Australia: Competition Review: November 2014


Sydney forklift gas cartel ordered to pay penalties of $8.3 million

On 24 October 2014, the Federal Court (by consent) ordered penalties totalling $8.3 million against Renegade Gas Pty Ltd (trading as Supagas NSW) (Supagas), Speed-E-Gas (NSW) Pty Ltd (Speed-E-Gas) and three current and former senior officers for engaging in cartel conduct from at least 2006 to 2011.

The Court found that they effected a no-poaching understanding where they:

  • would not approach certain customers of the other;
  • would not offer to supply forklift gas to certain customers of the other or only offer to supply at a price it knew was unlikely to induce the customer to change suppliers; and
  • communicate with each other for the purposes of implementing this understanding.

Justice Gordon noted that the longstanding conduct had the potential to adversely affect a high proportion of manufacturing and distribution businesses across Sydney, as those businesses were being denied the opportunity of receiving a competitive offer from either Supagas or Speed-E-Gas.

Supagas was ordered to pay a penalty of $4.8 million, while Speed-E-Gas was ordered to pay a penalty of $3.1 million, as they cooperated with the ACCC's investigations from a very early stage. Former Supagas Managing Director Paul Berman is disqualified for three years from managing a corporation and ordered to pay a penalty of $250,000 (one of the largest penalties ordered against an individual for engaging in cartel conduct). Another senior officer of Supagas was ordered to pay a penalty of $100,000 and a former senior officer of Speed-E-Gas was ordered to pay a penalty of $50,000.

Orders were also given for injunctions and compliance training for Supagas and Mr Berman, as well as contributions to the ACCC's costs totalling in excess of $600,000.

Air cargo cartel proceedings dismissed against Air New Zealand and Garuda Indonesia

On 31 October 2014, the Federal Court dismissed proceedings brought by the ACCC against Air New Zealand Ltd and PT Garuda Indonesia Ltd for alleged price fixing arrangements or understandings with other international air cargo carriers to fix fuel, security and insurance surcharges on air cargo services between 2001 and 2006.

Although Justice Perram concluded that a number of collusive arrangements were made out, he found that the conduct did not take place in a "market in Australia", as required by the former Trade Practices Act 1974 (Cth) (now the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 (Cth)). His Honour pointed to evidence that showed that the surcharges were imposed and collected at the origin airports. Therefore, the competition which occurred between the airlines and which the surcharges interfered with was competition in markets in Hong Kong, Singapore and Indonesia, and not competition in any market in Australia. Justice Perram acknowledged that prices may well have been affected in Australia by the conduct, but that does not mean that the market in which the airlines was competing was located in Australia.

Corrs represented Air New Zealand in these proceedings.

Funeral and cemeteries operator InvoCare pays $102,000 penalty for alleged false or misleading representation

InvoCare Limited has paid a penalty of $102,000 after being issued an infringement notice by the ACCC for allegedly making a false or misleading representation.

InvoCare Limited and its subsidiary, InvoCare Australia Pty Limited (together InvoCare) have also provided a court enforceable undertaking to the ACCC. InvoCare is the largest operator of funeral homes, cemeteries and crematoria in Australia, operating 14 cemeteries and crematoria nationally.

In or around January 2011, InvoCare revised its standard consumer contract to require customers at its cemeteries to:

  • purchase a memorial at the time of using a burial site; and
  • purchase the memorial exclusively from InvoCare.

Following this, the ACCC received numerous complaints that InvoCare had made false or misleading representations to some consumers who had pre-purchased sites prior to January 2011, by stating that they were also subject to the new term. As a result of the ACCC's concerns, InvoCare agreed to conduct internal investigations and acknowledged that the representations made to consumers were likely to have contravened the Australian Consumer Law.

ACCC commences an action against Europcar for unfair contract terms and misleading conduct

On 10 November 2014, the ACCC brought proceedings in the Federal Court against CLA Trading Pty Ltd, trading as Europcar Australia (Europcar), alleging that its standard vehicle rental contract (Rental Contract) contained "unfair terms" including:

  • a term that requires customers to pay Europcar a "Damage Liability Fee" (currently up to $3,650) if the rental vehicle is damaged or stolen, or if there is a third party loss, irrespective of fault; and
  • terms making the consumer fully liable to Europcar if the rental vehicle is damaged or stolen, or if there is a third party loss, where a consumer breaches the rental contract, no matter how trivial the breach and regardless of whether the breach caused the damage or loss.

This proceeding is important as unfair contract terms are one of the ACCC's enforcement priorities and the rental car industry was one of the industries identified in the ACCC's 2013 Report on Unfair Contract Terms that contained problematic terms in their consumer contracts.

The ACCC is seeking declarations that certain terms in Europcar's Rental Contract are unfair and therefore void, injunctions, pecuniary penalties, orders for the publication of corrective notices and compliance program orders.


ACCC releases Statement of Issues on proposed joint venture between CSR Limited and Boral Limited

On 16 October 2014, the ACCC released a Statement of Issues (SOI) on the proposed joint venture (JV) between CSR Limited (CSR) and Boral Limited (Boral) for the manufacture, marketing, and supply of clay bricks. CSR and Boral are both suppliers of a range of products to the building and construction industry in Australia. The proposed JV would be 60% owned by CSR and 40% owned by Boral.

The key competition issues identified by the ACCC are as follows:

  • the proposal would reduce the number of major clay brick suppliers in NSW and Queensland from three to two. Further, the JV and Austral Bricks would account for approximately 99 per cent of the supply and the ACCC raised concerns about the ability and incentive of Austral Bricks to constrain any exercise of unilateral market power by the JV;
  • the resulting duopoly in eastern Australian would be likely to cause an increase in the price of clay bricks and reduce the product range that is available; and
  • other external cladding materials are not substitutes for clay bricks.

The ACCC also stated that the proposed JV may substantially lessen competition in relation to clay brick supply in Victoria and South Australia, notwithstanding the relatively small volumes currently supplied by CSR and Boral. However, the proposed JV was unlikely to raise competition concerns in the Tasmanian market because there is no current overlap between CSR and Boral.

The ACCC identified further lines of inquiry, which include:

  • whether the likely competition effects of the proposed JV should be considered on a wider geographic basis;
  • in order to understand the potential level of substitution, information about customers' purchasing behaviours in response to historical clay brick price increases by CSR, Boral and Austral Bricks; and
  • determining the counterfactual, or the impact of the market if the proposed JV did not proceed.

ACCC releases Statement of Issues on proposed acquisition of Dux by Rheem

On 16 October 2014, the ACCC released its Statement of Issues (SOI) with respect to the proposed acquisition by Rheem Australia Pty Ltd (Rheem) of the water heater assets of Dux Manufacturing Ltd (Dux). Rheem is Australia's largest and Dux is Australia's second largest manufacturer and supplier of water heaters.

In its preliminary statement, the ACCC said that it was concerned that the proposed acquisition is likely to substantially lessen competition in the supply of storage water heaters. This was particularly so in light of the fact that Rheem is the only remaining Australian manufacturer of small vitreous enamel storage water heaters, while all other suppliers (including Dux) import small electric vitreous enamel storage heaters.

The ACCC's market inquiries have indicated that:

  • at present there are few imports for the larger-size storage water heaters commonly used in Australian homes;
  • gas-powered continuous flow water heaters appeared to have increased in popularity in Australia, however this is not a viable option for many consumers, particularly in areas where reticulated gas is unavailable;
  • even for those customers that do have access to reticulated gas, there may be potential limitations on customer switching to continuous flow gas heaters; and
  • when replacing an existing system (which makes up around 70-80% of sales) consumers had a tendency to replace their storage water heater with the same type, because it was often faster and cheaper.

The ACCC relayed concerns by market participants that the proposed acquisition could enable Rheem to raise prices or decrease service or quality in the supply of electric and gas storage water heaters.


ACCC issues first-ever draft determination proposing to authorise resale price maintenance

The ACCC has been able to authorise resale price maintenance (RPM) conduct on public benefit grounds since 1995. However, until this application, no application for authorisation in respect of RPM conduct had ever been made.

On 21 October 2014, the ACCC issued a draft determination proposing to grant conditional authorisation for a period of three years to allow Tooltechnic Systems (Aust) Pty Ltd (Tooltechnic) to revise its retailer agreements to include a contractual obligation on retailers not to resell Festool products below minimum prices nominated by Tooltechnic (Proposed Conduct).

The ACCC accepted that public benefits can address market failures (such as free-riding) and if retail service levels were raised such that some consumers made more informed purchasing decisions, and/or if consumers continued to be offered the choice of purchasing premium products accompanied by a high level of post-sale services. The ACCC also acknowledged that the Proposed Conduct will eliminate intra-brand price competition and some customers will face higher retail prices, but considered that this would be limited due to a wide variety of competing brands.

On balance, the ACCC considered that the public benefits outweighed the detriments and proposes to conditionally authorise the conduct. As part of the conditional authorisation, under the proposed monitoring regime, Tooltechnic must provide information to the ACCC on an annual basis, including minimum retail prices, changes in the type of Festool retailers and the addition or removal of any demonstration or repair facilities for Festool products.

For further details, please see our earlier Corrs in Brief (see here).


ACCC releases its 2013-2014 annual report

On 30 October 2014, the ACCC released its annual report. The report shows that during 2013-2014, the ACCC was involved in:

  • 53 proceedings relating to consumer protection enforcement, securing over $12 million in penalties and other remedies;
  • seven cases alleging cartel conduct before the courts: including the ACCC's action against cartel conduct operating in the market for ball bearings used in motor vehicles and industrial applications. The Federal Court ordered NSK Australia Pty Ltd and Koyo Australia Pty Ltd to pay $3 million and $2 million respectively;
  • 267 recalls of consumer goods;
  • a number of matters to protect and inform small business operators, including securing an order against Taxsmart Group Pty Ltd, Taxsmart Franchising Pty Ltd and Resultsmart Pty Ltd (together Taxsmart) repay $260,400 in franchise fees to five former franchisees for engaging in misleading and deceptive conduct; and
  • conducting a public review of 48 mergers and a confidential review of seven mergers, a decrease of 25 per cent on public reviews and decrease of 42 per cent on confidential reviews in 2012–13.

ACCC issues third carbon monitoring report

On 29 October 2014, the ACCC announced it had provided the third carbon monitoring report to the Treasurer. The report details the ACCC's monitoring activities in the September 2014 quarter to assess the general impact of the carbon tax scheme, and includes the effect of the carbon tax repeal.

The ACCC reports that it:

  • has observed businesses acting quickly to remove carbon tax cost components from prices, with widespread adherence to the reporting and information requirements of the new carbon tax price reduction obligation laws; and
  • is continuing to engage with some businesses to ensure that appropriate steps are taken to remove the carbon tax cost component from their bills and to communicate this to customers.

The publicly available substantiation statements made by retailers make representations of estimated average savings ranging from 5.2% to 12.4% for electricity customers and 3.2% to 8% for natural gas customers, depending on their location and provider.

However, the ACCC is disappointed by the level of detail provided in some responses to the carbon tax removal substantiation notices. The ACCC is continuing to engage with some businesses to obtain information about their direct and indirect carbon cost savings to ascertain that all savings arising from the carbon tax repeal are being passed on.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

Most awarded firm and Australian deal of the year
Australasian Legal Business Awards
Employer of Choice for Women
Equal Opportunity for Women
in the Workplace (EOWA)

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.