Australia: Competition Review: March 2015/1


Origin Companies ordered to pay penalties of $325,000 for misleading consumers about discounts under energy plans

On 10 February 2015, in proceedings brought by the ACCC, the Federal Court of Australia (Court), ordered by consent that Origin Energy Limited and two of its subsidiaries (Origin Energy Electricity Limited and Origin Energy Retail Limited) (together, Origin) pay penalties totalling $325,000 for making a false or misleading representation in contravention of the Australian Consumer Law (ACL).

In early to mid-2013, representations were made on the Origin website and in confirmation packs sent to consumers that under a DailySaver energy plan (Plan), consumers would receive a discount of up to 16% off Origin's energy usage charges (for electricity) and up to 12% off Origin's energy usage charges (for natural gas) (Discount Representations). The Court held that these Discount Representations were false or misleading because:

  • there was no single set of rates for electricity and gas usage charges for residential customers of Origin; and
  • the rates used to calculate usage charges under a Plan, to which the discount would then be applied, were higher than the rates in the standard retail contracts.

As a result, consumers effectively received less than the advertised discount rate compared to the standard retail contract.

In arriving at the quantum of penalty payable by each business, the Court considered each of the "French factors". Whilst it had regard to the maximum penalty payable per contravention and the need for deterrence, it considered the penalties to be appropriate as a result of matters including that:

  • Origin's size and reputation is such that consumers are likely to have thought that they could rely on the accuracy of its representations;
  • the representations were directed to residential customers and the prominence of the discounts in Origin's campaign is likely to have attracted consumers;
  • the representations were made on the internet and in confirmation packs, which would have increased their reach and the number of consumers who have been affected or likely to have been affected is not insignificant. However, it is probable that some consumers would have reasonably understood how the discounts would have actually been applied;
  • the contraventions were not the most egregious and were not deliberate;
  • no senior executives were involved in the conduct;
  • Origin has never been involved in contravening conduct of the same nature; and
  • Origin cooperated with the ACCC and did not contest liability.

The Court also ordered the publication of a corrective notice in The Advertiser, notification to all affected consumers and payment of a contribution of $25,000 towards the ACCC's costs of the proceedings. In its media release, the ACCC also emphasised that misleading and deceptive conduct about savings and discounts by energy retailers continues to be a priority area for the ACCC.

Simply Energy pays $20,400 penalty for alleged misleading door-to-door sales

On 11 February 2015, IPower Pty Limited (IPower), trading as Simply Energy (in partnership with IPower 2 Pty Limited) paid a penalty of $20,400 following the issuing of two infringement notices by the ACCC for alleged misleading door-to-door sales conduct. The infringement notices were issued because the ACCC had reasonable grounds to believe that IPower made false or misleading representations about the standard or quality of goods in contravention of the ACL.

In separate instances in 2014, sales representatives selling Simply Energy electricity products visited the homes of two consumers in Victoria for the purpose of switching them from their existing electricity supplier to Simply Energy. It is alleged that the sales representatives told the consumers that there was an 'urgent problem' or 'something wrong' with their existing electricity supply, when this was not the case.

The ACCC has previously taken court action and obtained penalties against EnergyAustralia, Neighbourhood Energy, APG, AGL and Origin Energy in respect of door-to-door marketing conduct. Following this spate of ACCC enforcement action, a number of energy retail companies ceased door-to-door marketing activities.


JBS proposed acquisition of Primo not opposed by the ACCC

On 25 November 2014, the ACCC commenced a review under the Merger Process Guidelines in relation to JBS USA Holdings Inc's (JBS) proposed acquisition of Australian Consolidated Food Investments Pty Ltd, trading as Primo Smallgoods (Primo). JBS is primarily a cattle and beef processor which is listed on the Brazil stock exchange, while Primo produces smallgoods under its key brands Primo and Hans.

On 6 February 2015, the ACCC announced that it would not oppose JBS's proposed acquisition of Primo, concluding that no significant competition issues arose during its review. However, the ACCC did note that it will continue to monitor the industry as it is mindful that further consolidations of abattoirs may have adverse competition effects.

Although the parties are active in many markets throughout Australia, the ACCC only considered the effects of the proposed acquisition in the regional market for the acquisition of fat cattle in northern NSW and southern Queensland as this was the only market with enough overlap to raise potential competition concerns. Additionally, in determining the geographic spread of the relevant market, the ACCC considered feedback that cattle usually travel up to 600 kilometres from farm to abattoir and despite the fact that cattle are sometimes acquired from further geographic areas (such as northern Queensland), such purchases were comparatively small.

The ACCC found that acquirers of fat cattle in the relevant market included abattoirs and 'service kill' customers (customers such as supermarkets that engage abattoirs to kill and process cattle acquired by the customer for a fee). Within the relevant market, JBS has an abattoir at Dinmore and Primo has one at Scone, both of which process fat cattle. Those abattoirs are 500 kilometres away from each other, with another seven abattoirs in between them, of which five have a larger capacity than Primo.

Against this background, the ACCC determined that the proposed acquisition is not likely to significantly increase market concentration as sellers of fat cattle would have other potential buyers. In addition, for 'service kill' customers, there would be other abattoirs available to meet their needs if JBS reduces the volume of 'service kills' offered at Scone.

Additionally, on 4 March 2015, Treasurer Joe Hockey announced the Foreign Investment Review Board's (FIRB) approval for the acquisition on condition that:

  • the Scone abattoir must remain open and retain its capacity for 'service kills';
  • JBS reports to the FIRB on its compliance every six months; and
  • the transaction be reviewed in three years.

ACCC urgently investigating Primary Health Care's acquisition of pathology assets previously operated by Healthscope

On 13 February 2015, the ACCC announced that it is urgently investigating Primary Health Care Limited's (Primary) completed acquisition of particular pathology assets operated by Healthscope Limited (Healthscope) in Queensland. In Queensland, Primary operates as QML Pathology (QML).

As this is a review of a completed acquisition, there is no timeline for the review. This demonstrates that although there is no mandatory notification regime, it is advisable to consider voluntary notification, as the ACCC is able to open investigations on its own motion – including after a transaction completes.

Primary and Healthscope are both healthcare companies listed on the Australian Securities Exchange. Prior to the acquisition, QML and Healthscope competed in the supply of community pathology services in Queensland, which include pathology services supplied to out-patients and private hospital in-patients that attract a Medicare rebate.

As such, the ACCC's investigation is focussing on competition in the supply of community pathology services in Queensland and called for submissions from interested parties about the impact or likely impact of the completed acquisition:

  • on the degree of bulk billing for the supply of community pathology services in Queensland generally, and by QML in particular; and
  • on the quality of community pathology services in Queensland, such as the range of tests and trading hours of collection centres in Queensland generally, and by QML in particular.

The ACCC is also assessing the purpose and effect of related agreements entered into by Healthscope and Primary.


ACCC issues a draft determination proposing to allow BARA to continue to negotiate and bargain collectively on behalf of its members

On 11 February 2015, the ACCC issued a draft determination proposing to re-authorise the proposed conduct for a further 10 years. The Board of Airline Representatives of Australia (BARA) is currently authorised to collectively negotiate the terms of acquisition of certain aviation services on behalf of its members. BARA is seeking re-authorisation as its current authorisation is due to expire on 5 June 2015.

BARA currently has 29 member airlines and assists in the negotiation of contracts with service providers such as operators of international airports, the Bureau of Metrology; and Unisys Australia.

The ACCC stated that in the absence of the authorisation, BARA members would be required to negotiate individually with service providers and incur additional resource costs such as legal and advisory costs. Additionally, the reduced resource costs from the proposed conduct would promote more efficient infrastructure investment and reduce information asymmetries.

Further, the ACCC noted that membership to the BARA is voluntary for all parties and there is no evidence to suggest that the authorised conduct has caused public detriment.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

Most awarded firm and Australian deal of the year
Australasian Legal Business Awards
Employer of Choice for Women
Equal Opportunity for Women
in the Workplace (EOWA)

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.