Australia: The annual wage review and the minimum wage rate explained

Last Updated: 20 December 2013

Each year, the Fair Work Commission is tasked with the job of reviewing and setting minimum rates of pay for modern awards and the national minimum wage. This is referred to as the 'annual wage review'. The minimum wage plays an important role in providing pay equality and adequate income to low income households. The rates set through this process often have the greatest impact on small to medium businesses as they are required to adapt operations and staffing levels to meet their budgets. In this article, we consider how the minimum rates and wages are determined and likely trends for the next annual wage review.

Since the 1907 Harvester decision and the introduction of the minimum wage into the Australian workplace system, it has been a key function of the Commission (and its predecessor national workplace relations tribunals) to review and set the minimum wage for both employees covered by an award and award free employees. In June 2013, the Commission delivered its fourth annual wage review under the FW Act. As a result of this review, minimum wage entitlements increased to $16.37 an hour from 1 July 2013 – which was a modest increase of 2.6% or $15.80 per week (based on a standard 38 hour week) and lower than determined in last year's review.

How the minimum wage is determined

In conducting the annual wage review the Commission is required to convene an Expert Panel (comprising the President, three full-time members and three part-time members) (the "Panel"). The Panel considers written submissions from interested organisations and individuals (33 interested businesses, governments and industry groups made submissions to the Commission this year), consultations before the Panel and any research which it commissioned as part of the annual wage review. Determining the minimum rates of pay and the national minimum wage is in accordance with the minimum wages objective and:

  • the performance and competitiveness of the nationaleconomy, including productivity, business competitiveness and viability, inflation and employment growth;
  • promoting social inclusion through increased workforce participation;
  • the relative living standards and the needs of the low paid;
  • the principle of equal remuneration for work of equal or comparable value; and
  • providing a comprehensive range of fair minimum wages to junior employees, employees to whom training arrangements apply and employees with a disability.

The 2013 Decision

As one would expect, economic considerations featured highly in the Commission's reasoning and subsequent decision to award a moderate increase "which will result in a small improvement in the real value of modern award minimum wages in 2013-14".1 Notwithstanding reasonably strong economic conditions over the financial year 2012/2013 and the economic outlook remaining favorable for the financial year ahead, the Commission relied on an expected ease in growth of the GDP, an expected increase in the unemployment rate, modest inflation and the increase to the superannuation guarantee rate to account for its decision.

With respect to social considerations and the assessment of relative living standards and the needs of the low paid, including the extent to which low-paid workers are able to achieve a decent standard of living and to engage in community life, the Commission noted that award rates of pay have fallen relative to average earnings, with earnings of award-reliant workers falling behind the rest of the workforce.2 The 2012-13 figures are consistent with an ongoing trend which is resulting in a decline in the relative living standards of award-reliant employees. The Commission also noted the decrease in award-reliant employees and the corresponding increase in employees on collective agreements. While these social considerations did not result in a significant improvement in the minimum rates of pay, the Commission has flagged that it will be addressing the decline in the relative living standards of award-reliant employees in the annual wage review schedule for 2014.

What does this mean for Australian Workers and Employers?

As is typically the case following the annual wage review, the decision has not been without controversy and as noted by the Commission itself "there is often a degree of tension between the economic and the social considerations which we must take into account."3

It is believed that the annual wage review will affect up to 2.3 million people across Australia (including directly affecting over 1.5 million employees who are award reliant), as according to a range of surveys, between 4 and 10 per cent of Australian adults are currently paid at or around the minimum wage. Minimum wage employment is most common in occupations such as food preparation, process workers, sales, hospitality and in agriculture and related occupations. It is also most common amongst younger and older workers, those with low levels of education and across small firms and businesses.

While unions argue that the increase does not go far enough, failing to close the gap between minimum wage earners and the rest of the workforce, employer groups across Australia have labelled the increase a "blow for the small end of town".4 Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry CEO Peter Anderson says the increased wages will "have to be funded by Australia's small and medium business community"5, affecting job security and containable labour cost structures as businesses seek to try to reduce working hours in order to maintain employment. These arguments are reflective of the deeply controversial policy considerations at the heart of annual wage reviews.

The Year Ahead

The process has now commenced for the minimum wage review 2014, with submissions due by 28 March 2014 and consultations scheduled to occur in mid May 2014. For the first time, the Commission is introducing an early consultation process allowing for the hearing of any witness evidence, which is due to occur in Feb/March 2014 (which may be subject to cancellation if there is no interest).

As identified during the 2013 annual wage review and subsequent decision, it is expected the Commission will be addressing the growing earning inequality in real wages compared to non-award covered employees and the associated decline in the relative living standards of award-reliant employees.

The Australian Government Treasury reports the outlook for the economy is favourable, "with solid growth, low unemployment and well contained inflation"6 . The Australian economy is expected to continue to outperform most other advanced economies over the year ahead and in terms of employment conditions it is forecast that there will be continuing low levels of unemployment and high levels of labour force participation. Despite this, it is predicted that wage growth is expected to be subdued. The predictions for wage growth are largely based on a slight easing of GDP growth, slight increase in unemployment and the below-trend outlook for employment growth. Looking at the year ahead, while the Commission has stated that it will be looking to address the living standards of award-reliant employees, it is likely the current economic forecasts may restrict the Commission from awarding anything more than another modest increase.


1 Annual Wage Review [2013] FWCFB 4000 at 44.
2 ibid 32.
3 ibid 10.
4 ABC News On-Line 'Fair Work Commission recommends $15.80 per week rise in minimum wage' accessed at news/2013-06-03/fair-work-commissionrecommends-26-per-cent-rise-in-minimumwa/4729464 on 29 November 2013.
5 id.
6 Australian Government Treasury, Budget Paper No 1, accessed at 2013-14/content/bp1/html/bp1_bst2-01.htm on 3 December 2013.

The content of this article is intended to provide a general guide to the subject matter. Specialist advice should be sought about your specific circumstances.

To print this article, all you need is to be registered on

Click to Login as an existing user or Register so you can print this article.

Some comments from our readers…
“The articles are extremely timely and highly applicable”
“I often find critical information not available elsewhere”
“As in-house counsel, Mondaq’s service is of great value”

Mondaq Advice Centre (MACs)
Up-coming Events Search
Font Size:
Mondaq on Twitter
Register for Access and our Free Biweekly Alert for
This service is completely free. Access 250,000 archived articles from 100+ countries and get a personalised email twice a week covering developments (and yes, our lawyers like to think you’ve read our Disclaimer).
Email Address
Company Name
Confirm Password
Mondaq Topics -- Select your Interests
 Law Performance
 Law Practice
 Media & IT
 Real Estate
 Wealth Mgt
Asia Pacific
European Union
Latin America
Middle East
United States
Worldwide Updates
Check to state you have read and
agree to our Terms and Conditions

Terms & Conditions and Privacy Statement (the Website) is owned and managed by Mondaq Ltd and as a user you are granted a non-exclusive, revocable license to access the Website under its terms and conditions of use. Your use of the Website constitutes your agreement to the following terms and conditions of use. Mondaq Ltd may terminate your use of the Website if you are in breach of these terms and conditions or if Mondaq Ltd decides to terminate your license of use for whatever reason.

Use of

You may use the Website but are required to register as a user if you wish to read the full text of the content and articles available (the Content). You may not modify, publish, transmit, transfer or sell, reproduce, create derivative works from, distribute, perform, link, display, or in any way exploit any of the Content, in whole or in part, except as expressly permitted in these terms & conditions or with the prior written consent of Mondaq Ltd. You may not use electronic or other means to extract details or information about’s content, users or contributors in order to offer them any services or products which compete directly or indirectly with Mondaq Ltd’s services and products.


Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers make no representations about the suitability of the information contained in the documents and related graphics published on this server for any purpose. All such documents and related graphics are provided "as is" without warranty of any kind. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers hereby disclaim all warranties and conditions with regard to this information, including all implied warranties and conditions of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose, title and non-infringement. In no event shall Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers be liable for any special, indirect or consequential damages or any damages whatsoever resulting from loss of use, data or profits, whether in an action of contract, negligence or other tortious action, arising out of or in connection with the use or performance of information available from this server.

The documents and related graphics published on this server could include technical inaccuracies or typographical errors. Changes are periodically added to the information herein. Mondaq Ltd and/or its respective suppliers may make improvements and/or changes in the product(s) and/or the program(s) described herein at any time.


Mondaq Ltd requires you to register and provide information that personally identifies you, including what sort of information you are interested in, for three primary purposes:

  • To allow you to personalize the Mondaq websites you are visiting.
  • To enable features such as password reminder, newsletter alerts, email a colleague, and linking from Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to your website.
  • To produce demographic feedback for our information providers who provide information free for your use.

Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) do not sell or provide your details to third parties other than information providers. The reason we provide our information providers with this information is so that they can measure the response their articles are receiving and provide you with information about their products and services.

If you do not want us to provide your name and email address you may opt out by clicking here .

If you do not wish to receive any future announcements of products and services offered by Mondaq by clicking here .

Information Collection and Use

We require site users to register with Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) to view the free information on the site. We also collect information from our users at several different points on the websites: this is so that we can customise the sites according to individual usage, provide 'session-aware' functionality, and ensure that content is acquired and developed appropriately. This gives us an overall picture of our user profiles, which in turn shows to our Editorial Contributors the type of person they are reaching by posting articles on Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) – meaning more free content for registered users.

We are only able to provide the material on the Mondaq (and its affiliate sites) site free to site visitors because we can pass on information about the pages that users are viewing and the personal information users provide to us (e.g. email addresses) to reputable contributing firms such as law firms who author those pages. We do not sell or rent information to anyone else other than the authors of those pages, who may change from time to time. Should you wish us not to disclose your details to any of these parties, please tick the box above or tick the box marked "Opt out of Registration Information Disclosure" on the Your Profile page. We and our author organisations may only contact you via email or other means if you allow us to do so. Users can opt out of contact when they register on the site, or send an email to with “no disclosure” in the subject heading

Mondaq News Alerts

In order to receive Mondaq News Alerts, users have to complete a separate registration form. This is a personalised service where users choose regions and topics of interest and we send it only to those users who have requested it. Users can stop receiving these Alerts by going to the Mondaq News Alerts page and deselecting all interest areas. In the same way users can amend their personal preferences to add or remove subject areas.


A cookie is a small text file written to a user’s hard drive that contains an identifying user number. The cookies do not contain any personal information about users. We use the cookie so users do not have to log in every time they use the service and the cookie will automatically expire if you do not visit the Mondaq website (or its affiliate sites) for 12 months. We also use the cookie to personalise a user's experience of the site (for example to show information specific to a user's region). As the Mondaq sites are fully personalised and cookies are essential to its core technology the site will function unpredictably with browsers that do not support cookies - or where cookies are disabled (in these circumstances we advise you to attempt to locate the information you require elsewhere on the web). However if you are concerned about the presence of a Mondaq cookie on your machine you can also choose to expire the cookie immediately (remove it) by selecting the 'Log Off' menu option as the last thing you do when you use the site.

Some of our business partners may use cookies on our site (for example, advertisers). However, we have no access to or control over these cookies and we are not aware of any at present that do so.

Log Files

We use IP addresses to analyse trends, administer the site, track movement, and gather broad demographic information for aggregate use. IP addresses are not linked to personally identifiable information.


This web site contains links to other sites. Please be aware that Mondaq (or its affiliate sites) are not responsible for the privacy practices of such other sites. We encourage our users to be aware when they leave our site and to read the privacy statements of these third party sites. This privacy statement applies solely to information collected by this Web site.

Surveys & Contests

From time-to-time our site requests information from users via surveys or contests. Participation in these surveys or contests is completely voluntary and the user therefore has a choice whether or not to disclose any information requested. Information requested may include contact information (such as name and delivery address), and demographic information (such as postcode, age level). Contact information will be used to notify the winners and award prizes. Survey information will be used for purposes of monitoring or improving the functionality of the site.


If a user elects to use our referral service for informing a friend about our site, we ask them for the friend’s name and email address. Mondaq stores this information and may contact the friend to invite them to register with Mondaq, but they will not be contacted more than once. The friend may contact Mondaq to request the removal of this information from our database.


This website takes every reasonable precaution to protect our users’ information. When users submit sensitive information via the website, your information is protected using firewalls and other security technology. If you have any questions about the security at our website, you can send an email to

Correcting/Updating Personal Information

If a user’s personally identifiable information changes (such as postcode), or if a user no longer desires our service, we will endeavour to provide a way to correct, update or remove that user’s personal data provided to us. This can usually be done at the “Your Profile” page or by sending an email to

Notification of Changes

If we decide to change our Terms & Conditions or Privacy Policy, we will post those changes on our site so our users are always aware of what information we collect, how we use it, and under what circumstances, if any, we disclose it. If at any point we decide to use personally identifiable information in a manner different from that stated at the time it was collected, we will notify users by way of an email. Users will have a choice as to whether or not we use their information in this different manner. We will use information in accordance with the privacy policy under which the information was collected.

How to contact Mondaq

You can contact us with comments or queries at

If for some reason you believe Mondaq Ltd. has not adhered to these principles, please notify us by e-mail at and we will use commercially reasonable efforts to determine and correct the problem promptly.