Australia: Competition Review: December 2015

RECENT ENFORCEMENT DEVELOPMENTS

Court finds that Jetstar and Virgin Australia engaged in misleading 'drip pricing' practices

On 17 November 2015, the Federal Court of Australia found that Jetstar Airways Pty Ltd (Jetstar) and Virgin Australia Airlines Pty Ltd (Virgin) contravened the Australian Consumer Law (ACL) by engaging in misleading or deceptive conduct and making false or misleading representations about the price of particular advertised airfares.

In relation to Jetstar, the Court found that representations about specific advertised airfares made on its website in 2013, and its mobile site in 2014, were false or misleading. However, the Court held that the ACCC had not established that the alleged misleading representations were made by Jetstar on its 2014 website, nor in its promotional emails in 2014.

In relation to Virgin, the Court found that the representations made on its mobile site in 2014 about specific advertised airfares were false or misleading. The Court held that the ACCC had not established that the alleged misleading representations were made by Virgin on its website, nor in its promotional emails of 2014.

The relevant conduct in both of these proceedings is an example of 'drip pricing'. Drip pricing is where a headline price is advertised at the beginning of an online purchasing process and additional fees and charges (which may be unavoidable or applied in most transactions) are then incrementally disclosed. This can result in consumers paying a higher price than the advertised price and spending more than they realise.

The ACCC alleged in these proceedings that, in relation to specific advertised airfares, Jetstar and Virgin failed to adequately disclose an additional Booking and Service Fee ($8.50 and $7.70 respectively) which was charged on bookings paid using most credit cards or PayPal (and additionally in the case of Virgin, by debit card).

Drip pricing conduct was a priority enforcement area in the ACCC's 2014 Compliance and Enforcement Policy with the ACCC addressing identified behaviour across a number of industries. It remains a focus for the ACCC, as part of the ACCC's current priority area of systemic consumer issues in the online marketplace.

A hearing on relief will be held on a date to be fixed by the Court.

Federal Court finds Chrisco's lay-by agreements contained unfair contract term

On 11 November 2015, the Federal Court has found that Chrisco Hampers Australia Ltd (Chrisco) breached the ACL in relation to its sale of hampers to consumers by lay-by agreement, in proceedings brought by the ACCC.

The Court found that Chrisco included an unfair contract term in its 2014 lay-by agreements relating to its "HeadStart Plan", which allowed Chrisco to continue to take payments by direct debit after the consumer had fully paid for their lay-by order. Consumers were required to 'opt out' in order to avoid having further payments automatically deducted by Chrisco after their lay-by had been paid for.

In concluding that the HeadStart term was unfair, Justice Edelman considered the contract as a whole, including the transparency of the term, and concluded that the term caused a significant imbalance in the rights and obligations between Chrisco and its customers.

The matter is now to be set down for a penalty hearing on date to be fixed.

RECENT MERGER DEVELOPMENTS

Iron Mountain Incorporated – proposed acquisition of Recall Holdings Limited

On 5 November 2015, the ACCC released a Statement of Issues (SOI) (see here) on the proposed acquisition of Recall Holdings Limited (Recall) by Iron Mountain Incorporated (Iron Mountain).

Iron Mountain proposes to acquire Recall by a scheme of arrangement. Under the proposed transaction, Iron Mountain will acquire all of Recall's operations, including in Australia, North America, South America, Europe and the Asia-Pacific.

Iron Mountain is a global supplier of information management services based in the United States, with operations in every state and territory in Australia. Recall is an Australian public company that is also a global supplier in the information management industry. Recall has operations in every Australian state and territory, with the exception of the Northern Territory.

The ACCC is concerned that the proposed acquisition would:

  1. likely lead to a substantial lessening of competition in a national market for the supply of physical document management services; and
  2. may lead to a substantial lessening of competition in regional markets, centred on each state and territory capital city (excluding the Northern Territory).

For the national market, the ACCC is specifically concerned that the proposed acquisition would lessen constraints faced by Iron Mountain and would be likely to lead to an increase in prices and/or a reduction in service. Recall and Iron Mountain are the two largest providers of physical document management services in Australia. The combined national market share of the merger parties would be between 59 and 71 per cent, and regional markets would be similarly concentrated.

For the regional market, the ACCC is specifically concerned about the merged parties enjoying high market shares in each regional market, limited competitive constraints and barriers to entry.

Iron Mountain and Recall compete closely for both national customers who require document storage in multiple locations, and local customers who require storage in just one region. Few other suppliers can supply customers in multiple regions. The individual regional markets are also concentrated, despite the presence of several smaller suppliers in each.

Submissions in relation to the SOI closed on 19 November 2015 with the ACCC aiming to announce its final decision on 15 December 2015.

RECENT AUTHORISATION DEVELOPMENTS

ACCC extends decision date after ihail revises taxi booking app

On 10 November 2015, the ACCC extended the timeframe for making a final decision on ihail's application for authorisation.

On 12 October 2015, the ACCC released a draft determination proposing to deny authorisation to a joint venture between a number of Australian regional taxi cab companies and other operators to launch the ihail smartphone application (ihail) within the Australian market.

In the draft decision the ACCC raised concerns that the joint venture could reduce competition between taxi networks and reduce the viability of existing taxi booking apps. Importantly, passengers would only be able to pay for fares booked with ihail through the app, and these payments would be exclusively processed by Cabcharge. The ACCC was concerned this would shut out opportunities for Cabcharge's competitors to provide non-cash payment processing services to ihail customers, and therefore this would significantly reduce competition between taxi payment processing providers.

ihail has since made a revised submission proposing changes to how its smartphone taxi booking app will operate and its proposed business model.

Changes include:

  • amending the exclusive Cabcharge booking feature to allow for in car payment. This change will allow consumers to choose to pay in-car, using cash or any chosen credit or debit card;
  • disabling the tipping and priority dispatch payments for taxi services; and
  • amending the app to allow customers to choose which taxi network they wish to book on, thereby giving taxi's an incentive to compete on price, dispatch times and via customer ratings.

A final decision is now expected in February/March 2016.

Sea Swift withdraws application for merger authorisation

Sea Swift Pty Ltd (Sea Swift) has withdrawn its application to the Australian Competition Tribunal for authorisation to acquire the Northern Australia based marine freight business of Toll Marine Logistics Australia, which is a division of Toll Holdings Limited.

On 9 July 2015, the ACCC announced its decision to oppose Sea Swift's proposed acquisition because it was likely to have the effect of substantially lessening competition.

ACCC DEVELOPMENTS

Federal government releases response to the Harper Competition Policy Review

On 24 November 2015, the Federal Government released its response to the Competition Policy Review chaired by Professor Ian Harper (Harper Review). The government states that it supports 44 of the Harper Review recommendations in full or in part and "remains open to" the remaining 12 recommendations subject to further review and consultation. Once implemented, there will be significant changes to the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth), ACCC processes (e.g. merger clearance) and significant changes to a number of industries. For more information, see the Corrs in Brief article here.

Unfair Contract Terms Regime for Small Businesses

On 12 November 2015, the Treasury Legislation Amendment (Small Business and Unfair Contract Terms) Act 2015 (Cth) was given Royal Assent. This legislation extends the application of the unfair contract term provisions in the Australian Securities and Investment Commissions Act 2001 (Cth) and the ACL to apply to small business contracts and supplements the existing law on unfair contract terms for consumers.

The protections will come into effect on 12 November 2016. Businesses have a one year grace period to review and amend their standard form contracts in order to comply with the new regime. On 17 November 2015, the ACCC's media release reminded businesses to closely review the standard form contracts they use when dealing with other businesses and released two videos to help small businesses understand their rights and obligations under the new law.

For more information, see the Corrs in Brief article here.

Australia and China to cooperate on cartel investigations

On 5 November 2015, it was announced that the ACCC and the National Development and Reform Commission of the People's Republic of China (NDRC) signed a memorandum of understanding, which is envisaged to increase engagement between the ACCC and NDRC on international cartel investigations affecting Australian and Chinese markets. Where the ACCC and NDRC take action in relation to the same or related anti-competitive conduct, the parties may exchange information and evidence regarding the action.

The NDRC's Bureau of Price Supervision and Antimonopoly is one of three bodies administering China's Anti-Monopoly Law. It is the agency responsible for price supervision and related enforcement action. The ACCC now has cooperation agreements in place with all three of China's competition agencies.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

Most awarded firm and Australian deal of the year
Australasian Legal Business Awards
Employer of Choice for Women
Equal Opportunity for Women
in the Workplace (EOWA)

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on Mondaq.com.

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Authors
 
Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Tools
Print
Font Size:
Translation
Channels
Mondaq on Twitter
 
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
 
Email Address
Company Name
Password
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Accounting
 Anti-trust
 Commercial
 Consumer
 Criminal
 Employment
 Energy
 Environment
 Family
 Finance
 Government
 Healthcare
 Immigration
 Insolvency
 Insurance
 International
 IP
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Litigation
 Media & IT
 Privacy
 Real Estate
 Strategy
 Tax
 Technology
 Transport
 Wealth Mgt
Regions
Africa
Asia
Asia Pacific
Australasia
Canada
Caribbean
Europe
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
U.K.
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement

Mondaq.com (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of www.mondaq.com

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about Mondaq.com’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.

Disclaimer

Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.

Registration

Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to unsubscribe@mondaq.com with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.

Cookies

A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.

Links

This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.

Mail-A-Friend

If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.

Security

This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to webmaster@mondaq.com.

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to EditorialAdvisor@mondaq.com.

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at enquiries@mondaq.com.

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at problems@mondaq.com and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.