process. The OECD/IDB report addressed two main topics for adjustments. The first suggestion made by the report was to consolidate the investigative, prosecutorial and adjudicative functions of the SBDC into one autonomous agency. The second suggestion was to modify the merger notification and review process to (i) establish a pre-merger notification system, (ii) eliminate the market share notification threshold and adopt criteria based on the domestic turnover of both the larger and the smaller parties in a transaction and (iii) eliminate the notification of non-merger transactions.

Seeking to improve the Brazilian antitrust system, the new Brazilian antitrust Law no. 12,529/2011 (New Antitrust Law) was enacted after several years of discussion in the Congress. The law revokes the previous framework of Law 8,884/1994 and sets forth significant changes.4 As expected, one of the major modifications is the adoption of a pre-merger review system with the centralization of the activities by CADE.5

Notification Scope and Thresholds

One sensitive aspect of the prior law was the scope of the transactions filed with SBDC for merger review, as encompassed in the definition of "concentration act." According to Art. 54 of Law no. 8,884/1994, any transaction that may restrict competition is to be considered a concentration act, regardless of its corporate structure.

The New Antitrust Law in contrast lists the acts that may be considered as a concentration act: (i) merger of two or more independent companies; (ii) direct or indirect acquisition, by one or more companies, of control of a company or part of another company (through the acquisition or transfer of shares, securities, tangible or intangible assets); (iii) merger of a company with another company; and (iv) execution of joint venture, consortium or association agreements between two or more companies.6 Therefore, the new wording seems to exclude commercial agreements, such as supply and distribution agreements, which were not clearly exempted by the previous law and thus caused constant discussion in the case law.

Another change has focused on the thresholds applicable in order to trigger the obligation to submit a transaction to CADE. The previous antitrust law set forth two alternative thresholds: (i) if any economic group involved in the transaction achieved gross turnover (in its official financial statements) in the last financial year in Brazil of at least R$400 million or (ii) if the transaction would result in a market share in any relevant market of at least 20 percent.

These thresholds were considered inadequate as criteria for mandatory notification of transactions, because they triggered the obligation to notify a number of transactions that did not have any anticompetitive effects. For example, if an economic group with high turnover decided to divest operations and cease activities in a specific market and sell the business to a new company without activities in Brazil, the transaction would still have been filed with SBDC due to the turnover threshold.

The New Antitrust Law applies a different rationale, deleting the market share threshold and restructuring the turnover thresholds, in order to create a two-step test: (i) gross turnover in the last financial year in Brazil of at least R$750 million by one of the economic groups involved and (ii) gross turnover in the last financial year in Brazil of at least R$75 million by another economic group involved. This new threshold seeks to reduce the submission of insignificant transactions to CADE and to focus on the relevant transactions.7

New CADE and the Clearance Timeframe

The New Antitrust Law created a new position in CADE's structure: the Superintendent. After the notification by the parties, the transaction documents will be accepted by the Superintendent (in case the notification provides all the required information)8, who will analyze the documents and either promptly decide to clear the transaction or request additional information.

The Superintendent can clear a transaction after additional information is requested, or can request extra time, if the transaction is considered a complex concentration act. Even complex cases can be cleared by the Superintendent after the analysis is completed.

If the Superintendent concludes that the transaction under analysis should be restricted or blocked, the Superintendent will present an opinion memorandum to CADE's Commissioners (collectively called the Tribunal9). Then, the Reporting Commissioner will review the transaction and present it to the Tribunal for a vote. Although all concentration acts may be reviewed and decided by the Tribunal, several transactions10 may be cleared directly by the Superintendent. This mechanism will allow the Commissioners to develop a better analysis, without the burden of reviewing and voting on the clearance of every concentration act.

The New Antitrust Law sets forth that final CADE clearance must be given before the completion of the transaction under antitrust review. Hence, the New Antitrust Law also establishes a maximum term of 240 days from the date of the notification for CADE to issue its decision, which can be extended for 60 days by request of the parties, or for 90 days by decision of the Tribunal. CADE's Attorney General Office has stated11 that any concentration act under review for more than 330 days will be automatically approved without restrictions. Concern has been expressed that the time frame for clearance under the new law is inconsistent with international merger control review practice.

Conclusion

After significant developments in the Brazilian antitrust policy and CADE case law during the effectiveness of the 1994 antitrust law, the antitrust framework is mature to improve and implement the pre-merger regime. The New Antitrust Law will thus allow Brazil to establish itself as a country with a serious merger review system, enabling CADE to confirm its role as a leading international competition agency.12

Footnotes

1 Market share threshold (one of the parties involved in the transaction or the resulting entity owns 20 percent or more of a relevant market) or turnover threshold (the turnover in Brazil in the last financial year, by at least one of the economic groups to which one of the parties to the transaction belongs, is greater than 400 million reais).

2 The Brazilian Antitrust System (SBDC) is composed of three administrative entities that are jointly responsible for the antitrust enforcement: (i) Secretariat for Economic Law of the Ministry of Justice (SDE); (ii) Secretariat for Economic Monitoring of the Ministry of Finance (SEAE); and (iii) Administrative Council for Economic Defense (CADE).

3 OECD / IDB. Competition Law and Policy in Brazil – A Peer Review. 2010.

4 The New Antitrust Law was approved by the President on November 30, 2011 and published in the Brazilian National Gazette on December 1, 2011. Considering the 180-day vacatio legis from the publication date, the New Antitrust Law will be in force on May 29, 2012. Thus, transactions notified until June 19, 2012 (i.e., 15 business days from May 28, 2012, the last effective day of the previous law) shall follow the previous post-closing merger review process.

5 According to the new law, the SBDC will now be composed only of CADE and SEAE. SDE will be merged into the new CADE, and SEAE will only handle competition advocacy issues.

6 Consortium agreements executed by companies in order to participate of public bids and to execute agreements with the Brazilian Government are not considered to be concentration acts (exception set forth in Art. 90, sole paragraph, of the New Antitrust Law).

7 However, as under current law, the turnover of the entire group of both the seller and the buyer must be considered. As a result, if a subsidiary of a parent group with Brazil turnover in excess of the threshold is being sold, the threshold is met even though the target subsidiary itself may not meet the threshold. It should be noted that the figures stated in the text above reflect the increased turnover thresholds established by Interministerial Ordinance No. 994/2012 issued on 31 May 2012.

8 After the acceptance by the Superintendent, the concentration act will be disclosed to third parties by the publication in the Brazilian National Gazette of the name of the parties, the purpose of the transaction and the economic sector involved.

9 The Tribunal is composed by one Chairman and six Commissioners. The Tribunal will hold regular fortnightly meetings to review the concentration acts. Each member of the Tribunal has one vote (the Chairman has the deciding vote). Each Commissioner's term of office is four years, and the terms are designed in order to avoid coincident expiration.

10 The decision of the Superintendent to approve a transaction without restrictions shall be considered as the final CADE decision, if no third party or the Tribunal challenges the Superintendent's decision within 15 days of its publication.

11 Opinion No. 17/2012/PROCADE/PGF/AGU issued by the CADE's Attorney General Office on December 16, 2012.

12 CADE was awarded the prize of Best Agency of the Americas 2011 by the Global Competition Review.

Observations in this article about Brazilian law are by Tauil & Chequer Advogados. They are not intended to provide legal advice to any entity; any entity considering the possibility of a transaction must seek advice tailored to its particular circumstances.

Visit us at Tauil & Chequer

Founded in 2001, Tauil & Chequer Advogados is a full service law firm with approximately 90 lawyers and offices in Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo and Vitória. T&C represents local and international businesses on their domestic and cross-border activities and offers clients the full range of legal services including: corporate and M&A; debt and equity capital markets; banking and finance; employment and benefits; environmental; intellectual property; litigation and dispute resolution; restructuring, bankruptcy and insolvency; tax; and real estate. The firm has a particularly strong and longstanding presence in the energy, oil and gas and infrastructure industries as well as with pension and investment funds. In December 2009, T&C entered into an agreement to operate in association with Mayer Brown LLP and become "Tauil & Chequer Advogados in association with Mayer Brown LLP."

© Copyright 2012. Tauil & Chequer Advogados, a Brazilian law partnership with which Mayer Brown is associated. All rights reserved.

This article provides information and comments on legal issues and developments of interest. The foregoing is not a comprehensive treatment of the subject matter covered and is not intended to provide legal advice. Readers should seek specific legal advice before taking any action with respect to the matters discussed herein.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Position
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Compliance
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.