Australia: 2013: a year in review - for employment law and workplace relations

Last Updated: 20 December 2013
Article by Alison Spivey

As 2013 draws to a close, we review the significant legal developments in employment law and workplace relations over the previous 12 months.

There have been a number of significant developments in and touching on employment law and workplace relations in the previous 12 months. These developments include further legislative change (introducing unprecedented antibullying laws), a change in the Federal Government, together with landmark judicial decisions and further initiatives to prevent and manage workplace issues such as harassment and discrimination.

In this article we summarise and review these developments and their potential impact for your organisation.


2013 saw a significant development in relation to workplace bullying, with changes to the FW Act establishing a new anti-bullying jurisdiction from 1 January 2014, which is to be overseen by the Commission. The new laws will provide workers who reasonably believe that they are being bullied at work with a further avenue of redress, by applying to the Commission for orders to stop that bullying.

The new anti-bullying laws, (including the guidance material recently published by the Commission about the management of anti-bullying applications), are the subject of a separate article in this edition of Strateg-Eyes.

Change in government

The Coalition Government was elected into power in September 2013. In terms of the potential impact of the change in government from an employment law and workplace relations perspective:

  • the Coalition's workplace relations policy platform heading into the election was reflected in the "The Coalition's Policy to Improve the Fair Work Laws" released in May 2013 ("Policy");
  • the Policy reflected an intention not to enact wholesale changes to the current legislative framework, but instead retain the changes made by the Labor Government except as otherwise set out in the Policy; and
  • the primary areas in which amendments will be sought to be made will be paid parental leave, reestablishing the Australian Building and Construction Commission ("ABCC"), and the rules relating to financial disclosure and conduct of registered organisations and officials (including the introduction of the Registered Organisations Commission to oversee these matters).

The Coalition also flagged its intention to have the Productivity Commission undertake a review of the operation of the FW Act in the Policy.

The Coalition Government tabled legislation seeking to reinstate the ABCC and to enact the changes in relation to registered organisations in the first sitting of the new Parliament in November 2013.

Implied duty of trust and confidence: Barker v Commonwealth Bank of Australia [2013] FCAFC 83

The landmark decision of the Full Federal Court in Barker involved the employer's failure to consult over the redundancy of a longstanding employee's position in accordance with the terms of the employee's employment contract and the employer's policies and procedures.

The decision:

  • confirmed the implied duty of trust and confidence forms part of Australian law. (The basic premise of this duty is that an employer, will not, without reasonable cause, conduct itself in a manner likely to destroy or seriously damage the relationship of confidence and trust between employer and employee);
  • serves as a timely reminder not only of the need to comply with the obligations imposed on your organisation when entering into contracts of employment, but also, particularly in larger organisations, to ensure that your processes are as seamless and coordinated as possible, or you may otherwise face significant consequences.

Unfair dismissal

Throughout 2013 the number of unfair dismissal claims continued to grow, and a large proportion of those claims (approximately 80% in FY2012/13) were settled before or at the conciliation stage.

Where matters have proceeded to hearing, the key cases have continued to be in areas such as employee misconduct, out of hours conduct, use of social media, performance management and drug and alcohol testing, with the Commission continuing to focus on ensuring that employers have complied with their legislative obligations, including having a valid reason for termination and affording an employee procedural fairness.

The decision in Thomas v Newland Food Company Pty Ltd [2013] FWC 8220 demonstrates there may be other areas of an employee's conduct that were not relied on in making the termination decision that will impact on the remedial action taken where a dismissal is found to have been unfair.

In this matter, the employee secretly recorded discussions at meetings between himself and representatives of his employer regarding his workers' compensation claim. Despite numerous failures of the employer in the termination process, the Commission determined that the employee's actions had "destroyed" the trust and confidence in the employment relationship, and ordered compensation in place of reinstatement.

General protections claims

Similar to unfair dismissal claims, general protections claims under the FW Act have also continued to increase year on year, with in excess of 2,800 general protections applications made in FY2012-13.

2013 has seen the further development of precedent in the general protections space, and in particular an increasing understanding of what does, or does not, constitute a "workplace right". A number of cases during this period have also attracted significant penalties of up to hundreds of thousands of dollars in the most serious of matters.

Further, cases such as United Motor Search & Anor v Hanson Construction Materials & Anor [2013] FCA 1104 serve as a timely reminder of:

  • the scope of the general protections provisions (that is, that they are not confined only to the employer-employee relationship, but also extend to contractors and prospective employees); and
  • the availability of alternative remedies such as injunctive relief, and the potential impact that these alternative remedies can have pending resolution of the claim.

Discrimination and harassment

Developments in discrimination and harassment in 2013 included:

  • the referral of the Human Rights and Anti-Discrimination Bill 2012 (the legislation which was intended to consolidate federal anti-discrimination legislation) back to the Attorney-General's Department in February 2013 following parliamentary review;
  • changes to the SD Act to outlaw discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity and intersex status. These changes came into effect on 1 August 2013; and
  • the Federal Government announcing in June 2013 an enquiry into the prevalence of discrimination in the workplace of women who are pregnant or who are returning to work after a period of parental leave. Consultation closes shortly, and the final report from the enquiry is due to be released in June 2014.

In addition, a significant development from the courts in the area of discrimination and harassment was the decision in Richardson v Oracle Corporation Australia Pty Ltd [2013] FCA 102. In that matter, the employer was found to be vicariously liable for sexual harassment by one of its employees after the Court found that the employer's policy was "inadequate" because it did not state that sexual harassment was against the law.

The decision demonstrates the importance of ensuring the terms of your organisation's policies and procedures are appropriate and reflect the potential consequences for an employee of any improper conduct on their part, so that your organisation can defend itself in the face of unlawful conduct, such as sexual harassment, by its employees.

Common time limits

1 January 2013 saw the commencement of a common time limit of 21 days from the date of dismissal for the making of unfair dismissal claims and general protections claims involving dismissal under the FW Act. Previously, eligible employees had 14 days from the date of dismissal to make an unfair dismissal claim, and 60 days from the date of dismissal to make a general protections claim involving dismissal.

Requests for flexible working arrangements

From 1 July 2013, amendments to the FW Act extended the right to request flexible working arrangements to employees:

  • with caring responsibilities (including those with school age children);
  • who are 55-plus years old; or
  • who are experiencing, or supporting a member of their household or immediately family who is experiencing, domestic violence.

The amendments to the FW Act also clarify "reasonable business grounds" upon which an employer may refuse a request for flexible working arrangements.


From 1 July 2013, the minimum superannuation guarantee increased to 9.25%, and is set to increase incrementally to 12% by 2019.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Related Video
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.